to top 10 table

Best Boots for Short Legs Reviewed & Rated

last updated Sep 01, 2019

Having a long and lean silhouette is a popular fashion trend that is hard to pull off if you’re not naturally tall and slim. The good news is that the human eye is easy to trick. All we need is the illusion of a long, lean silhouette because honestly, who doesn’t love a good pair of boots? No one should be discouraged from wearing them; their style and versatility are nearly unmatched. For any event, mood, size or shape, there’s a boot that fits the bill. This even includes those of us with shorter legs. This list covers three of the most popular boot types: ankle boots, knee high boots, and thigh high boots.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 6 hrs of research

icon
Stuart Weitzman 5050
93.6/100 our score
Style
97
Durability
92
Fit
92
Outsole
94
Upper
93
Stuart Weitzman 5050
Why is it better?

Nappa Leather or Suede

Micro Stretch Back Panel

Leather Insole

Comfy Round Toe

Non-Slip Outsole

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Stuart Weitzman 5050
Test Winner: Stuart Weitzman 5050
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
7
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
15,100
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
6
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
10
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
Milica Radovanovic
By Milica Radovanovic:

In the latest update of this guide, we replaced two items that are no longer available from their official brands with those that are still very much on the market, as well as two lower-quality items with those that offer a lot more in terms of comfort, style, and durability. Only the best for our readers!

Sorting Options
Style Durability Fit Outsole Upper By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.6
Style
97 %
Durability
92 %
Fit
92 %
Outsole
94 %
Upper
93 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.10.19)
Amazon Link
$655.00
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.8
Style
90 %
Durability
91 %
Fit
88 %
Outsole
93 %
Upper
97 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.10.19)
Amazon Link
$92.40
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.4
Style
86 %
Durability
87 %
Fit
87 %
Outsole
98 %
Upper
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.10.19)
Amazon Link
$90.56
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.8
Style
86 %
Durability
90 %
Fit
91 %
Outsole
92 %
Upper
85 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.10.19)
Amazon Link
$72.95
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85
Style
85 %
Durability
85 %
Fit
85 %
Outsole
85 %
Upper
85 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.10.19)
Amazon Link
$27.00
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
76
Style
80 %
Durability
80 %
Fit
80 %
Outsole
70 %
Upper
70 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.10.19)
Amazon Link
$41.38
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
75
Style
75 %
Durability
75 %
Fit
80 %
Outsole
75 %
Upper
70 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.10.19)
Amazon Link
$31.59
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
72
Style
75 %
Durability
75 %
Fit
70 %
Outsole
70 %
Upper
70 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.10.19)
Amazon Link
$29.99
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
71
Style
70 %
Durability
70 %
Fit
70 %
Outsole
70 %
Upper
75 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.10.19)
Amazon Link
$37.96
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
70
Style
70 %
Durability
70 %
Fit
70 %
Outsole
70 %
Upper
70 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.10.19)
Amazon Link
$129.90

Our Favorites

1. Stuart Weitzman 5050

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.6
Stuart Weitzman 5050
Amazon Link
Style
97
Durability
92
Fit
92
Outsole
94
Upper
93
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$655.00
Pros:

Nappa Leather or Suede

Micro Stretch Back Panel

Leather Insole

Comfy Round Toe

Non-Slip Outsole

Cons:

Scuffs Easily

Tight Fit

Whatever you do, don’t shy away from over-the-knee designs. Here we have the iconic Stuart Weitzman 5050 OTK boot, which is a bestseller from the brand and is easily recognizable by its asymmetrical topline and half-leather, half-stretch construction. It goes well with skinny jeans, leggings, and dresses, and it will make you one fierce, confident fashionista.

The 5050 is made from luxurious nappa leather or suede, depending on which color you prefer, and the entire back of the shaft is crafted from micro stretch material. This material makes sure that the design fits any and all calf sizes so that you don’t have to worry whether or not a zipper will go all the way up. The 5050 has a comfy round toe front, a leather insole for a healthy foot climate inside and a rubber outsole which makes sure that you don’t lose your balance on any kind of surface.

Given the brand name that comes with this design, it is expected that the 5050 is one expensive option. However, if you feel like you can spare the money, don’t hesitate to treat yourself with an OTK silhouette like this one, for a playful, flirty look that will wow everyone around you!

