to top 10 table

Best Kids Designer Shoes Reviewed & Rated

last updated May 13, 2019

I think it’s safe to say that, all of us reading this right now, like to have nice shoes. Whether you own your own special pair of Michael Kors or Coach Sneakers or have even decided to purchase your favorite pair of Hermes shoes that you saw at Bloomingdales – you can also agree to one simple truth. Designers are always better. Can you ever really compare the quality of a $350 pair of shoes from Gucci to a $50 pair from an unknown brand? These brands we are talking about making some great, high-quality footwear that is in a whole new league of their own. Now, this could not be truer when you start to consider what type of shoes you want to buy for your child.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 17 hrs of research

icon
Lacoste Ampthill
97.4/100 our score
Materials
98
Brand
95
Durability
99
Comfort
97
Style
98
Lacoste Ampthill
Why is it better?

Many Different Options

Great Outsole

Mesh Linings

Great Brand & Logo On Side

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Lacoste Ampthill
Test Winner: Lacoste Ampthill
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
12
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
1378
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
17
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
19
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Materials Brand Durability Comfort Style By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.4
Materials
98 %
Brand
95 %
Durability
99 %
Comfort
97 %
Style
98 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (15.10.19)
Amazon Link
$43.63
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.6
Materials
94 %
Brand
95 %
Durability
93 %
Comfort
94 %
Style
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (15.10.19)
Amazon Link
$19.98
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91
Materials
91 %
Brand
92 %
Durability
90 %
Comfort
91 %
Style
91 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (15.10.19)
Amazon Link
$29.98
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89
Materials
90 %
Brand
89 %
Durability
91 %
Comfort
88 %
Style
87 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (15.10.19)
Amazon Link
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86
Materials
88 %
Brand
87 %
Durability
85 %
Comfort
86 %
Style
84 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (15.10.19)
Amazon Link
$29.98
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
83
Materials
82 %
Brand
84 %
Durability
83 %
Comfort
85 %
Style
81 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (15.10.19)
Amazon Link
$33.97
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80.6
Materials
81 %
Brand
80 %
Durability
82 %
Comfort
81 %
Style
79 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (15.10.19)
Amazon Link
$205.00
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
79
Materials
79 %
Brand
81 %
Durability
77 %
Comfort
78 %
Style
80 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (15.10.19)
Amazon Link
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
76.4
Materials
76 %
Brand
77 %
Durability
74 %
Comfort
78 %
Style
77 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (15.10.19)
Amazon Link
$19.02
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
71.8
Materials
71 %
Brand
72 %
Durability
75 %
Comfort
71 %
Style
70 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (15.10.19)
Amazon Link
$45.00

10 Best Kid's Designer Shoes

1. Lacoste Ampthill

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.4
Lacoste Ampthill
Amazon Link
Materials
98
Brand
95
Durability
99
Comfort
97
Style
98
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$43.63
Pros:

Many Different Options

Great Outsole

Mesh Linings

Great Brand & Logo On Side

Cons:

Marks Easily

If a more minimal style is your thing, we are excited to share with you today, the Lacoste Ampthill Chukka Sneakers. These are a great pair for children seeking to be stylish, comfortable, and perhaps have an admiration for crocodiles.

What really captured our attention at the beginning of our evaluation was that this brand offered nearly 8 different design options for the same shoe! So, parents have the option to pick different colors and designs – and perhaps even buy multiple versions as they are really not that costly in the first place.

When it comes to the design, there are a few features that really stand out. One, in particular, was the fact that the company included mesh linings in the shoe. If you are not familiar, anytime that a brand includes meshing into their footwear it’s to help with ventilation and breathability – which reduces the build-up of moisture and sweat.

2. Nautica Calloway

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.6
Nautica Calloway
Amazon Link
Materials
94
Brand
95
Durability
93
Comfort
94
Style
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$19.98
Pros:

Six Different Colors

Made from Quality Materials

Had Tightening Velcro Straps

Great for All Activities

Cons:

Not Durable

In the past 10 years, there is one brand in particular that has risen to the topic and is easily one of the most popular brands. Do you know who we are talking about? Of course, it’s Nautica. This company is known for their nautical vibe clothing and fashion for both adults and children. Their Calloway Sneakers are a testament to the quality and precision of this brand, which is why we are excited to share them with you today.

Sometimes, laces can cause too many problems for children. So, this brand sought to make walking and activities easier with unique Velcro straps and the inclusion of bungee as well. These two together significantly help to secure your young one when running or walking. Additionally, this eliminates the hassle and time it takes to tie shoes every day.

On top of the Velcro straps feature, this product is 100% adorable. Any parent that takes a look at this design will not be able to pass it up, especially after looking at the price tag. With over 6 different stylish colors, parents can purchase a color and stylish that matches their little one’s personality and favorite colors.

