to top 10 table

Best Books on Podiatry For Students & Laymen Alike Reviewed

last updated Aug 16, 2019

In this day and age of information overload, we may tend to forget the importance of finding this same information (with more detail) within a book. Books specializing in any area are significant in value, and the overall knowledge we gain can be worth more than the cost we may spend on purchasing the book.

For the most part, the greatest of books (knowledge-wise) have hours upon hours of research associated with them. If you are curious about learning more on foot health, about improving your knowledge on podiatry, here we have a list of the best books on podiatry currently available. Browse through them, and choose the titles which catch your eye. Thanks to them, you'll become an expert on foot health in no time!

In a Hurry? The test winner after 6.5 hrs of research

icon
Watkins' Manual of Foot and Ankle Medicine and Surgery
97/100 our score
Accuracy
100
Apps
95
Advanced Features
95
Ease of Use
97
Materials
98
Watkins' Manual of Foot and Ankle Medicine and Surgery
Why is it better?

Comprehensive

Easy to Use

Search Software

Sharing of Notes

Electronic and Paperback Versions

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Watkins' Manual of Foot and Ankle Medicine and Surgery
Test Winner: Watkins' Manual of Foot and Ankle Medicine and Surgery
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
8
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
143
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
6.5
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
10
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Accuracy Apps Advanced Features Ease of Use Materials By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97
Accuracy
100 %
Apps
95 %
Advanced Features
95 %
Ease of Use
97 %
Materials
98 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (25.08.19)
Amazon Link
$42.73
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95
Accuracy
100 %
Apps
97 %
Advanced Features
92 %
Ease of Use
91 %
Materials
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (25.08.19)
Amazon Link
$239.96
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.8
Accuracy
100 %
Apps
96 %
Advanced Features
95 %
Ease of Use
90 %
Materials
88 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (25.08.19)
Amazon Link
$158.98
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.4
Accuracy
100 %
Apps
91 %
Advanced Features
91 %
Ease of Use
85 %
Materials
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (25.08.19)
Amazon Link
$121.52
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89
Accuracy
100 %
Apps
87 %
Advanced Features
78 %
Ease of Use
85 %
Materials
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (25.08.19)
Amazon Link
$202.50
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86
Accuracy
100 %
Apps
85 %
Advanced Features
80 %
Ease of Use
80 %
Materials
85 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (25.08.19)
Amazon Link
$170.93
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80
Accuracy
95 %
Apps
70 %
Advanced Features
70 %
Ease of Use
80 %
Materials
85 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (25.08.19)
Amazon Link
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
76.6
Accuracy
100 %
Apps
72 %
Advanced Features
71 %
Ease of Use
70 %
Materials
70 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (25.08.19)
Amazon Link
$150.16
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
71
Accuracy
80 %
Apps
70 %
Advanced Features
70 %
Ease of Use
65 %
Materials
70 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (25.08.19)
Amazon Link
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
69
Accuracy
95 %
Apps
70 %
Advanced Features
40 %
Ease of Use
70 %
Materials
70 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (25.08.19)
Amazon Link
$22.95

Our Favorites

1. Watkins' Manual of Foot and Ankle Medicine and Surgery

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97
Watkins' Manual of Foot and Ankle Medicine and Surgery
Amazon Link
Accuracy
100
Apps
95
Advanced Features
95
Ease of Use
97
Materials
98
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$42.73
Pros:

Comprehensive

Easy to Use

Search Software

Sharing of Notes

Electronic and Paperback Versions

Cons:

Pricey

Better for Residents

This manual is in its fourth edition and is ready for medical residents to have on hand. It contains podiatric abbreviations, a glossary, a print edition bundled with software which allows easy research, cross-linked pages, references, and a highlighting tool. This is a must-have book for hospital residents or anyone looking to expand their knowledge in podiatry.

Read more

Cross-links and search tools (with smart navigation) help you grab information from the web, the book, and even your notes. This takes ease-of-use to a whole new level. Furthermore, you are able to share your notes with other colleagues and/or can be the recipient of notes. It is truly an environment for learning and mulling over ideas between doctors.