2. Rockport Kimly

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.8
Rockport Kimly
Amazon Link
Style
90
Durability
91
Fit
88
Outsole
93
Upper
97
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$92.40
Pros:

Flexible Strobel Construction

TruTECH Comfort System

Removable Ortholite Footbed

EVA Midsole

Cute and Easy to Wear

Cons:

Not for Wide Ankles

Needs Breaking In

Adding another ankle design to our arsenal, the Rockport Kimly is reminiscent of vintage, Victorian styles, but updated to fit the modern aesthetic. It is a kitten heel option that you can dress up or dress down, and wear to work, to a lunch date with friends, to an important meeting, even to a dinner night out! Outfitted with all the Rockport comfort technologies, the Kimly is truly a design worth considering.

This option is made from either genuine leather or suede, and its Strobel construction ensures that you have plenty of flexibility in the forefoot. There is a textile lining inside and as well as a textile footbed for proper ventilation. The Kimly is equipped with the truTECH system that offers shock absorption and an Ortholite insole that is lightweight, breathable and durable, with cushioning that doesn’t compress over time. This insole is also removable, should you require more space inside the design. Finally, the outsole of the Kimly is made of rubber, for durability and slip-resistance.

We are in awe of this cute option. The Rockport Kimly is that go-to design that we wear day in and day out in chilly October weather, and that keeps us perfectly comfortable and stylish as we tackle our obligations. You will have so much fun pairing these with all of your favorite outfits, as there is nothing that the Kimly can’t pull off!

3. Naturalizer Jessie

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.4
Naturalizer Jessie
Amazon Link
Style
86
Durability
87
Fit
87
Outsole
98
Upper
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$90.56
Pros:

Pebbled Leather Upper

N5 Comfort Technology

Side Zip Closure

Elastic Panel for Stretchy Fit

Non-Slip Outsole

Cons:

Tight Fit in the Foot

When you’re looking for footwear that fits your petite figure, the important thing to remember is that you don’t have to limit yourself to ankle designs only. Anything other than mid-calf fits perfectly, and the Naturalizer Jessie is a knee-high option that is perfect for cold, wet weather. It is casual, it is versatile, and it will accompany you wherever you decide to go.

The Jessie is made from pebbled leather and has decorations in the form of wraparound straps and buckles in gold. With its three neutral color choices, you are bound to find one that fits your personal style. What sets the Jessie apart from the other options is the Naturalizer N5 Comfort technology it comes with. This technology includes shock-absorbing cushioning, a breathable lining, a stable heel strike, and a flexible outsole. All of the materials used in the construction of the Jessie are lightweight, so you won’t have to worry about them dragging you down.

The Naturalizer Jessie is a great everyday boot choice. You can choose to tuck your jeans into them or wear them over, and they go great with skirts and dresses too! The comfort level on these has to be experienced to be believed, and you will love showing them off to your friends and family.

4. Sam Edelman Kinzey

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.8
Sam Edelman Kinzey
Amazon Link
Style
86
Durability
90
Fit
91
Outsole
92
Upper
85
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$72.95
Pros:

Genuine Leather Upper

Inner Side Zipper

Kitten Heel

All-Day Wearability

Simple Stylish Design

Cons:

Strange Sizing

May Cause Blisters

The Sam Edelman Kinzey ticks off a couple of the most important features when we are looking in designs for petite legs - they have a pointy toe which elongates the figure; they have a small heel to elevate height; and they are ankle high, meaning they are perfect for any calf width! The Kinzey is a smooth, simple bootie that you can wear practically anywhere, work or play, and that you can easily pair with all of your favorite outfits.

The Kinzey has an upper made from genuine leather or suede, depending on your color preference. It comes in dozens of color and print options, from classic black and brown to pink and navy, even to fun and snazzy prints. There is a zipper closure in the inner side for an easy way in and out, and the kitten heel is what provides that all-day wearability that we love in our footwear.

The Kinzey isn’t outfitted with any special technologies or advanced features. It is an easy choice, one that will quickly become a staple in your wardrobe, and that you won’t be able to imagine your autumn days without. Simple, chic and versatile - what more could we possibly want?

