to top 10 table

Best Foldover Boots For Layered Looks Reviewed

last updated Feb 07, 2019

Sometimes it’s not easy to choose what boot style you want to wear - do you wish for something taller to reach your knee, or perhaps even go over it? Or do you want something cute and turned inside out, revealing a plush lining?

Well, thanks to foldover boots, now you can have both! This type of design is perfect if you want some versatility in your looks without investing in a second pair of footwear. At the price of one, you get two options to wear in whatever way you please!

In a Hurry? The test winner after 5 hrs of research

icon
Timberland Teddy
96/100 our score
Style
100
Comfort
100
Weather Resistance
90
Versatility
100
Durability
90
Timberland Teddy
Why is it better?

Not Too Bulky

Entirely Waterproof

Soft Fleece Insulation

Deep Tread Outsole

Iconic Silhouette

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Timberland Teddy
Test Winner: Timberland Teddy
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
2
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
4377
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
5
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
10
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Style Comfort Weather Resistance Versatility Durability By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96
Style
100 %
Comfort
100 %
Weather Resistance
90 %
Versatility
100 %
Durability
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (24.06.19)
Amazon Link
$165.00
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92
Style
80 %
Comfort
95 %
Weather Resistance
100 %
Versatility
85 %
Durability
100 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (24.06.19)
Amazon Link
$127.46
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88
Style
100 %
Comfort
90 %
Weather Resistance
75 %
Versatility
90 %
Durability
85 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (24.06.19)
Amazon Link
$249.99
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85
Style
65 %
Comfort
100 %
Weather Resistance
85 %
Versatility
100 %
Durability
75 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (24.06.19)
Amazon Link
$169.95
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81
Style
95 %
Comfort
80 %
Weather Resistance
80 %
Versatility
75 %
Durability
75 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (24.06.19)
Amazon Link
$49.99
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
79
Style
80 %
Comfort
80 %
Weather Resistance
90 %
Versatility
65 %
Durability
80 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (24.06.19)
Amazon Link
$169.95
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
75
Style
100 %
Comfort
65 %
Weather Resistance
60 %
Versatility
75 %
Durability
75 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (24.06.19)
Amazon Link
$104.21
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
72
Style
55 %
Comfort
60 %
Weather Resistance
95 %
Versatility
55 %
Durability
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (24.06.19)
Amazon Link
$130.00
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
70
Style
75 %
Comfort
70 %
Weather Resistance
70 %
Versatility
65 %
Durability
70 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (24.06.19)
Amazon Link
$40.99
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
67
Style
70 %
Comfort
65 %
Weather Resistance
55 %
Versatility
85 %
Durability
60 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (24.06.19)
Amazon Link
$52.49
In Depth Review Top 10
  • Timberland Teddy Timberland Teddy
  • Dr. Martens Aimilita Dr. Martens Aimilita
  • Frye Shirley Frye Shirley
  • Ugg Bailey Button Ugg Bailey Button
  • Global Win Rebel Global Win Rebel
  • Sorel Emelie Sorel Emelie
  • Cole Haan Raina Grand Cole Haan Raina Grand
  • Columbia Cityside Columbia Cityside
  • Skechers Grand Jams Unlimited Skechers Grand Jams Unlimited
  • Muk Luks Demi Muk Luks Demi
Table of contents
  • Criteria Used for Evaluation
  • Other Factors to Consider
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Sources

Our Favorites

1. Timberland Teddy

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96
Timberland Teddy
Amazon Link
Style
100
Comfort
100
Weather Resistance
90
Versatility
100
Durability
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$165.00
Pros:

Not Too Bulky

Entirely Waterproof

Soft Fleece Insulation

Deep Tread Outsole

Iconic Silhouette

Cons:

Poor Arch Support

Heavy

There is hardly an outdoor footwear manufacturer more popular than Timberland. Their classic silhouette in wheat-colored nubuck leather transcends fashion trends and styles and has become an iconic design, one that stands next to Converse and Birkenstocks in the footwear Hall of Fame. For the purpose of this guide, we will talk about the Timberland Teddy, a premium leather option which can quickly turn into a staple piece in your wardrobe.