The content is in-depth and accompanied by color illustrations. There is quick-reference tabbing which serves to save content for later recall. The color illustrations contain pictures of most-utilized instruments and dermatologic conditions. Created with a list format, this book works well to make an environment conducive to easy learning and long-term comprehension.

The content contains anatomy, disease prevention, microbiology, pharmacology, and the management of many disorders. Whether you are a resident looking for the right text (for easy access to information) or a victim of these issues, this is one item which can benefit both. Moreover, the concise and comprehensive manual covers trauma, implants, wounds, arthritis, and so much more.

2. McGlamry's Comprehensive Textbook of Foot and Ankle Surgery

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95
McGlamry's Comprehensive Textbook of Foot and Ankle Surgery
Amazon Link
Accuracy
100
Apps
97
Advanced Features
92
Ease of Use
91
Materials
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$239.96
Pros:

3000 Illustrations

Volume 1 and 2

Expert Advice

Walkthroughs of Procedures

Enhanced Detail

Cons:

Pricey

Whether you are the one heading into surgery, working in the field, or are a student getting ready for an upcoming exam, this reference manual could be what you are searching for. Examining preoperative management to postoperative complications and considerations, this volume covers anything from routine trauma to surgeries involving compound deformities. In other words, it addresses nearly everything you can imagine in podiatry.

Read more

This guide serves well for residents, students, and surgeons alike. It is the fourth edition of this manual and the contents are truly comprehensive. Furthermore, this edition contains new and innovative techniques in the field of podiatry and helps to prepare for nearly any scenario. It is a step-by-step manual from leading authorities, which in the thick of it, give you the best advice for the surgical procedures they perform.

3000 illustrations walk you through each and every step of the most common of procedures as well as unusual surgeries. The color format highlights key anatomic structures and surgical approaches, and as such, the end result is better retainment and understanding of the procedure in question.

This is a volume which can broaden your already vast knowledge of treatment and procedures, or can bring a student up to speed in a fairly quick amount of time. Furthermore, with the knowledge of proven and successful surgeons in their respective field, you can be certain the information therein is knowledge worth the study.

3. Principles and Management of Pediatric Foot and Ankle Deformities and Malformations

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.8
Principles and Management of Pediatric Foot and Ankle Deformities and Malformations
Amazon Link
Accuracy
100
Apps
96
Advanced Features
95
Ease of Use
90
Materials
88
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$158.98
Pros:

In-Depth Information

Procedures and Techniques

Note-Sharing App

Quick-Reference Tabbing

Search Tool

Cons:

Pediatric-Specific

Whether you are a student just entering the field or a long-time practitioner of podiatry, this manual is perfect for those in pediatrics. This is an in-depth look at the surgery and procedures of pediatric feet and ankles. Along with treatment recommendations, this volume contains illustrations, bullet points, and tables for easier readability and quicker access.

Read more

This contains enhanced navigation with how-to guides for bone and soft tissue procedures. There are detailed descriptions of each with treatment recommendations. The pages even cover special topics, such as rare iatrogenic and idiopathic deformities. Moreover, the illustrations are abundant with surgical instruction.

Quick-reference tabbing allows you to mark areas of interest for faster recall and navigation. Also, there is an app which allows you to collaborate with colleagues by sharing the notes taken, so as to get the most out of your research and to give the best to your patients.

We really like the search tool function, as it pulls information from the book, your notes, and the web alike. This really adds to the overall functionality and importance of this book.

4. Robert Christman Foot and Ankle Radiology

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.4
Robert Christman Foot and Ankle Radiology
Amazon Link
Accuracy
100
Apps
91
Advanced Features
91
Ease of Use
85
Materials
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$121.52
Pros:

In-Depth Coverage

Adult/Pediatric-Friendly

Cross-Linked Pages/References

Highlighting Tool

Quick-Reference Tabbing

Cons:

Radiology-Specific

For those entering the field of radiology, this is a highly in-depth look into the elements of feet and ankles radiology. This volume covers the principles of radiographic interpretation, systematic evaluation of bone and joint disorders, normal and variant radiographic anatomy, bone/joint abnormalities, and overall development. It is a comprehensive, yet practical approach to the field.