5. Top Moda Lace-Up

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85
Top Moda Lace-Up
Amazon Link
Style
85
Durability
85
Fit
85
Outsole
85
Upper
85
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$27.00
Pros:
  • True to Size
  • 10 colors available
  • Adjustable Laces
  • Side Zipper
Cons:
  • No Wide Widths
  • Not Waterproof

Top Moda is a California-based fashion footwear brand with a knack for cute, leg-lengthening boots. The Top Moda Lace-Up features a round toe, a 3-inch heel for height, and a half-inch platform for comfort. The top of the boot tapers from front to back, adding a pirate-like feeling to the design. A single buckle and strap adorn the ankle.

The Top Moda Lace-Up features full lacing up the back for a more custom fit. The laces are made of the same synthetic material as the boot shaft. For those of us with wide and short legs, the laces allow the Lace-Up to stretch up to 17” in circumference. The heel caps on this option are plastic, which unfortunately leaves them susceptible to breakage. However, Top Moda has foreseen this and so each purchase of these boots comes with a set of replacement heel caps.

While it doesn't come from a well-known brand or is made of premium materials, the Top Moda Lace-Up is definitely a contender in terms of both style and budget. Thanks to its affordable price, you can even get one in several different colors! What luxury!

6. Cape Robbin Mixed Media

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
76
Cape Robbin Mixed Media
Amazon Link
Style
80
Durability
80
Fit
80
Outsole
70
Upper
70
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$41.38
Pros:
  • True to Size
  • 100% Vegan Material
  • Skid-Resistant
  • Elastic Panels for Stretch

  • Western Look
Cons:
  • Narrow Instep

Another California-based fashion footwear brand, Cape Robbin is focused on the confident and the feminine. You’ll definitely get a little bit of both with the Mixed Media cowboy boot. These are perfect for any occasion, whether that occasion is a casual country-western concert or a themed ‘Barnyard Chic’ wedding. Combining a chunky, 3-inch heel and a 0.25-inch platform with a gold-tipped pointy toe, these Cape Robbins beautifully elongate short legs.

Using completely man-made materials, the Cape Robbin Mixed Media still exudes elegance. The upper is made of soft crushed velveteen; the heel, toe, and sole are synthetic. With this design, no pesky zippers are required. Instead, the Mixed Media features a stretchy elastic gore that fits snugly and securely against thicker ankles. Slight padding in the footbed provides just enough cushion for all-day comfort.

Available in black, champagne, and “snake mix”, the Cape Robbin Mixed Media looks much more expensive than it actually is. A design of its caliber could easily fall into the price range of some of the higher end brands. Instead, the Mixed Media has such a reasonable price point, there shouldn’t be any guilt behind buying every color.

7. Soda Malia

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
75
Soda Malia
Amazon Link
Style
75
Durability
75
Fit
80
Outsole
75
Upper
70
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$31.59
Pros:

Versatile Style

Stable Chunky Heel

Comfy Heel Height

Rigid Traction Outsole

Cons:

Zipper is Visible

No Arch Support

Great for the fall, these shoes will give you a classic style that can be worn anywhere. They are constructed with faux leather, but the material is very durable. There is a lace-up system in addition to an outstep zipper and the insoles are cushioned. The heel is chunky, giving you height and stability and the outsole is ridged for grip and traction. Perfect for a minimalist, day-to-evening look.

On the Malia, there is an outstep zipper to provide you with an easy on and off. For a better fit, a lace-up system is included that you can personally adjust. You’ll have a fit that you can customize to give you the comfort and security you desire. A lot of design usually have a thin heel that can give a better aesthetic appeal but that can be hard to walk in. The heels on the Malia are not only high enough to lengthen your legs but also thick enough to give you an easier walk that is stabilized. Such heels can sometimes be more appropriate, depending on the setting.

The Malia is in the mid-price range. These are great, everyday wear designs which can go with so many outfits and can be worn in so many places. However, they are seasonal, so they’re best for the fall and winter.