Read more

This design is made out of full-grain leather or suede for a rugged appeal. It is also waterproof, thanks to the material - Timberland impregnates their leather with their own waterproof treatments during the tanning process - and thanks to the waterproof membrane construction. It has a flexible suede shaft, and a teddy fleece lining for added comfort.

Speaking of comfort, the Teddy comes with an EVA midsole for cushioning and shock absorption. It also has a full lace-up system at the front for maximum adjustability, with laces entirely made from recycled PET bottles. The rubber outsole on this legendary option is made from slip-resistant rubber, with lugs for superior traction.

If you are craving both designs which can be folded over for a touch of versatility and Timberland boots - this is the perfect marriage of the two! The Timberland Teddy will keep you warm, dry and comfortable, and also effortlessly cool with its sturdy, lumberjack silhouette as you take on the cold days.

2. Dr. Martens Aimilita

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92
Dr. Martens Aimilita
Amazon Link
Style
80
Comfort
95
Weather Resistance
100
Versatility
85
Durability
100
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$127.46
Pros:

Aunt Sally Leather Upper

Wool Tartan Lining

Fully Adjustable Lacing System

Reinforced Toe

Dr. Martens Air-Cushioned Sole

Cons:

Needs Breaking In

Size Runs Large

Dr. Martens is a brand which has always taken pride in providing footwear for those who are different, who are not afraid of being themselves, and who stand up for what they believe in. This strength of character and principles is reflected in the Dr. Martens Aimilita. This design is everyone’s favorite, a combination of a biker silhouette and a bold, red plaid lining.

Read more

The Aimilita is made from Aunt Sally, which is a naturally tumbled leather that feels very soft. The upper comes with a lace-up system all the way to the top, complete with gold gleaming eyelets. However, if you lace the design up only to the ninth eyelet, you can roll the cuff down and expose that plaid lining for some Scottish chic. The tartan lining is also made of wool, keeping you warm inside the Aimilita.

The toe area is reinforced, for a rugged, Dr. Martens-specific look, and it comes with the famous Dr. Martens air-cushioned sole, which provides comfort as well as abrasion- and slip-resistance.

The Dr. Martens Aimilita is not for the weak of heart. This is a military design, more or less, one which rebels against the norm and infuses your outfits with a toughness not easily found anywhere else. If you wish to look a little hard around the edges, to let everyone know that you are not someone to be messed with, then use the Dr. Aimilita to deliver that message across.

3. Frye Shirley

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88
Frye Shirley
Amazon Link
Style
100
Comfort
90
Weather Resistance
75
Versatility
90
Durability
85
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$249.99
Pros:

Italian Vintage Leather

Half-Zipper in the Side

Breathable Leather Lining

Moldable Leather Outsole

Well-Worn Burnished Look

Cons:

Not for Wide Calves

Slippery Sole

Another OTK (over-the-knee) design in our list, the Frye Shirley is a little less vamp and a little more casual, despite reaching all the way up to your thigh. This option comes in two versions - the leather and the suede one, in a myriad of different color options. It has a place in this list as a casual statement piece, one which can’t be worn exactly everywhere, but which definitely leaves an impact once you show up in it.

Read more

The Frye Shirley is handcrafted - the one in our picture is made from vintage leather with a smooth finish and burnished areas to give that well-worn and well-loved feel. There is a tab in the back with an artisanal accent, one which you can choose to show off, or you can easily fold the upper over for a new look. It also comes with a half-zipper on the inside, to ease your way in and out of the design.

The lining and the outsole of the Shirley are also made from genuine leather. They serve to provide a healthy foot climate inside the design, as well as to add durability to it, and to make sure that you are comfortable as you wear the boot day in and day out. The heel of the Shirley is about one inch high, of the stacked leather type.

