to top 10 table

Best Fabric Glues Reviewed to Create the DIY Shoes of Your Dreams

last updated Feb 12, 2019

In the past five to ten years, more and more people around the world are becoming invested in the idea of “DIY” projects, or do-it-yourself. For some, it’s a cost-friendly alternative than having to spend hundreds of dollars on brand-name products. At the same time, it’s a creative outlet for people that are seeking to explore or expand, what they thought was possible. I mean, some argue that it’s the creative geniuses that have brought some of the best inventions to society. Through creative acts, they were able to think outside the box and create things such as cars, cell phones, or even fabric glues!

In a Hurry? The test winner after 18 hrs of research

icon
Gorilla
94/100 our score
Durability
95
Effectiveness
88
Materials
98
Speed
91
Value
98
Gorilla
Why is it better?

Industry leading brand

Gel formula

Impact resistant

Very versatile

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Gorilla
Test Winner: Gorilla
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
16
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
2,600
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
18
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
16
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
Kris Kierstead-Lewis
By Kris Kierstead-Lewis:

We've made a lot of changes in this most recent update, including a new product, the Gorilla Glue Sticks. We've also revamped the guide's format and added a scoring system to show how the products perform against one another.

Sorting Options
Durability Effectiveness Materials Speed Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94
Durability
95 %
Effectiveness
88 %
Materials
98 %
Speed
91 %
Value
98 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.07.19)
Amazon Link
$2.99
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.8
Durability
98 %
Effectiveness
97 %
Materials
92 %
Speed
76 %
Value
86 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.07.19)
Amazon Link
$7.97
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.2
Durability
80 %
Effectiveness
91 %
Materials
83 %
Speed
97 %
Value
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.07.19)
Amazon Link
$9.41
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.4
Durability
89 %
Effectiveness
94 %
Materials
95 %
Speed
82 %
Value
77 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.07.19)
Amazon Link
$7.00
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.2
Durability
86 %
Effectiveness
88 %
Materials
89 %
Speed
79 %
Value
89 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.07.19)
Amazon Link
$10.97
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.6
Durability
92 %
Effectiveness
91 %
Materials
80 %
Speed
94 %
Value
71 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.07.19)
Amazon Link
$6.88
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82.6
Durability
83 %
Effectiveness
88 %
Materials
86 %
Speed
73 %
Value
83 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.07.19)
Amazon Link
$6.45
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82
Durability
77 %
Effectiveness
94 %
Materials
77 %
Speed
88 %
Value
74 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.07.19)
Amazon Link
$13.32
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81.4
Durability
74 %
Effectiveness
97 %
Materials
74 %
Speed
70 %
Value
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.07.19)
Amazon Link
$7.84
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
79
Durability
71 %
Effectiveness
88 %
Materials
71 %
Speed
85 %
Value
80 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.07.19)
Amazon Link
$5.48
In Depth Review Top 10
  • Gorilla Gorilla
  • Gorilla Glue Sticks Gorilla Glue Sticks
  • Beacon Fabri Tac Beacon Fabri Tac
  • Delta Creative Sobo Premium Delta Creative Sobo Premium
  • Supplies Supplies
  • E6000 E6000
  • Loctite Loctite
  • Roxanne Baste It Roxanne Baste It
  • Aleene’s Tacky Aleene’s Tacky
  • Fons and Porter Fons and Porter
Table of contents
  • Criteria Used for Evaluation
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Sources

Top 10 Picks

1. Gorilla

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94
Gorilla
Amazon Link
Durability
95
Effectiveness
88
Materials
98
Speed
91
Value
98
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$2.99
Pros:

Industry leading brand

Gel formula

Impact resistant

Very versatile

Cons:

Smelly

May touch fingers

If there is one brand in today’s buying guide that most consumers have heard of, chances are, its this one. Gorilla has made a name for itself, not as an animal, but one of the best makers of adhesives. If you are looking for a product to hold two pieces of material together at near gorilla strength, it’s this product right here!

Read more

No Running
One of the biggest complaints of fabric glues is that they are runny or messy. In efforts to combat this problem, the manufacturer created a formula that is considered “No-Run”. So, whether you need to use the product vertically, you don’t need to fear whether or not the gel will slide or fall off.

Fast Setting
It’s safe to say that one reason why consumers love this brand is that it's fast setting. Within 10 seconds, consumers will find that the glue bonded together two different surfaces or materials. In this, it’s heavily advised to be careful to not allow the glue to touch your hands.