8. Dream Pairs Zoie

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
72
Dream Pairs Zoie
Amazon Link
Style
75
Durability
75
Fit
70
Outsole
70
Upper
70
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$29.99
Pros:

Snug fit

Classic Round-Toe

Easy On/Off Zipper

Maximum Durability Outsole

Hidden Wedge Heel

Cons:

Narrow Toe Box

No Stretch Material

You can have a simple but fashionable style all year round with the Dream Pairs Zoie. There is faux-fur padded lining for comfort and a cushioned insole for support. The heel is a wedge, but it’s covered for a more sleeker look. The outsole is a rubber TPR that is constructed for prolonged wear and there is an instep zipper for easy on/off. A toe that is classically round plus the soft suede material gives you a soft, girl-next-door feel.

The heel of the Zoie sits at 2.75 inches and is possibly the lowest on our list. However, it is a covered wedge so it blends in with the rest of the design to give the illusion of a taller heel. You’ll still have the look of lengthening without risking super high heels that can cause discomfort or walking issues. The shaft of the Zoie is very short and stops at the ankle. The opening gives you enough breathing and movement room but is still small enough to fit properly and not make the design look like it’s heavy on your feet.

The Dream Pairs Zoie is made to be worn all year round but due to the lining, it might be best for fall season and spring season. They match greatly with leggings.

9. IDIFU Spliced

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
71
IDIFU Spliced
Amazon Link
Style
70
Durability
70
Fit
70
Outsole
70
Upper
75
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$37.96
Pros:
  • True to Size
  • Completely Synthetic
  • Front Zipper
  • Beautiful Accents
  • Durable Build
Cons:
  • Non Adjustable Buckles

The IDIFU Spliced has the makings of a perfect design for this list: a sleek, silhouette-lengthening pointed toe, plus a 3.1-inch heel for an instant height boost. Dress it formal or keep it casual, the IDIFU Spliced is versatile in its appeal and is available in black, white, and a shocking lipstick red.

The IDIFU Spliced brings pizzazz to any outfit with its elegant gold hardware. This design features a front zipper for easy on-and-off wear and three decorative buckles across the ankle. And how does an anti-skid rubber sole sound? If you answered, ‘like a good idea,’ you would be correct. The IDIFU Spliced has that. It also has a chunky heel that tapers nearly to a point and no platform. Normally this would spell doom for the comfort of an ankle design, but padding in the footbed compensates for the lack of platform. Additionally, the synthetic upper allows feet to breathe comfortably.

The temptation to buy the IDIFU Spliced in every color is real. If you can’t choose and you truly need to, however, go with the red. Black ankle boots are a dime a dozen.

10. Timberland Amston 6 Inch

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
70
Timberland Amston 6 Inch
Amazon Link
Style
70
Durability
70
Fit
70
Outsole
70
Upper
70
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$129.90
Pros:

True to Size

Latex Footbed

Collar Padding

Nubuck Leather

Environmentally Friendly

Cons:

Short Shoestrings

Have the classic Timberland style in an updated silhouette. The construction of the Amston includes nubuck leather, a lugged rubber outsole, and a padded collar. Its wedge heel is textured and sits at 2.75 inches with a footbed that is natural latex. If you’re environmentally conscious, this is a perfect choice because there are 100% recyclable plastics and 15% recyclable rubber built-in.

Boots that stop at the ankle have the tendency to lack ankle support. The Amston has a collar that is padded. This padding will give you comfort and support to keep your ankle protected and stabilized. The Amston isn't just for style, because it provides traction support too. The outsole is rubber but has lugs to enhance traction ability. Just like a work boot, you’ll be able to walk virtually anywhere in these without fear of slippage or instability.

When you consider the brand and the construction, the higher cost of the Amston 6 Inch is understandable. These are made to last a very long time and can work in all kinds of conditions and environments.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Style

While style is often a matter of personal taste, we've checked thousands of online reviews to see what people are saying about each of the products on our list. Some things, such as sleek design, seamless construction and overall weight and shape of the shoe, were common likes or dislikes among buyers of each product.

To evaluate style, we considered everything from the design, color, shape, weight, lines and overall construction of the shoe in question. While no one wants to wear an uncomfortable shoe, they also don’t want a comfortable shoe to be ugly on the eyes. We’ve selected all of those on our top 10 to be not only stylish, but also comfortable, true-to-size, supportive and durable.