The Frye Shirley is made using only the finest techniques, from Italian leather and with the utmost attention to detail. We are a little bit in awe of its quality, from its materials to its effortlessly stylish casual aura, to the comfort that it provides. You will not make a mistake by choosing the Frye Shirley as your next OTK model.

4. Ugg Bailey Button

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85
Ugg Bailey Button
Amazon Link
Style
65
Comfort
100
Weather Resistance
85
Versatility
100
Durability
75
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$169.95
Pros:

Genuine Sheepskin and Suede

Sheepskin Insole

Treadlite by Ugg Outsole

Water and Stain Repellent

Insanely Comfortable

Cons:

Snug Fit

Questionable Style

The now iconic Ugg design has taken the world by storm, despite its questionable style. The reason for this is that the Ugg boots are insanely comfortable and easy to wear, as well as being insulating and weather protective. The Ugg Bailey Button is no exception, as it bears all the hallmarks of a classic Ugg design, only this time with the addition of a button to the side, which allows you to quickly and easily fold the cuff down for a change in style.

Read more

The Ugg Bailey Button is, as most Uggs, made from sheepskin and suede, and specially pre-treated to repel water and stains. That’s right, despite its soft feel, this design is just as protective as any other waterproof boot. As we mentioned, there is a button on the shaft, with an elastic closure which enables you to reveal the fluffy collar if you so desire.

The Bailey Button has a sheepskin insole for preserving warmth and providing comfort, as well as a Treadlite by Ugg outsole. This outsole ensures that you have all the cushioning, traction and durability you need to enjoy this design for many years to come.

The versatility of the Bailey Button is endless. You can dress this design down with some overalls and a t-shirt, or you can even throw on a silky dress to challenge yourself and present something unique to the world. Either way, if you go for it, the Ugg Bailey Button will become your trusted friend, and you won’t be able to imagine your winters without it.

5. Global Win Rebel

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81
Global Win Rebel
Amazon Link
Style
95
Comfort
80
Weather Resistance
80
Versatility
75
Durability
75
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$49.99
Pros:

Insulating Faux Fur Lining

Full-Length Lace-Up Closure

Adjustable Buckle Straps

Waterproof

Vintage Military Look

Cons:

Scuffed Easily

Unreliable Straps

In the Global Win Rebel, you will truly feel like you are a member of a secret resistance organization, collecting information and gathering forces to overthrow the oppressive government. The reason for this is that, well, the design of the Rebel - as its very name suggests - is quite badass, not least because of the top of the shaft which can be folded to reveal faux fur lining that is in fashionable contrast to the dark upper.

Read more

The Global Win Rebel is constructed out of faux leather. This means that it may not be as breathable or as durable as some other items on this list, but it is animal-friendly and inexpensive. There is a lace-up closure all the way up to the knee, together with double straps and buckles above the ankle to complete this vintage military look.

As we mentioned before, the lining of the Global Win Rebel is made from faux fur, which is both beast-free and incredibly soft to the skin. It will not cause any chafing or blisters, no matter how long you walk for. Additionally, this lining will keep you warm when the temperatures drop to freezing.

If you’re interested in hardening your style, introducing some edgier, more rebellious designs, there is really a no better option than the Global Win Rebel. It is a shoe which is a little intimidating and a lot comfortable. Regardless of if you keep it up to the knee, or fold it down to mid-calf, it will serve its purpose of preserving warmth in the winter time.

6. Sorel Emelie

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
79
Sorel Emelie
Amazon Link
Style
80
Comfort
80
Weather Resistance
90
Versatility
65
Durability
80
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$169.95
Pros:

Full-Grain Leather Upper

Waterproof

Faux Shearling Lining

100g Insulation

Removable EVA Footbed

Cons:

Lining Catches in the Zipper

Not for Wide Feet

Sorel boots are a Canadian brand which is world-famous for its insulating, waterproof footwear meant for the most extreme conditions. The Sorel Emelie collection features a plethora of designs, one of which is this foldover option. Granted, this particular one is not to be used in a harsh environment, but the Emelie will nonetheless be a decent winter boot while offering you the choice of a regular or a folded cuff.