Read more

There are over 1000 color illustrations and radiographs. Furthermore, this manual helps to analyze radiographs with efficiency and accuracy using a systematic approach. It has content on MR, CT, PET, SPECT, and musculoskeletal ultrasounds, as well as easier identification of the conditions which are considered to be intrinsic to the feet, or which represents manifestations of an extrinsic disease.

We like the fact this covers postoperative conditions and evaluates them with the possible complications that can arise. This gives a better understanding during a radiographic interpretation.

Furthermore, the radiographic interpretations cover both adult and pediatric fields. This adds to the already high value of this particular volume, as it examines both parties in a no-nonsense and practical approach.

5. Lower Extremity Soft Tissue & Cutaneous Plastic Surgery

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89
Lower Extremity Soft Tissue & Cutaneous Plastic Surgery
Amazon Link
Accuracy
100
Apps
87
Advanced Features
78
Ease of Use
85
Materials
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$202.50
Pros:

1300+ Color Illustrations

Step-by-Step Instructions

Latest Techniques

Sutiable for Surgeons

Cons:

Plastic Surgery Specific

High Price

This is a surgeon's manual for plastic surgery. It contains illustrations and step-by-step details on techniques. The second edition contains four new chapters covering information related to cutaneous anatomy and its surgical implications, leg ulcer management, dressings and postoperative care, and aseptic techniques. This volume progresses through the most basic of information to the more complex scenarios.

Read more

1300 full-color illustrations help to clarify the details of diagnosing and treating within the realm of plastic surgery, its instruments, procedures, and post-op care. It contains everything from suturing to incisional and excisional procedures. Moreover, the information within is extremely comprehensive and covers the latest in technique and procedure.

This is a great reference manual for the experienced podiatrist looking to expand their knowledge in technique. Furthermore, it helps to create a practical environment in which each procedure covered is handled with the best techniques available.

Everything from cutaneous flaps, grafts, reconstructive, and plastic surgical techniques are found within these pages. It is full of detail and leaves nothing out. That is, this text takes on a no-nonsense approach with its content.

6. External Fixators of the Foot and Ankle

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86
External Fixators of the Foot and Ankle
Amazon Link
Accuracy
100
Apps
85
Advanced Features
80
Ease of Use
80
Materials
85
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$170.93
Pros:

Reference Manual

Step-by-Step Instructions

Authoritative Perspectives

In-Depth Examination of Tools

Covers Relevant Anatomy

Cons:

External Fixator-specific

Better for Student/Surgeon

Very few of us consider the importance of fixators when we think of surgery. But with corrective surgeries, fixators may very well be an integral part of the healing process. Just as braces and retainers work to correct our teeth, so do fixators do the same for our feet and ankles. Within this volume, you will find the much-needed information involving fixators for podiatry care.

Read more

Authoritative perspectives are found within the pages - leading personnel in the field to give better advice on technique, and with a better understanding of why that particular technique should be employed versus other procedural options. Furthermore, a wide range of procedures is covered with step-by-step instructions in order to give the best chance of grasping the material.

We love how these pages take complex problems and break them down into their simpler forms. This makes learning a bit easier. Plus, 1300 illustrations help give us the surgeon's eye with a unique perspective.

Overall, this is a reference manual worthy of any surgeon's or student's library. Whether it be for quick reference or for a deeper understanding of technique and postoperative care, this is certainly worth taking a look at.

7. The Plantar Fasciitis Plan: Free Your Feet From Morning Pain

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80
The Plantar Fasciitis Plan: Free Your Feet From Morning Pain
Amazon Link
Accuracy
95
Apps
70
Advanced Features
70
Ease of Use
80
Materials
85
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

In-Depth Study

Pain-Relieving Techniques

Budget-Friendly

Focuses on Solutions

Cons:

Plantar Fasciitis-Specific

One of a few self-help books in our list, this is told through the eyes of Dr. Colin Dombroski. It examines plantar fasciitis symptoms, causes, and pain. It is available in electronic and paperback versions and does a great job at handling acute and chronic conditions. Furthermore, the text covers the worst part of plantar fasciitis in the early morning. In other words, if you struggle with the condition, this may be the perfect book.