3. Bebe Metallic Slip On

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91
Bebe Metallic Slip On
Amazon Link
Materials
91
Brand
92
Durability
90
Comfort
91
Style
91
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$29.98
Pros:

Spot Clean, Easy To Care For

Durable Toe Cap

Padded Insole

Non-Slip Outsole

Cons:

Limited Long-Term Durability

Bebe was established in 1976 and was a major fashion staple in the early aughts that has been making a comeback as of late. Featuring a non-slip rubber outsole, durable toe cap, and six adorable color options, your child will love running around in these colorful sneakers.

Kids have a lot of energy and are more than happy spending their days running around and playing. While falls resulting in bumps and bruises are inevitable, the right kind of sole can reduce the chances of a nasty fall. These lightweight sneakers feature a durable yet flexible rubber outsole that is designed with anti-slip and safety features in mind.

When it comes to buying footwear for children- designer or otherwise- one of the most important things to consider is the comfort level of them. Designer styles fetch a high price, and as such you want to ensure you are getting the best quality for your investment. Featuring a lightly padded insole and a soft interior, these shoes are made for providing comfort in everything your child does.

4. Michael Kors Ima Boerum

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89
Michael Kors Ima Boerum
Amazon Link
Materials
90
Brand
89
Durability
91
Comfort
88
Style
87
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Trendy Brand

Stylish Design

Three Color Options

Durable

Cons:

May Peel

Color Varies

When you ask someone today about what big brands they know, one of the first ones they will say is Michael Kors. This brand is infamous in the fashion industry and they easily secured a spot on our list with the Ima Boerum sneakers. This set of footwear embodies the culture surrounding big brands and are wildly popular. So, let’s take a look at what they have to offer.

What really sells these shoes is how stylish and fashionable they really are. There are three different variations of this model, all of which are stunning and feature the iconic logo across the entire shoe. With a lacing system, children can easily tie them for maximum comfort and rock their day in style.

The bottom of this shoe is made from a unique, rubber material, which is a highlight of the product. Reason being, the common chose this material in efforts to promote a more durable product for their consumers. Now, you might be surprised to learn that this product can actually range to be one of the cheapest shoes, and one of the most expensive, depending on the style and color that you desire. With that being said, if you are looking to purchase a trendy gift for your child, this will most certainly do it!

5. Nautica Fashion Sneaker

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86
Nautica Fashion Sneaker
Amazon Link
Materials
88
Brand
87
Durability
85
Comfort
86
Style
84
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$29.98
Pros:

Fabric Upper

No Laces

Slip On/Off

Non-Slip Rubber Outsole

Cons:

Not as secure because it has no laces

Next we have a brand for you that almost everyone has heard of. The Nautica Fashion Sneaker is quickly becoming one of the most popular options for children as it offers a unique design that they find fun and matching to what they are wanting. With a comfortable design, parents can be assured that their child is safe when wearing these shoes. Let’s explore some of the product highlights, shall we?

Unlike traditional models, these have zero laces. Now, lace closures are typically preferred; however, however, in efforts to make wearing shoes easier and more comfortable, these are designed with a slip-on system. So, a child can easily put these on themselves without improperly tying them.

The biggest selling point is the actual design. In models what so many children are looking for as it’s bold, fun, and exciting look. This is attributed to the different embellishments and little patchworks located around the entire shoe.

6. Bella Marie Sparkle Heels

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
83
Bella Marie Sparkle Heels
Amazon Link
Materials
82
Brand
84
Durability
83
Comfort
85
Style
81
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$33.97
Pros:

Slip-Resistant Bottom

Slip-On Design

1.5" Heel

Wide Range Of Sizes

Cons:

Narrow Fit

These Bella Marie pumps look like something out of a fairytale, and we’re sure that your child will agree. The rhinestone accents Create beautiful swirls and designs on the outside of the shoe, while the 1.5” heel provides Both comfort and a polished, sophisticated look. These are great for more formal events, such as weddings.

Most children’s formal footwear comes with some sort of buckle closure or a tight fit that can make putting them on and taking them off a chore, especially for youngsters. These Bella Marie heels have a slip-on design with an open side, which both makes it easier to put on and take off, but also creates a unique asymmetrical look.

Heels can be tricky enough for kids to get the hang of, so a heel without a non-slip base is an embarrassing accident waiting to happen. For this reason, we believe that slip-resistant bottoms are practically obligatory for children’s footwear. This is why Bella Marie used a slip-resistant bottom for these pumps. This along with the short heel height makes them comfortable and safe to wear.