Read more

The Emelie is made from full-grain leather and suede, utilizing a waterproof construction. Its lining is faux shearling, which comes with 100g of insulation and keeps you toasty even when it’s snowing outside. There is an asymmetrical zipper in the outer side, to allow for an easy way in and out of this design.

When it comes to comfort, the Emelie is outfitted with a die-cut EVA footbed, which provides much-needed cushioning and absorbs impact, and is also removable, to make more room inside the design if necessary. The outsole of the Sorel Emelie is made out of molded rubber, with a rubber wrapped heel.

We will admit that the Sorel Emelie silhouette is nothing new in the fashion world. This design is not meant to be cute - though it is also far from unattractive. This is a simple, uncomplicated winter option that will keep you warm and dry, with an easy closure and an even easier way to style it either up or down.

7. Cole Haan Raina Grand

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
75
Cole Haan Raina Grand
Amazon Link
Style
100
Comfort
65
Weather Resistance
60
Versatility
75
Durability
75
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$104.21
Pros:

Genuine Suede Upper

Zipper in the Back

Grand.OS Technology

Two Inch Blocky Heel

Flexible Rubber Outsole

Cons:

Snug Fit

Size Runs Small

Cole Haan is a brand known for its classic, elegant designs and impeccable craftsmanship. With the Raina Grand, we are stepping away from the clunky, unfashionable winter options, and moving into something more attractive, and perhaps even more sensual. This is a gorgeously luxurious over-the-knee boot that will leave everyone around you speechless at its sophistication.

Read more

The Cole Haan Raina Grand has a suede upper in two color options. It reaches above your knee, but the top part can be folded down if you’re not about that vixen look. The design has a zipper in the back for easy entry and a molded sock lining which is padded for extra comfort.

Speaking of comfort, the Cole Haan brand is famous for its Grand.OS comfort technology, which is also featured in the Raina Grand. Grand.OS means that the footbed of this option moves along with your foot, that it promotes airflow for breathability and cooling, that it is exceptionally lightweight, and that it comes with special energy padding which ensures all-day comfort.

To round this design up, there is a rubber outsole with flex grooves and a two inch high stable, square-shaped wrapped heel.

There is nothing to not love about the Cole Haan Raina Grand. It is a little extravagant in terms of style, perhaps, and not for a sensible, office environment, but for any other casual or fancier situation - this design is a show-stopper! Don’t be afraid to be a little sexy and a little bold this winter, and reach for this glorious Cole Haan choice!

8. Columbia Cityside

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
72
Columbia Cityside
Amazon Link
Style
55
Comfort
60
Weather Resistance
95
Versatility
55
Durability
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$130.00
Pros:

PU Coated Leather and Suede

Waterproof Seam-Sealed Membrane

Techlite Midsole

Omni-Grip Outsole

Quirky Pattern Collar

Cons:

Need Some Breaking In

Not for Icy Surfaces

If you’re not interested in only roaming the paved city streets, but also wish to go on a little adventure on the nature trails beyond, then you need a sturdy, reliable boot like the Columbia Cityside. This is not a fashionable choice, but a practical one - this design will keep you protected regardless of the environment. You can now take on mucky roads and snowy streets with undiminishing confidence!

Read more

The Columbia Cityside has an outstanding waterproof construction - partly because of the waterproof PU coated leather and suede upper, and partly due to the Omni-Tech waterproof seam-sealed membrane to keep out any and all moisture. The collar of the design is made from a knit material, in an interesting pattern that is visible if you choose to roll the cuff down.

The closure of this design is a lace-up system at the front, which allows you to easily adjust the fit of the boot however tight or loose as you’d like it to be.

Inside the Columbia Cityside, there is a Techlite midsole, which is light in weight, and which provides cushioning and high energy return for maximum comfort. On the bottom, we can find an Omni-Grip traction outsole, made from rubber and leaving no marks on any type of floor.