Cost and Value
Let’s talk about the price tag for this “monkey” of a product, shall we? Now, given that it’s a name brand, we can probably all assume that this is one of the more expensive products. Well, to the surprise of us, this product is actually one of the cheapest! For a fraction of a cost of the number 1 product, although much smaller – consumers can snag this top-of-the-line product.

2. Gorilla Glue Sticks

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.8
Gorilla Glue Sticks
Amazon Link
Durability
98
Effectiveness
97
Materials
92
Speed
76
Value
86
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$7.97
Pros:

Convenient

Easy To Use

Durable Hold

Dries Clear

Cons:

Dries Slowly

Glue sticks aren’t just for school projects anymore. In fact, my mother is an avid crafter and she swears by them. They’re often more precise and easier to use and aren’t as messy. These stick from Gorilla are made to be used in a hot glue gun, so do be careful when using them.

Read more

Gorilla Strength

“Gorilla Glue” is one of those things like “Google” and “Band-Aid” where a specific brand name becomes a colloquial term for something. This can happen when a brand becomes very well-known. In the case of Gorilla Glue, it’s best known for its strength. Gorilla Glue provides incredibly longevity, so a little glue will go a long way.

Convenience

Glue can be messy, there’s no denying that. Cleaning it up is a breeze when it’s still wet, but once it dries it becomes much more difficult to deal with. It can also be difficult to get it precisely without a brush or some sort of applicator, and even then it can be troublesome if you use too much or too little. This is where glue sticks and hot glue guns come in handy. There is some prep time as you have to wait for the gun to properly heat up, but this is an acceptable trade-off for ease of use.

Cost and Value

Coming in at less than $0.20 per stick ($5.97, 30ct) these are surprisingly inexpensive, even given the brand name. However glue sticks don’t typically last as long as a regular bottle of glue, and hot glue sticks have a tendency to get stringy if not at the correct temperature. These are a great choice for repairs that require more precision, Or someone who likes the convenience of glue guns, like my mother.

3. Beacon Fabri Tac

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.2
Beacon Fabri Tac
Amazon Link
Durability
80
Effectiveness
91
Materials
83
Speed
97
Value
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$9.41
Pros:

Comes in packs

Fast drying technology

Very versatile

Flexible adhesive

Cons:

May lose grip

Bubbles and overflows

When it comes to crafting a pair of DIY shoes, it’s imperative to have a quality adhesive. If you are looking for the single best product and brand in the game, you need to look at the Beacon Fabri-Tac Permanent Adhesive. Hands down, this product offers one of the best formulas for holding together an assortment of different materials, making it a feasible choice for just about anyone.

Read more

Fast-Dry Technology
If you are looking for a product that dries incredibly fast, allowing you to complete your DIY project in a day – this is the choice for you. In fact, on our list today, it has been said by dozens of consumers that this product is easily the fastest when it comes to setting.

Multi-Surfaces
Are you looking to add an assortment of different materials or fun supplies to your footwear? If so, you need a product that works and bonds with multiple different types of materials. Luckily, this brand constructed their formula to work with all major surfaces, including lace, leather, and wood.

Cost and Value
This product holds the first-place spot on our buying guide with strength. It also holds the highest-price point as well – as much as double the second-place product. With that being said, it also has the strongest and most effective formula that we are going to share today. Investing in this product is an investment in your DIY project and the assurance that your decorated shoes will last for quite some time.

4. Delta Creative Sobo Premium

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.4
Delta Creative Sobo Premium
Amazon Link
Durability
89
Effectiveness
94
Materials
95
Speed
82
Value
77
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$7.00
Pros:

Dries clear

Non-washable

Good for decorating

Permanent strength

Cons:

Runny

This item, as the name implies, is a high-quality premium formula that is truly designed for everyday DIY crafts, such as decorating shoes. Whether you are looking to use jewels, sequins, or any other type of material, this product can prove to be beneficial.

Read more

Clear & Flexible
What really helps to push this product towards the top of our list is it’s clear and flexible nature. Once this product is applied to a surface, it will actually dry clear, unlike many others which happen to try yellow. Also, once dry, the product still maintains a level of flexibility.

Permanent
If you noticed in today’s buying guide, there are two different types of formulas, permanent and temporary. This specific formula was designed to last for the lifetime of your footwear. All you need to do is carefully squeeze out the formula, hold the jewelry or décor next to the footwear and the brand’s engineering will do the rest!

Cost and Value
So, you might be wondering: how much does this premium product sell for? Well, to our surprise as well, it’s quite affordable. In fact, it’s relative in cost to a few of the top choices on today’s list. If you are looking for some fabric glues that can help take your footwear to the next level, this may just be the one for you!