Read more

Although there are many causes to plantar fasciitis, one of the main causes is the tearing of the fascia ligament, in the form of microtears along the area where it attaches to the heel bone. It was once believed that heel spurs were to blame but now it is understood that heel spurs are, indeed, a result and not the cause.

Dr. Colin Dombroski does a fine job of explaining the details and, moreover, explains how to treat the condition with the best results. We really like the way he helps us learn how to get the best results from the treatments we undergo. That is, Dr. Colin Dombroski works with the medical field and not against it.

Lastly, this volume is quite in-depth with knowledge and information. It is not a book by someone looking to get rich off of those who are in need, but instead, it is designed to improve the quality of life for those who suffer.

8. Sarrafian's Anatomy of the Foot and Ankle

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
76.6
Sarrafian's Anatomy of the Foot and Ankle
Amazon Link
Accuracy
100
Apps
72
Advanced Features
71
Ease of Use
70
Materials
70
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$150.16
Pros:

High Detail

Hardcover/Electronic Available

No-Nonsense Writing

Good for Students/Surgeons

Covers Complex Situations/Information

Cons:

Pricey

Lacks Collaboration Software

In its third edition, this textbook is a perfect fit for students learning anatomy. It is available in both hardcover and electronic versions. Covering elements such as applied anatomy biomechanics, cross-sectional and functional anatomy, this is a must-have read which remains updated as new and more information becomes available.

Read more

Applied anatomy biomechanics covers sports medicine. A theoretical framework, it is utilized as an assessment tool to analyze and validate evidence-based modification to the body. It further evaluates how to optimize performance for an athlete through technique.

Cross-sectional anatomy is "the study of the relationship of the structures of the body by the examination of cross-sections of the tissue or organ," according to the Free Dictionary, by Farlax. This examination occurs through actual slicing or imaging. The slicing runs parallel to the vertical or long axis.

Functional anatomy is, well, functional. It is a relationship between the body part and its functionality. This text examines the overall functionality. Moreover, it examines everything from fetal development to diagnostic imaging. It is a textbook, so there are a lot of terms and medical knowledge within.

It does, however, lack personality within the writing style. In other words, it is a no-nonsense style of writing with high importance to detail.

9. The Ultimate Guide to Strong Healthy Feet

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
71
The Ultimate Guide to Strong Healthy Feet
Amazon Link
Accuracy
80
Apps
70
Advanced Features
70
Ease of Use
65
Materials
70
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Money-Back Guarantee

Easy Read

Informative

Low Pricing

Cons:

Not Medically Approved

This is a how-to guide utilizing a step-by-step approach. It focuses on relieving pain via the advice of William Errol Prowse IV. This could be considered an alternative medicine book. It is not validated by any medical association and does not come with any software for easier navigation and cross-reference research. In other words, this belongs in the advice books category and is not an actual medical journal or manual.

Read more

Sometimes, the best advice we can receive is from others who have lived the same experience we are facing. William Errol Prowse IV examines everything from plantar fasciitis (a condition he suffered) to the walking gait. He further backs his program up with a money-back guarantee; not too bad for self-help books on podiatry.

The contents cover plantar fasciitis, flat feet, dysfunctional walking gait, hammertoes, neuromas, bunions, and pain (involving the ankle and feet). One of his key points for recovery is to avoid sitting down, as this can weaken the feet. This part of the program can become quite difficult for those of us who work in an office setting and are not allowed to stand.

In essence, we are then forced to overcompensate the day's journey with a heavier dose of exercise. That is, the key element in pain reduction is the exercise to strengthen those areas which have become weak. And as with any exercise regimen, we should always consult our doctor first. So, this is a decent self-help book but should be accompanied by a doctor's advice.