The Columbia Cityside is not that kind of a design which you simply take out to work, to a walk around the city, or to your favorite restaurant. Rather, this is something akin to a hiking style, one which will support you on wet, unfavorable terrain just as well as it will support you on asphalt. If you’re the type who loves a little exploring in their free time, the Cityside is the option with your name on it.

9. Skechers Grand Jams Unlimited

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
70
Skechers Grand Jams Unlimited
Amazon Link
Style
75
Comfort
70
Weather Resistance
70
Versatility
65
Durability
70
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$40.99
Pros:

100% Genuine Suede

Adjustable Lace-Up System

Half-Zipper in the Side

Cushioned Footbed

Traction Outsole

Cons:

Only for Dry Weather

Not for Wide Calves

While we usually don’t associate the sporty, athletic-oriented Skechers brand with winter footwear, the Skechers Grand Jams Unlimited is the design which stands out. It is a boot entirely constructed for colder seasons, which keeps you comfy and protected, while at the same time providing you with that solid, alpine look for a winter wonderland effect.

Read more

The Skechers Grand Jams Unlimited has an upper made from 100% suede. The suede offers that soft, plush finish, though the downside is that it needs to be pretreated before you decide to take these out in rain or snow. The lining is faux-fur for a gentle, abrasion-free experience, and there is both a half-zipper in the inner side and a full lace-up system at the front for adjustability.

At the top of the design, there is a thin velcro strap, to fasten the boot in the area where the zipper doesn’t reach for extra security.

The footbed of the Grand Jams Unlimited is lightly cushioned for your comfort. It is man-made, and the outsole of this design is made from rubber, to help prevent slipping and skidding across any type of terrain.

The Skechers Grand Jams Unlimited is not the best winter option due to the fact that, without special treatment, it can’t be worn in wet conditions. However, given that this guide is all about the versatility of the cuff and not about the protectiveness of the item, we feel confident that you will find a place in your wardrobe for this reliable, practical cold-weather option.

10. Muk Luks Demi

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
67
Muk Luks Demi
Amazon Link
Style
70
Comfort
65
Weather Resistance
55
Versatility
85
Durability
60
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$52.49
Pros:

Warmth Preserving Faux Wool Lining

Fun Patterned Inside

Zipper Closure

Fastening Buttons

Slipper-Like Coziness

Cons:

Not Waterproof

Poor Support

Muk Luks is the kind of brand which evokes images of autumn, crunchy leaves, steaming mugs of comforting beverages, wool hats and frost-bitten cheeks. The same can be said of the Muk Luks Demi, a design which is every bit as cute and cozy as your favorite cat-patterned blanket by the fireplace, especially when the cuff is rolled down to reveal an interesting pattern inside.

Read more

The Demi is made from faux suede, soft to the touch, and the lining inside is faux lamb wool, to keep you nice and warm as you trudge around in cold weather. The round toe front provides more than enough space for your toes to be comfortable and wiggle happily, and when you fold the cuff over, there are buttons in the sides to keep it fastened to the upper.

When it comes to foot support, the Demi doesn’t come with much, but it has a slipper-like quality to it, meaning that you will definitely not feel any pain walking around in this soft design. The outsole on the Demi is made out of rubber, and there is no heel, meaning that your feet are placed in a natural position as they can possibly be.

Compared to other options in this guide, the Muk Luks Demi perhaps lacks in quality. However, it makes up for it with cuteness, a cozy factor that you won’t find anywhere else, and it is a great way to treat yourself to two designs for the price of one, with its colorful foldover shaft.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Style

Given the title of this guide, it is reasonable to assume that all of the options we have laid out in our list are boots. They are meant to protect you from cold and wet weather conditions, while at the same time helping you look stylish.

As you have seen, there are many different types of boots. Here, we will talk about each one we have here, and about their pros and cons. Let’s begin!