5. Supplies

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.2
Supplies
Amazon Link
Durability
86
Effectiveness
88
Materials
89
Speed
79
Value
89
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$10.97
Pros:

Good for crafting

Bonds well

Easy to use

No-Mess design

Cons:

May be runny

Long to dry

Supplies is one of the most favorable products available today. It could be attributed to its simple silicone formula or it’s unique ability to truly bond with nearly any material or surface. Whatever it may be, this product is worthy of just about any hobbyists’ attention.

Read more

Bonds with All Surfaces
No matter the type of material that you want to use for your shoe-designing process, this brand will bond with nearly all surfaces. In fact, whether you are using wood, metal, ceramic, vinyl, jewelry, leather, floral, or even plastic – this formula can help make the magic happen!

Easy to Hold and Use
Unlike many other brands or bottles, this manufacturer sought to make designing easy. With an easy to hold design, consumers can effortlessly create a masterpiece without any fear of clogging, messes, or a discolored footwear.

Cost and Value
When it comes to the price tag, this item is actually a bit higher than many other choices that we have shared today. This really is a great choice for the consumer that is seeking a DIY-dedicated glue. This was designed to handle all arts and crafts projects, including the use of floral accessories and even jewelry beads.

6. E6000

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.6
E6000
Amazon Link
Durability
92
Effectiveness
91
Materials
80
Speed
94
Value
71
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$6.88
Pros:

3 precision tips

Versatile

Quick dry

Safe to wash

Cons:

Messy

May clog

This product has risen to such heights, thanks to its precise tips, providing consumers with the ability to really target an area when gluing. With a high-quality formula, different packages, and a low price tag, you can’t pass this one up!

Read more

Multiple Bonds
For us, what we particularly enjoy is that this product has the ability to bond to nearly any type of surface. Whether it be fabric, plastic, rubber, or even wood – this product can make magic happen. This is a great benefit for those who have different or unique footwear – or perhaps want to make their footwear creative and unique.

Dries Clear
Have you ever used a glue before that, after use and drying, it turned a different color? This can be a huge letdown, especially when you are decorating something like footwear. Well, this brand created a formula that, when drying, it actually appears clear. In this, consumers can paint over the glue and even wash or dry a pair of shoes with the glue on it.

Cost and Value
You might be surprised to learn that this brand and product is the cheapest on our list today. When we evaluated this product, we were taken aback by this amazing deal. Reason being, the formula that this brand created is considered one of the best in the industry. With such a versatile nature, quick-dry technology, and the ability to be paintable or washable – you really can’t beat it!

7. Loctite

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82.6
Loctite
Amazon Link
Durability
83
Effectiveness
88
Materials
86
Speed
73
Value
83
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$6.45
Pros:

Dries fast

Very strong

Great at bonding

Secure and safe

Cons:

Can be costly

This item has received praise from a wealth of consumers thanks to its ability to provide results in one of the fastest times on today’s list. If you need a quick-drying product from a reputable brand, here you are!

Read more

Quick Drying
Given the nature and purpose of these products, one of the things that we looked at was how fast the actual formula dried and bonded two different materials. In comparison to many other brands and choices, this is easily one of the fastest choices out there. In fact, as far as quick-drying goes, this is in the top 3.

Mends and Crafts
Whether you are looking to perform some extensive DIY project or mend a broken footwear – this item can rise to the occasion. Many people who have tried this product proclaim it’s strength and adhesive properties. If you are looking for a top-notch brand for your next project, here you go!

Cost and Value
On today's’ buying guide, this product is considered one of the pricier choices. Now, this does come with a reason. For one, this brand is very popular in the industry, and numerous consumers tout the maker. Additionally, the formula of this product is just so powerful and strong! Did we mention that it dries fast too? It’s a combination you can’t pass up!

8. Roxanne Baste It

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82
Roxanne Baste It
Amazon Link
Durability
77
Effectiveness
94
Materials
77
Speed
88
Value
74
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$13.32
Pros:

Water soluble formula

Holds firm

Dries fast

Durable

Cons:

Not user-friendly

Messy

Are you looking for a formula that will truly hold together your DIY project without faltering after one use? Are you looking for a brand that is dedicated to their audience and their product? Better yet, are you looking for a product that is clean and simple to use? Well, Roxanne Baste It is all of this – and more!

Read more

Water-Soluble Formula
The biggest selling feature of this product is the fact that the brand created their applique to be water-soluble. In this, once you hold the fabric or jewels together with the glue and footwear, you can be guaranteed that it will stick there for many months.

Dries Fast
To ensure that your DIY project stays together, this brand created a formula that dries relatively quickly. While it may not be able to compare to the first two products on our list, it’s effective and can prove very beneficial and long-lasting.