10. The Foot Book: A Complete Guide to Healthy Feet

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
69
The Foot Book: A Complete Guide to Healthy Feet
Amazon Link
Accuracy
95
Apps
70
Advanced Features
40
Ease of Use
70
Materials
70
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$22.95
Pros:

Easy Read

Informative

Basic Care

Adult/Pediatric Sections

Easy Language

Cons:

Lacks Researchable Software

This is that book you might find at the doctor's office. Within the pages, Jonathan D. Rose and Vincent J. Martorana examine and evaluate everything from diagnosis to treatment, professional to self-care, and beyond. This volume is a rich environment for resources involving information on disorders, diseases, and injuries.

Read more

This another one of those texts that take complex information and break it all down to an easier understanding of guiding principles and elements. Whether you are a seasoned veteran in the field or are just a beginner, this book covers all aspects. Furthermore, the flow of the book is great in helping those even with little understanding become more adept on taking care of your feet.

Not all pain can be addressed in the same way; nor can one treatment work for everyone, as we are all different. This book is unique in that it helps us identify underlining issues and then convey these questions to our doctor with more precision. As such, treatment becomes easier on a one-to-one basis and we are able to find better treatment, which may be healthier for our individual needs.

This may be okay as a quick-reference for seasoned surgeons and podiatrists, but this book is better for those with little to no understanding. It is an easy read and does not overly bog you down with medical terminology, which can become confusing for those not in the field. For a common-sense approach to care, this is a nice guide.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Accuracy

When it comes to medical information of any kind, accuracy is key.

Accuracy falls into two categories: absolute and practical accuracy. Absolute accuracy is one that holds to the truth of the topics within the book. In other words, when speaking about a certain topic, does the author convey the absolute truth? How medically accurate is the information here?

Secondly, practicality in truth defines the level of usability for the given subject. In laymen's terms, if you are reading a book on plantar fasciitis, does it give you accurate information in terms of pain relief, lifestyle changes, treatment options, and so on?

A book with a high score in accuracy performs well in both areas. A reference manual may have a really high score in absolute accuracy, but more times than not, it will have a lower score when evaluating its practicality for ease of use. Let's face it, not all of us are doctors and can, therefore, decipher medical terms with ease.

But this same manual may, indeed, retain a high score (practicality score) if the reference is intended to its target audience (i.e. doctors, residents, students, etc.). To keep things fair, we evaluated both of these scores with the intended audience in mind.

We all hope that every book we read will be 100% accurate. Academic books will be nearly perfect in the accuracy score. This is because they undergo heavy scrutiny by the professionals in their field of expertise, and are corrected when mistakes are made. After all, these are volumes utilized by universities and other forms of higher education.

It is the area of self-help books where we find the biggest fluctuation of accuracy. When considering a self-help book, especially as this applies to your well-being, be certain to consult your doctor before attempting any recommended treatment, lifestyle change, or exercise regimen. Like this, you can better compare the 'truth' found within the pages against the knowledge of your healthcare professional.

Apps

In today's modern age, e-books speed up the process of learning.

Apps are a great way to accompany a great book. For this purpose, we are considering multiple facets of apps. The apps we pay the closest attention to are the apps that take already great texts and enhance them to further greatness.

Enhanced navigation is by far the single most important app feature when discussing podiatry material. There are cross-reference links which navigate within the book itself. This makes studying a lot easier and can further a deeper understanding of a given topic if linked correctly. Quick-tabbing is another small feature (part of the larger enhanced navigation) which allows us to return to pages of interest. Quick-tabbing is an essential part of any good enhanced navigation system.

The note app is, also, a winner. It allows collaboration between parties, so you are able to share your notes or read from someone else's notes. This is particularly useful for students and teachers. But, also, peers in their respective field can troubleshoot a rare disorder with greater ease. To say the least, the sharing of information is why the electronic age booms.

A search tool can really bump up the ante, as it were. The best search tools will automatically search the book, your notes, shared notes, and the web. For a surgeon, this can raise the chances that a patient's upcoming procedure will be met with success, both during surgery and postoperative. Finally, the highlighter tool is always nice to have. The best ones work well with the search tool and are a part of the quick-tabbing feature.