  • Ankle: Ankle-height designs are arguably the most popular type currently on the market. The reason for this is that they are easy to pull on and easy to take off, and people who have calves which are too thick or too thin don’t have to struggle with finding the right fit for their leg.

    Ankle models provide just as much weather protection as taller options, and they also keep your feet warm. The bonus of having your ankle surrounded by a shaft is that it is supported and stabilized on all sides, minimizing injury from twisting it or spraining it.

    The downside to an ankle boot is that rain or snow might still get in through the top of the shaft and that it doesn’t protect your leg from the cold. However, if you are living in a place with dry, not-so-freezing winters, and don’t want to be bothered with finding the right width for your calf, an ankle-height is the perfect solution.

  • Mid-Calf: Taller than ankle and lower than over-the-knee, we have the standard mid-calf option. These designs are also classic and can be found almost anywhere. Those who don’t mind searching a bit longer for a size that fits their calves get the benefit of keeping their legs warm and protected as well.

    Mid-calf designs in the foldover version are particularly useful because in those cases you can choose whether you want to have an ankle model or one that covers most of your lower leg!

  • Over the Knee:
    Finally, we have the tallest version that is still practical to wear, the OTK design. While these have some function in the form of fishing boots, usually they come as a fashion statement, a means to draw everyone’s attention. OTK options are created to be eye-catching, sexy and empowering, and as such they are more geared towards style than towards functionality.

    The downside of an OTK design is that it is difficult to find one which is easy to slide on, which doesn’t pinch your leg or sag or bunch up in weird places, and which looks flattering. However, if you have an opportunity to try a design on, don’t hesitate! You might just encounter a gorgeous OTK that you want to take home. After all, thanks to the folding cuff option, you can always make these shoes appear lower than they actually are.

Comfort

Aside from the question of how good a design looks on you, we also have to address another important aspect - if it is comfortable or not. So many times we fall for an attractive style, one that goes well with those jeans or that cute little skirt we have, but then it turns out we can’t even wear our new shoes because of how much they hurt.

This is why we are here to dig deeper into what makes a good boot comfortable, and what you can look for to increase your chances of being able to wear it over extended periods of time.

  • Upper: Because so much of this footwear style is the upper - especially if it’s a mid-calf or an OTK design - the materials the upper is made of are extremely important. They need to be soft and malleable, to mold to the shape of your foot and leg, but also to be solid enough to provide support, to stay up and not stretch out or lose shape over time.

    The best material designs can be made from is genuine leather and genuine suede. These natural materials are breathable, flexible, conforming and durable, and really a great choice all around.

    Synthetics, like faux leather and suede, are not as high in quality. However, if you are vegan, or are interested in animal-friendly footwear, then synthetics are definitely the way to go. These designs are also less expensive than genuine leather ones, meaning that your budget won’t suffer, either.

  • Lining: From the upper, we’re moving inside design and taking a moment to see what the interior is made from. The lining is equally as important as the external materials, because this is what comes in contact with your feet and legs, and perhaps even your skin if you’re not wearing socks. You want the lining to preserve warmth, but also to be soft and comfortable, and to not cause any chafing or abrasions.

    Fluffy options, such as fur, faux fur, wool or shearling, are great for providing plush comfort. There are also fleece linings and even leather ones which are just as good in making sure that your feet are properly ventilated and comfy.

    However, both in the case of the lining and the upper, make sure to check if the materials are too stiff. If that is the case, the design may need some breaking in before it becomes comfortable enough for wearing it all day.

  • Footbed: The last, but not the least feature that concerns comfort is the footbed of a design. This is where true support lies. Footbeds come in many shapes and forms, made from many different materials, and here we will talk about the most common versions.

    We’ll start with cushioned footbeds. These have added padding to them, which quite literally cushions your feet, adds a bounce to your step and provides shock absorption. Cushioned footbeds are usually made from memory foam or EVA; they help minimize the pressure put on your joints, and allow you to stay on your feet for longer.