The higher the score on the “style” metric, the more fashionable we and the community of buyers we surveyed deemed the product to be. All you have to decide is whether or not you agree, and then click "buy!"

Durability

A quality product is one that will follow you through the years and work the same way it did on the first day you bought the product. In regard to boots, we assessed durability in a few key ways, analyzing the materials, details, construction methods and brands to deliver to you a simple opinion: will this set of boots do the job and do it again and again? Take a look at each area we evaluated:

The Materials
Which type of materials were the product made from? Are they synthetic or natural? How do they smell out of the box? All of these are critical questions we asked when evaluating the materials of the product. A pair of boots made from fabrics that don’t retain heat? They didn’t make our list!

The Details
Extra buckles, complimentary cases and reinforced fabrics are all good indicators of a manufacturer that is setting you up for long term success with their product. Attention to detail separates the high-quality producers from the cheap ones.

The Brand Name
A reputable brand is a signal of quality and trust. Often, high performers continue to perform and out-endure the competition. While there are always exceptions to the rule, we gave higher marks to manufacturers with solid reputations.

The Construction
You can tell a lot about a pair of boots or shoes by how the zippers behave. Do they pull swiftly and softly, like cutting butter? Or do they jam and snap? What about the sew? If there was threading after a few wears, we considered that a warning sign of a lack of proper construction and durability.

At the end of the day, a durable product gives you the confidence to go out and give it your best, knowing your boots can back you up.

Fit

We all know how hard it can be sometimes to find the perfect pair of shoes that we not only love, but that also fit snugly and comfortably. With so many styles, brands, colors and models, how can one compare hundreds of supposed “size 10s”?

To assess for trueness-to-size, we considered the opinions of thousands of wearers from across the globe to find out the answer to the ultimate question: do these 10s fit like a 10? While some things can give you a hint as to whether they will fit true, small or large; like brand name, shoe type and year of make; we believe that the opinion of buyers cannot be wrong. If they say the shoe doesn’t fit the way it’s supposed to, then you won’t find it in our 10-best list.

You will find that a pair of shoes or boots or sandals that score high on this metric tend to experience a trueness-to-size that was verified by our large community of sampled buyers. Just don’t forget to take into account the factors above to also make sure your favorite pair will fit you perfectly.

Outsole

The outsole, or more simply, the sole of the shoe, makes direct contact with the ground and therefore supports the entire foot and body when in motion. Needless to say, a poorly-constructed outsole will lead to discomfort, slipping and foot or other bodily injury. For this reason, many manufacturers use materials that are water-, weather-, heat-, and impact-resistant.

Depending on the type of footwear, one will often see outsoles made from natural or synthetic materials, such as PVC, EVA, rubber and leather. Each of these has their advantages, depending on the shoe’s purpose; however, as a general rule, they each are resistant to the aforementioned factors. They are also flexible enough to support a proper foot cycle when in motion, but they are not so flexible that they feel like a pair of socks.

A sole made of the materials above tend to score higher on our product evaluations, as they are not only comfortable, but also support other criteria, such as “support” and “durability”.

Upper

The insole is the proverbial foundation of the entire shoe. The sock liner lays on top of the insole, which is then fused to the midsole, and finally the outsole. A firm insole will give good structure to a shoe and increase its stability and durability, but it will also increase the weight of the overall product and be less comfortable.

A softer insole might be more comfortable, but that comes at the expense of stability and durability. We tried to balance these weights when evaluating our products, but each reader and wearer is different, so be aware of this trade-off.

The final word on insoles is that the higher the score the product receives, the firmer it will be; however, it might also mean the insole experiences one of the trade-offs discussed earlier.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Style
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Durability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Fit
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
ico Outsole
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
ico Upper
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
Leg Lengthening Looks

High heels or high heel boots can give some added confidence and height, but for a super leg lengthening look, pair them with skinny leg jeans or leggings to accentuate the length of the legs. Short skirts with tall leggy boots can also do the trick!

Vertical Stripes

Another trick to accentuate length, is using vertical stripe patterns along the legs. This kind of strip pattern creates an illusion of length, and can be stylish as well! Look around for thigh highs or tights with this kind of pattern, or pants and leggings. Pair with a solid colored top, and you're set!