Cost and Value
When it comes to comparing the cost of this item with others on our list, we can say that this is price slightly above much of the competition. Now, this increase of price can be directly attributed to the quality of the formula itself. In addition to this, consumers should also consider the side of the bottle they are getting. When it comes to decorating footwear, the 2-ounce size will be ample – and work wonders.

9. Aleene’s Tacky

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81.4
Aleene’s Tacky
Amazon Link
Durability
74
Effectiveness
97
Materials
74
Speed
70
Value
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$7.84
Pros:

Many sizing options

Safe

Very adhesive

Tacky formula

Cons:

Not waterproof

Lacks strength

In this field, there are so many different brands and formulas, which can make it challenging for consumers to pick the best one. However, there is one company in particular that makes the decision process very simple: Aleene’s. With the creation of the Original Tacky, consumers seeking to perform some DIY work with their shoes will be incredibly pleased.

Read more

Great Formula
Hands down, this product has one of the best formulas on our list today. The company designed this to be tacky, which helps create a stronger bond on contact. Once dry, it will create a permanent bond with another material or surface. The best part, it dries clear and it’s easy to clean.

Nontoxic
For the first time on our list, we have a product that a brand markets as nontoxic. For us, this was a huge plus because, as we all know, these products can be smelly. With a minimal odor, this item is safe to use for footwear projects, children’s’ crafts, and so much more!

Cost and Value
If you are familiar with this brand, you might be a bit surprised to hear that a 3 pack of this product is very cheap. With one of the best formulas in the game, this product boasts a wealth of value, pushing this product closer and closer to the top 5. If you are looking for the original tacky-formulated glue. This is for you.

10. Fons and Porter

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
79
Fons and Porter
Amazon Link
Durability
71
Effectiveness
88
Materials
71
Speed
85
Value
80
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$5.48
Pros:

Slim design

Very useful

Strong glue

Can be refilled

Cons:

Lacks durability

Lacks quantity

For the first time on today’s buying guide, we have a brand and product that is different, innovative, and worth every single penny. Are you ready for this? Rather than your typical product with a cap and bottle– this is a simple marker. The best part about this product is that it’s proclaimed to be more effective than most glues on the market today! Let’s take a look.

Read more

Marker Style
What is capturing the attention of consumers is the fact that this is actually a marker, rather than a tube. The manufacturer designed the marker to be skinny and narrow, making it easy to hold – but also easier to perform DIY projects with smaller items. If that sounds like something you are interested in, this is for you.

Can Be Refilled
Since this is a marker, after numerous uses, it will eventually run out of the formula. However, after you use this once, you won’t want to try another product, which is why the brand offers refills. So, rather than continuously purchasing the product, all you need is a refill, which can be even cheaper than the product itself.

Cost and Value
For a marker, this product is not priced too high. In fact, if you get the opportunity to try this item out, you might be surprised how powerful and strong it really is. When we say that this product is in the top 10 of the game, we are not kidding! This brand is a great fit for the consumer seeking to work with small jewelry pieces, beads, or anything of the sort.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Durability

If we can all be honest, no one wants to do a DIY project with their footwear where, after a few strides outside, your décor falls apart because of a faulty formula. Having a highly durable product is important! This is why we really focused on top-of-the-line brands and formula. What we learned during our research is that many of the company that is charging a cheaper price tag as using “cheaper” adhesive properties or materials. In other words, the idea of “what you pay for is what you get” is true for this market.

Effectiveness

As a responsible consumer, there are a few different ways that you can ensure what you are purchasing is the real deal. One of the best and most effective ways to learn a lot about a product is through scanning the consumer reviews. Now, before you are quick to say, “I know that!”, hear this out! The thing is, while many of us do inquire and read some consumer reviews, we often do so the wrong way.

Have you ever found a product that you were interested in and jumped straight to the 1-star or 5-star reviews? In there, you formulate your opinion and either purchase or ignore the item? Many of us are guilty of this type of mentality; however, what you need to know is that many of those reviews are biased. To weed through many of these falsities, it’s important to focus on 2, 3, or 4-star reviews. Here, consumers will provide more truth and consistent feedback on a brand or product.

When it came to today’s buying guide, this is precisely what we did to ensure that we provided the most accurate and up-to-date information.

Materials

The single most important aspect of picking out the best item for today’s list is the materials and the formula. This is where brands can truly differentiate themselves – and it speaks volumes about the quality and capabilities of the product.

Now, upon doing research, we discovered that the single most important ingredient is Cyanoacrylates. This is actually a highly advanced compound that is used in very fast-drying adhesive products. In other words, super glues!