7. Gucci Coda Pop

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80.6
Gucci Coda Pop
Amazon Link
Materials
81
Brand
80
Durability
82
Comfort
81
Style
79
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$205.00
Pros:

Notable Brand

Flexible Sole Technology

Footbed is Padded

Multiple Color Options

Cons:

May be Uncomfortable

Sizing Issues

Next we have the Gucci Code Pop Sneaker. Now, this product most certainly poses an argument to be the best in the industry. This product boasts style and fashion alongside numerous innovations and features, making this a great choice. Let’s take a look at a few specific highlights of this shoe.

Let’s all be honest – after first looking at this shoe you are impressed by its sophisticated style and design. This is partially why so many parents are flocking to buy it for their children. It makes great foot apparel for family events, school, and other major related events.

It’s important to always assess the quality of the comfortable features of a shoe before buying it for a child. This specific item was constructed with a padded footbed in efforts to making walking more comfortable than other brands. Additionally, the sole is flexible, and the outsole is made from unique durable materials to withstand wear and tear.

8. Burberry Richardson Boot

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
79
Burberry Richardson Boot
Amazon Link
Materials
79
Brand
81
Durability
77
Comfort
78
Style
80
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Comfortable

Memory Foam

Adjustable Buckles

Support for Heel

Cons:

Runs Large

The market is full of different brands and shoes all competing for the throne. After countless research and evaluations, we realized that there is only room for one shoe up there and that’s Burberry Richiardson Boot. This product is great for children between 4-12 and is recognizable around the world.

When we started off evaluating this model, we were quite impressed by the different comfortability features infused in its design. Most notably, the manufacturer utilized memory foam in the footbed to help the child feel more comfort and less strain when walking for a long period of time.

One reason why so many people get blisters when wearing heels is that of the adjustable strap that manufacturers will use. Well, this brand has a higher-quality adjustable buckle, that is comfortable and non-bothersome. So, children can wear these shoes, adjust the tightness around the ankle, without feeling the itches or discomforts that other shoes may have.

9. Stuart Weitzman Baby Bud

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
76.4
Stuart Weitzman Baby Bud
Amazon Link
Materials
76
Brand
77
Durability
74
Comfort
78
Style
77
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$19.02
Pros:

Slip-On Design

Soft Insole

Large Flower Embellishment

Elastic Strap For Security

Cons:

Poor Traction

Stuart Weitzman is one of the world's most well-known designers, and we've featured his products in many of our buying guides. This time we're going to look at the Baby Bud ballet flat. This slip-on design is both comfortable and fun, with a padded interior and the large 3D flower on the vamp.

Featuring a simple yet timeless design, and an oversized flower on the vamp, the Baby Bud flats are probably some of the cutest shoes on our list. These are great for formal events such as weddings or church functions, or even just going out on the town with your child. The soft bottom and insole are comfortable enough to take your child from play time to nap time with ease.

When it comes to infant footwear, slip-on designs are usually the best. Infants are very wiggly, and not having to fuss with laces or buckles can make dressing them much easier. Slip-on shoes also easier to take off at the end of the day. An added elastic strap also ensures a secure fit no matter how much they move around.

10. Ralph Lauren Vaughn II

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
71.8
Ralph Lauren Vaughn II
Amazon Link
Materials
71
Brand
72
Durability
75
Comfort
71
Style
70
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$45.00
Pros:

Canvas Upper For Breathability

Padded Leather Collar

Wide Range Of Sizes & Colors

Textile Footbed

Cons:

Runs Small

Ralph Lauren is a man of many hats: philanthropist, antique car enthusiast, one of the top 100 richest people in the US. Though most of us know him as a designer. Invoking a classic and iconic style, the Vaughn II shoe will be the talk of the classroom and the playground.

An uncommon choice for canvas footwear, the Vaughn II’s padded leather collar is made with both style and comfort in mind. The padding adds extra cushioning in an area sometimes overlooked by shoemakers, while the contrasting leather gives them a smart look.

The footbed also called an insole, is one of the most important parts of a shoe. The insole is what makes direct contact with the bottom of your foot, and need to provide cushioning without being bulky. Foams are often the insole of choice for athletic shoes for their breathability factor, but in designer and fashion shoes, textile is commonly used. Textile insoles are lightweight and soft while providing ample cushioning for your child’s feet

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Materials

When it comes to shoes, it’s important that consumers pay very close attention to the materials that the brand uses. This is the best way to ensure that, one, the brand is actually the real brand and not a faux one. Additionally, the type of materials can really help to speak volumes as to whether or not the shoe is worth your money. If you are going to spending $100 on a shoe for a child, you better make sure it’s made from good leather or even good suede. When making this list today, this was a primary concern of us. So, as you look thru at each product, you can see that each product really features the best materials out there.