At the end of the day, the items on our list which rate the highest in the apps section are the ones that contain all of these features. If purchasing a paperback or hardcover, there may be a link to a download for an electronic version of the book or the electronic version may come on a disc.

Advanced Features

Illustrations, bullet-point presentations, and step-by-step instructions help digest the information more easily.

Advanced features are found in two areas: the book and the apps. Advanced features are elements such as illustrations, step-by-step instructions, bullet-point presentations, and whether or not any high-tech features are present.

If illustrations are present, then are they in full color, or do these illustrations appear like a three-year-old has sketched them out? Volumes which have everything properly illustrated in a fun and colorful way are ranked high on our list when it comes to Advanced Features.

Step-by-step instructions are a necessity when evaluating procedures and techniques. After all, it is one thing to read about a procedure and the techniques utilized, but it is quite another to see it all in action. Texts that teach us, rather than preach to us, are the ones which will usually contain step-by-step instructions. And for the student and surgeon alike, this is a must-have quality in the field of podiatry.

Bullet-point presentations make information clearer. This usually means that complex material has been broken down into its simpler parts and then it is placed upon a page for our brains to digest in a quicker and more efficient way. A bullet-point presentation isn't a make or break piece of our advanced features, but for certain materials, we believe it to be necessary, such as within more intensive reading, such as a reference manual.

The options which contain all or most of the advanced features are the ones with the highest of scores. And remember, the score, also, includes whether or not any apps are present.

Ease of Use

Nicely illustrated books mean nothing if you can't understand what's written on the pages.

When determining the ease-of-use, we examine the readability, app usability, and whether or not the instructions are easy to follow for the author's intended audience. Take, for example, a book which is written at a fifth-grade level. If this book is targeted at second-graders, then the ease-of-use plummets drastically. But if, on the other hand, it is directed toward seventh- and eighth-graders, then the ease-of-use rises. We always consider the target audience when determining this number.

Volumes full of medical terms, such as a reference manual, may have a high ease-of-use number when directed toward the target audience (i.e. surgeons, students, etc.).

If the text, however, is targeted to the average public, and every other paragraph is loaded with medical terms (which we must look up), then this will have a low score in the ease-of-use scenario.

App usability is another key in determining the ease-of-use factor. Just because we receive a disc of apps with our newly, purchased manual, does not mean that the apps are easy to use. In fact, there are times, unfortunately, when the apps are so cumbersome to use, that it is easier to just thumb through the book or search for more information in another search tool.

If you are looking for simple, straightforward texts without many confusing medical terms, then sort our list according to this criterion on choose off the top. If, however, you're interested in more scientific sources, those written by medical doctors perhaps for medical doctors and medical students, then the bottom options are for you. Enjoy!

Materials

The overall type of content is what we put the most emphasis on.

Obviously, materials are the content within the books. But more than this, materials are in relation to other elements, such as advanced features, apps, ease-of-use, and accuracy. A book with a low rating with this characteristic may, indeed, be spot-on in the area of accurate information, but it may also lack considerably in other areas.

Consider a hefty reference manual with no advanced features. Well, it might look great on your shelf and may get opened a time or two when you are not busy, but more often than not, it will just look good sitting there. The best reference manuals will be accompanied by advanced features to help with collaboration and study. Furthermore, a search tool to further understanding should always be present.

What about a self-help book? Well, for the most part, there will be no apps; nor will these apps be necessary. So, the lack of them will not lower the score, per se.

That being stated, a heavy emphasis will be placed upon the actual content and whether or not the texts convey the content with general ease. For example, if the book is written as a four-step program, but there are twenty substeps between each step, then it isn't really easy to accomplish, nor is the content matching what the book initially conveys. This would, then, receive a low score.

At the end of the day, the materials are an accumulation of all criteria with special importance placed upon the actual content. The items with the highest scores satisfy the material element in a grand fashion.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Accuracy
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Apps
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Advanced Features
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
ico Ease of Use
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
ico Materials
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
Always Check Credibility

Make sure that what you're reading has a board certified, experienced author. If it's a medical textbook then you want peer-reviewed sources- and lots of them! This is to ensure your safety as well as the accuracy of the information presented.