    The second type of a footbed is a molded footbed. This type has contours which correspond to the lines of the foot, and thus provide an addictive sort of comfort. Molded footbeds also often have arch support, which is a vital detail in reducing foot fatigue and preventing a condition called flatfoot.

    Whether you will go for a cushioned footbed, or a molded one - or both - is all really up to you. Remember that comfort is subjective, as most other criteria here, and if something works for others doesn’t necessarily mean that it will work for you. Choose carefully, and if something doesn’t feel right when you’re trying a design on, it may be wise to think a little bit more about the purchase.

Weather Resistance

As we mentioned before, the purpose of boots is to protect you, to keep you warm and dry and comfortable in cold days covered in rain and snow. Not all boots do this, of course - some are more fashion than protection - and this is why we have also felt the need to include Weather Resistance in our Criteria section.

Designs in our list can be divided into those which are meant for extreme conditions, and those which are more for dry autumns than for any real trudging through the snow and the slush.

Thus we have our Extreme group: the Sorel Emelie, the Columbia Cityside, the Timberland Teddy and similar. These are options which are waterproof, designed to keep out any and all signs of moisture. They are also lined with insulating materials, with the purpose of preserving warmth inside the design. Their outsoles are made from non-slip compounds, which also have deep grooves or even lugs at the bottom to keep you steady and stable on all types of slippery surfaces.

With these options, you will be able to take on pretty much anything that winter throws at you.

On the other side of the coin, we have less sturdy, more stylish choices such as the Cole Haan Raina Grand, the Frye Shirley, and the Muk Luks Demi. When it comes to weather resistance, these are not as useful as the Extreme group - they are made from high-quality materials, but they are not waterproof and don’t do much in the way of providing you with warmth.

We’re not saying that any one group is worse than the other. We’re merely pointing out a difference in some of our models, and leaving you to decide which one you prefer. If you’re looking for a solid, protective winter option, then choose from the Extreme category. However, if winters in your area are not as bad and you prefer something more fashionable, then the latter, more refined group of designs is the better choice for you.

Versatility

When we buy a design that we love, we expect to be able to wear it on as many occasions as possible. We want to feel confident, want to show it off to our friends and family, and we want our purchase to pay off. Because what is the point of a shoe if it will just sit and collect dust in the closet?

Foldover designs have versatility built right into them. For the price of one, you get two different versions of the same shoe - one taller and sleeker and one shorter and with its plush and/or colorful lining exposed. In that regard, all of the items on our list are the same - all of them deliver that possibility of changing up your look at a moment’s notice.

So we looked beyond that, at the overall aesthetic of a shoe, and judged its versatility based on that. We considered in what conditions a design can be worn in, as well as what outfits it matches the best.

It is no wonder that the smoother, more streamlined products, such as the Timberland Teddy, the Ugg Bailey Button, and the Frye Shirley came out on top. These are really easy to pair with jeans and leggings and even shorts or skirts if you have thick enough tights to wear underneath. They are exceptionally trendy this season - and will be in the future seasons as well - and they will only add to your already fashion-forward collection of footwear.

Less versatile are the bulky, protective-but-not-attractive winter options, like the Sorel Emelie, the Columbia Cityside and the Skechers Grand Jams Unlimited. These are great for harsh conditions, for exploring trails and braving snow-covered city streets. However, they lack elegancehigh-quality and are usually only worn either out of necessity, or as a handy shoe for an outdoor activity.

All that being said, we can’t end this section without saying that just because a design is low or high on our list regarding versatility, doesn’t mean that it should stop you from wearing it wherever you want. If the dress code allows, and if you are comfortable, wear your new foldover boots in any event you wish!

Durability

Durability as a characteristic is determined by a myriad of factors - the shoe materials, the methods used in its construction, the conditions the shoe is worn in, its frequency of use and similar.

Fortunately, almost all of the options in our list - 8/10 - are made from high-quality materials. And we mean, extremely high-quality materials. The only exceptions are the Muk Luks Demi and the Global Win Rebel. These are made from synthetic leather and suede rather than genuine ones, which decreases their durability a smidgen compared to the other designs.