Brand

When it comes to designer culture – it’s vital, essential, nay, imperative to know who the brand is. You don’t want to spend money on a brand that you really don’t even know who they are, or if they are a legitimate company. What we have learned in doing this buying guide is that there are imitation brands out there that are charging the same costs for shoes in popular shoe styles and designs. With that being said, when we were picking out products for your consideration today, we wanted to make sure each name was well-known and an established icon in the industry. In fact, just by looking at the product list, most consumers can probably recognize the brand and what their logo is.

Durability

When purchasing a brand-name shoe for a child, it’s important to really look into the durability of the shoe. You don’t want a piece of footwear that looks cute and pretty; however, after your daughter or son plays some kickball or walks around in school, the outsole or fabric materials begin to wear, tear, or even scuff. Whatever the situation may be, the shoe needs to be durable to handle a child’s lifestyle. With that being said, we really wanted to make sure that whatever product we shared with you, the outsole was made of better rubber material than a traditional shoe. Reason being, the outsole is the part of the shoe that really holds everything together. If this wears, the rest of the shoe will fall apart.

Comfort

I think it’s safe to say that comfortability is another imperative aspect to consider when purchasing a shoe, whether for an adult or a child. With that being said, when we started this buying guide, we looked specifically for comfort features, such as adjustable straps and buckles, footbed, foams, padded heel pads, and even the insole quality. What we found was that many designers carefully make their shoes with comfort at the top of their minds. I guess it’s safe to say that you get what you pay for!

Style

At the end of the day, while the quality of the physical product makes a huge difference in whether or not to buy a shoe – we cannot deny that the design and appeal of the shoe are equally important. The truth is, when buying shoes like these, most consumers are looking for the logo, the brand’s signature trademarks, and a whole list of other things. So, as we looked at each product for children, we knew that parents would want to see products that were well-designed and boasted a nice appeal. As you can probably attest, each product on our list today most certainly rose to this standard.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Materials
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Brand
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Durability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
ico Comfort
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
ico Style
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
Designer Style For Kids

Every now and again, you'll find yourself and your family headed to fancier affairs, where having something for your child to wear that gives them a classy look is needed. Designer style does just that!
When picking out designer shoes for your child, make sure to get the proper fit that allows a bit of room in the toe, but something that also support their developing feet.

Caring For Kids Shoes

Designer shoes do require some upkeep to keep them looking good, especially for your child who may put them through quite a bit! Check the manufacturer's instructions for proper care, as each may be different.
In general, most footwear that is textile or canvas, can be cleaned with soap and water to remove dirt and stains. You can wipe down leather with a damp cloth, but use leather conditioner to keep them supple and rich looking.

Other Factors to Consider

Bottom Line

After spending the amount of time that we have looking at a wealth of different brand-name shoes for children, we can say that this market is easily one of the most popular and saturated markets in the industry. Reason being, more and more consumers are wanting to purchase footwear that will stand out from the rest. Now, the part that is challenging is that many brands are considering themselves “designer” when in reality, they are nowhere near the quality of a true one. In this, we created this buying guide to help you find the best products for your children that are 100% real and made from the best big brands around the world. Now, picking out brand-name shoes is not an easy task, which is why we needed to create a system for measuring and evaluating each product. So, before we even started looking for footwear, we wrote down a list of what were the most important facets of a high-quality shoe. Some of these aspects included the materials used to make it, the price tag, how durable it was, and even how it looked. All of these facets enabled us to highlight the very best in the market today. Below, we are going to share with you how we utilized each facet – and a bit more behind why it was important.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: How do you know if it's really the brand you're looking for?

a:

This is a great question. You don’t want to spend money on a brand or product that is not the actual brand, right? Well, to ease this worry, we can say that each product on our list today is from the actual brand. You can look at previous consumers and their reviews, pictures, and responses. With that being said, when you do receive the product in the mail before your child wears them around, be sure to read the label and verify the legitimacy of the maker.

q: How do you clean these shoes?

a:

This question is a little harder to answer as every single brand’s shoe is designed entirely differently. With that being said, if you are looking to wash your child’s shoes, take the time to read the product’s label or tag to see what the washing instructions may be. Typically, these companies will either have parents spot clean or do a simple, no-chemical wash in the washer with air drying it after.

q: Is there really a difference between a brand-name shoe and a regular shoe?

a:

If your children asked you for a Michael Kor’s sneaker and you are a little hesitant as to whether or not you should spend the money – consider this. Brand-name shoes are constructed and built differently than regular shoes. The models and molds for the shoes are different – and many of them, depending on the brand’s style, are actually hand-crafted. With that being said, they are also typically longer-lasting, if they are taken care of properly.

q: How long will designer shoes last?

a:

The life expectancy of any shoe will really depend upon the specific brand and the measures they take to create a long-lasting shoe. Additionally, it also depends on how much the shoe is used. If a kid uses a shoe every single day, the shoe will shoe wear and tear within the first couple of months. This is something to take into consideration when purchasing the shoe.