Other Factors to Consider

Bottom Line

Finding a great pair of boots for the office, trail, or event that actually look and feel great can be very difficult. Our guide has given you some awesome options. Keep in mind what looks good doesn’t always feel good and can lead to a sore back, legs, or feet. In addition, you may end up with painful blisters or raw, rubbed areas that can lead to infection, when wearing poor fitting boots.

Whether you prefer knee boots or ankle boots, there is a boot for you. There’s no restriction on the kind of boot that can provide a streamlined, svelte silhouette. Though it may be easier said than done to gather the courage to rock boots after being convinced you shouldn’t, don’t worry. You’ve got this.

A style is subjective, we get that. Evaluating a shoe based on style inevitably means that someone won’t like some, or any, of the styles, selected. In this guide, we attempted to provide a diverse range of styles that could also be described as ‘elegant’, ‘fashion-forward’, or ‘classic.’

That being said, choosing stylish boots that won’t leave you looking frumpy, blocky, or shorter than before can be difficult. Here are a few tips to keep in mind when shopping for the perfect slenderizing boot.

Keep it pointy

The easiest way to lengthen compact legs is to wear a pointed toe. Generally, pointed toes won’t make large feet look any larger, just longer. This is especially true on tall boots that also extend your silhouette upwards. Pointy-toed boots also transition well from day to night attire.

Heels! Heels! Heels!

This is beyond obvious to say: the higher your heel, the taller you appear. Three inches tend to be the perfect heel height for most. However, the type of heel you choose for your boot is also important. For example, visible wedge heels add a blockiness that has a shortening effect on the silhouette.

You should also take your skill level into consideration. If you are very inexperienced wearing heals a rise of three inches can be dangerous. Rolling your ankles is painful and the swelling can cause a lot of trouble, not to mention the stretching of your tendons that can take months to heal. If you are an avid heel wearer then starting at a three-inch heel may be fine, you may consider your event location before choosing such a height.

Avoid mid-calf lengths

Mid-calf length when talking about boots can be cute and trendy but are best avoided when looking for the appearance of a long, lean leg. Mid-calf boots land right where they say — mid-calf — and halves thick and short calves. A boot that stops at the mid-calf introduces a cutoff point that breaks up your silhouette. Furthermore, mid-calf tends to be the thickest part of the calf on any person, so boots that stop at that height can also produce a ‘stuffed sausage’ look.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: I’m short! Should I only wear heeled boots?

a:

Not at all! While heeled boots do give an immediate height boost that makes you appear longer, it’s not the only way to accomplish this look. Try pairing flat, tall shoes with leggings or pants of the same color, to create a streamlined profile. On the other hand, avoid boots that slouch down the leg, or bunch around the ankles, this can make you appear shorter or unpolished.

q: How can I keep my thigh highs up?

a:

Sock glue, something many don’t know about but certainly need in their arsenal of accessories! Also called body adhesive, sock glue isn’t just for socks. Apply it to your legs, or the tops of your boots to keep them in place for hours. It’s one way to steer clear of the slouchy boot look.

q: How do I know if shoes are vegan?

a:

To know if shoes are vegan, many times you can just read the shoe description. Non- vegan shoes tend to use descriptors such as ‘man-made’, ‘synthetic’, ‘polyurethane’, or ‘fabric.’ Vegan’s will want to stay away from anything made of Leather, Suede, or Nubuck. It is important to note that some brands use a mixture of materials that may include Leather or other animal products. Doing some added research to make sure your shoes match your needs may be advantageous.

q: I love dresses and skirts that come just above my knee, what type of boots should I wear to make my short legs look better?

a:

This is an excellent question. When wearing a skirt or dress of that length a pair of boots that come just below the knee can not only be hot but also make your legs look very short. Wearing an ankle boot with a heel is an excellent choice. This will help elongate the leg and it gives more space between your hemline and your boots.

q: The only pair of boots that look great on my short legs just lost a heel, help!

a:

Finding a broken heel on your favorite boot can be devastating. However, fixing a broken heel isn’t as hard as you might think. The simple way is to purchase some shoe glue. Shoe glue doesn’t last forever and if looking for a long term fix, you will want to take your shoe to a cobbler. They will be able to thoroughly inspect the shoe and let you know what needs to take place to permenently fix your broken heel.