When it comes to construction, one option stands out among the rest, and that is the Dr. Martens Aimilita. This shoe is made using the Goodyear welt technique. The Goodyear welt method is widely regarded as one of the best when it comes to constructing footwear, mostly because designs made like this are waterproof and easily resoled, making them last for literally decades. Consequently, shoes made using the Goodyear welt technique are more expensive than others.

In terms of construction, even though the other items are made using machinery in an industrial process, they aren’t that far behind. Due to the solid, high-grade materials, they are made of, they will also last years, as long as you keep the genuine leather and suede adequately clean and conditioned.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Style
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Comfort
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Weather Resistance
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
ico Versatility
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
ico Durability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
Holy Martens

Despite being the signature style of skinheads, Dr. Martens boots also reached the Vatican. Namely, Pope John Paul II had a custom white pair of Dr. Martens specially made for himself.

Heat Control

This type of footwear is also great in case you suddenly find yourself in an environment that is several degrees warmer than you expected. Simply fold over your boot for more breathing room and enjoy the cool-down effect!

Other Factors to Consider

Adjustability

We already mentioned the issue of dealing with designs which go higher than the ankle in our Style part. Those of us who have wide calves or thin calves can’t find the right mid-calf or OTK models so easily. Which is why a little adjustability is quite important.

If you require a size that is not standard and wish to be comfortable, look for an option which has an adjustable element to it. This can be anything from a full-length lace-up system to a velcro strap, to a button snap; even elastic gore panels provide a much needed stretchy fit.

You will find that it is much easier to sit, stand and walk in a taller design when you have something to either provide you with extra wiggle room or to tighten everything up just how much you need it.

Bottom Line

Finally, we have reached the end of our long journey of discussing boots which come with two style options. The versatility you get with this is amazing, and we love the idea of looking just a little bit different each time we step out of the house but wearing the same, well-worn design day in and day out.

We did talk a lot about different types of boots, about which ones are good for big snow piles and which ones are more of a dry weather option, and this is something that you should consider. But it is also not something that should make you nervous in any way - after all, you are here to choose the option which appeals the most to you. At the end of the day, it is important that you are happy and that you feel great in your new pair of foldover boots!

Frequently Asked Questions

q: If I roll down the cuff of a waterproof design, is it still waterproof?

a:

Seeing as the waterproof part is true only for the outside of the upper, which is the side that is treated with all sorts of waterproofing agents, we are inclined to say that no, once you roll down the cuff, that ankle or leg part is probably no longer waterproof. However, the foot part still is, and if weather permits you to walk in an ankle-high design, you shouldn’t worry too much about getting your feet wet.

q: How do I clean my plush lining?

a:

Cleaning a plush lining is difficult, because simply throwing it into a washing machine may ruin its fluffiness and texture, and consequently make it coarser than it used to be. There are tutorials online which may help you clean out your plush lining using some warm water and a comb.

q: Why can’t I find a good boot for my wide calves?

a:

We feel your pain. Check out our guides on designs with wide shafts and extra wide shafts and with a little bit of look, you’ll find just what you need!

q: Is it appropriate to wear over the knee designs to work?

a:

We want to say yes, but it all really depends on where you work. What is the dress code? Is it strict? Do you have to be business casual? Business formal? Are you working at a fashion magazine and need to look your runway best at all times?

If the design is not veering too far into ‘sexy and vampy’ territory, then it probably won’t hurt. But make sure to check with your company policies beforehand.

q: Can I wear boots with high heels in snow?

a:

We wouldn’t advise it. If you absolutely must wear heeled designs in snowy weather, choose lower, thick heels which are much more stable and which will reduce your chances of slipping and possibly injuring yourself.

Sources

  1. Justin Abarca, 10 Cool Things You Didn't Know, Listicle
  2. Wikipedia , Goodyear Welt, Encyclopedia