Did You Know?

There are 26 bones in each of your feet. All of them help to enable the right amount of flex and support it needs.

Other Factors to Consider

Compatibility

We may not consider compatibility when thinking about our reading. But the truth is, we need the book to be compatible with our needs. If we are searching for a book which can help relieve pain from bouts of early-morning spurs and plantar fasciitis, then a book focusing on external fixators is probably not what we need.

The idea here is to think about our needs prior to searching for the book we are after. In this, when we are bombarded by thousands of books on podiatry at once, we can better sift through the piles to determine the right one for us.

Release Date

Release dates are also important. Is the book written with knowledge from the 1950s? If so, can it be applied today? The main thing here is to check the date of the publishing. It can usually be found within the first few pages.

Secondly, books on podiatry written in 1950 may be up to date. If it is in its sixth edition, for example, then you know that the information is probably updated to match with the current knowledge and information readily available. Again, check the date of the last edition change.

Bottom Line

With everything you've read so far, it is understandable that you feel somewhat overwhelmed by the sheer number of choices. Books on podiatry are numerous and range from simple self-help volumes to those geared towards medical students and doctors looking to improve their knowledge on the topic.

When you're looking for what you need, definitely consider whether or not you want a more scientific approach, or are books on podiatry written in simple, easy-to-understand terms preferable. Consider the topic you're looking for, and choose a volume which contains a lot of information on that.

You'll find that, once you start, it is ridiculously easy to get caught up on learning from books on podiatry! So don't hesitate - scroll up and grab your title now!

Frequently Asked Questions

q: What are the best books on podiatry for plantar fasciitis pain, deformity, or postoperative discomfort?

a:

Any book which is specifically directed at a problem is a good place to start. In this case, we want a book which focuses on the given problem.

We will use plantar fasciitis and the issues which may arise as a result of this infliction as an example. Now that we have a clear understanding of this part of our search, we need to become even more specific. There are plenty of books which focus on pain management and are, also, directed toward plantar fasciitis.

But the best book would be one that focuses on multiple solutions to the pain, as each individual may require a different solution for their pain relief than the next person in line. Also, always consult your doctor prior to applying any pain management techniques, as they may be able to help this change with even more sound advice.

q: Should I buy a reference manual?

a:

Well, this depends on why you are searching for books on podiatry. Surgeons and students should always be the first to add to their growing and extensive collection of books within their respective field. But for the general public, unless you are a connoisseur of the medical field, a reference manual may be too expensive and difficult to understand for your needs.

q: Do I need software with my books on podiatry?

a:

If you are serious within the fields of orthotics and podiatry, then, yes, absolutely! Students and seasoned surgeons alike can benefit greatly with accompanying software; especially, software which allows collaboration between parties, such as a note app.

q: What are the best how-to manuals for self-care in podiatry?

a:

Always remember to consult a doctor prior to treating a condition yourself. With this you are promoting a healthier lifestyle, in terms of decision making.

That being said, the best how-to books on podiatry will break complex problems down into their simpler forms. After this, a step-by-step process with illustrations is the best.

q: How do I differentiate good books on podiatry from bad ones, in terms of advice?

a:

Start with the author(s). Are they proven within their field of expertise? Consider the sources they cite. Are these sources reputable and do they back what the author(s) is trying to convey? Also, consider the edition number. Is this book utilized in universities, as to warrant updated information in conjunction with better learning techniques? The best advice will always be followed by, "Consult your doctor, first."

Sources

  1. medical-dictionary.thefreedictionary.com, Cross-sectional Anatomy, Dictionary
  2. Free Dictionary Staff, Longitudinal Section, Dictionary
  3. Free Dictionary Staff, Functional Anatomy, Dictionary
  4. William C. Shiel, M.D., MedicineNet, Informational
  5. Alvin I. Gore, M.D., AAFP.org, Medical Article
  6. Jonathan Cluett, M.D., VeryWellHealth.com, Medical Article
  7. Prof. V. K. Panchbhavi, MD, FACS, Medscape, Medical Article
  8. Versus Arthritis Staff, VersusArthritis.org, Informational