So, as we were coming up with our list for today, we ensured that any product that we shared today included some variation of this compound. In addition to its fast-drying properties, it’s also excellent at bonding together two surfaces and keeping them connected. Other aspects that we looked out for in the formula is:

  • Waterproof properties
  • Water-resistant properties
  • Clear-drying
  • Paintable
  • Speed

    One of the biggest selling factors of these types of goods is how fast they dry. As you may have guessed, many brands compete on the ideology of being the fastest drying product. Reason being, we live in a culture where consumers want things quickly. If they have to wait an extra minute, they would rather pick a product that is a minute quicker.

    Now, as we have discovered through research, many of these claims from manufacturers are not true. Previous customers have provided great insight regarding their personal experiences, showing that drying-time is not as accurate as brands market. With this, we carefully evaluated each product that made our list to ensure that it offered an accurate and precise drying time.

    Value

    As much as we don’t want to say it’s about the money – it really is. When it comes to purchasing a product or good, we care about how much we are spending. With that being said, understanding the price tag and what it represents can really help a consumer understand where a brand is coming from and whether or not their product is worth their dollars.

    Now, before we begin any buying guide, we pay very close attention to what companies are charging for their products. We scanned through dozens of different items and notated the highest priced items and the lowest priced ones. This helped us created a better and larger scope of the market and what products should be priced at.

    To be responsible and ensure you are getting the best bang for your buck, it’s important to do the same thing, no matter what you are interested in buying. As we looked at each product, we assessed the product based on this price tag and how much value it offered. We asked ourselves questions like:

  • How much value does this product offer consumers?
  • Is the price tag higher than the average market price or lower?
  • Does the price match the value being offered?
  • Is this a good deal or a bad deal?
  • Expert Interviews & Opinions

    Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
    Sort criterias acording to:
    Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
    Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
    #1
    ico Durability
    Rate This Criteria as Most Important
    #2
    ico Effectiveness
    Rate This Criteria as Most Important
    #3
    ico Materials
    Rate This Criteria as Most Important
    #4
    ico Speed
    Rate This Criteria as Most Important
    #5
    ico Value
    Rate This Criteria as Most Important
    expert tips icon
    Bring New Life To Shoes

    Fabric glues can help you bring an old pair of shoes to new life. Add embellishments like glitter, rhinestones, spikes, or whatever your heart desires for a new brilliant look!

    Glue Tips

    While each fabric glue does have it's own instructions for application and time to dry, adding a bit of pressure to keep items in place while they dry will ensure a firm fit and placement. You can use books, dish plates, even just magazines to add a bit of weight to your newly glued items.

    Frequently Asked Questions

    q: Can the glue or surfaces get wet and still stay together?

    a:

    In truth, this will depend entirely on the formula and the way that the manufacturer designed their product. Typically, most of these products are designed with either waterproof or water-resistant properties. Formulas that contain waterproof properties simply means that the surfaces can get wet and the formula will still hold everything together. Now, if something is water-resistant, it will not fair as well and is subject to falling apart should it get wet.

    q: How do you apply fabric glue so the materials stick?

    a:

    Every single bottle and formula is different. So, the way that you would apply Gorilla or Beacon will be different. However, what does remain consistent is that consumers need to apply with caution. Start by reading the instructions on the label. Most brands will require that the user carefully applies a limited amount of the formula onto the target location and slowly spread it around in an area. This helps to reduce the risk of dripping or running.

    q: What do you do if you get glue on your fingers?

    a:

    This type of product can be very challenging, and painful, to remove from the hands if you are not careful. These are carefully designed to bond surfaces together permanently. So, to remove it, it’s important to address the situation as soon as you can. Start by placing the targeted finger under warm water with soap. This should start to help provide some relief and weaken the bond. If this does not fully remove it, go straight to acetone, or nail polish remover. Now, warning, this can cause some degree of irritation and may even dry out the area.

    Additionally, if you have a cut on the finger, it’s best not to use acetone. After applying a mild amount of acetone, the formula will quickly start to weaken and be able to peel off. It has been said numerous times to AVOID using cotton swabs during this process. This can lead to a very dangerous situation, resulting in spontaneous combustion. If you are noticing that it’s still challenging to remove, after the acetone has been placed onto it, in due time, it should turn white and fall off on its own.

    q: How long will fabric glue hold or bond materials together?

    a:

    This will depend entirely on the formula. As we have explored in today’s buying guide, there are two different types of products: temporary and permanent. Typically, those that are designed for temporary use can last between 6 months to a year, depending on the quality of the brand the materials. Evidently, those that are designed for permanent use are meant to last a lifetime.