to top 6 table

Best Punk Rock Shoes – 2021 Reviews

last updated: Apr 25, 2021

Whether it’s a concert, a local event, or even just a regular day of picking out an outfit, we all know that one of the most important accessories is your shoes. Without a pair of matching boots or shoes, it can throw off the entire outfit – or be the greatest compliment.

With that being said, if you are in the market for a pair of punk boots, you already understand the need and importance of finding the perfect footwear. This market is packed with options and different brands that have created different boot styles, marketed as “punk”, in efforts to capture your attention.

We picked 6 models that our reviewers find to be among the best n 2021.

Our Editor's Favorite Pick:

icon
Dr. Martens 1460
95.2/100 our score
Materials
95
Effectiveness
95
Midsole
95
Outsole
95
Value
96
Dr. Martens 1460
Why is it better?

Quality outsole

AirWair sole

Easy to clean

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Dr. Martens 1460
Test Winner: Dr. Martens 1460
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
18
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
14,000
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
100
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
20
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Materials Effectiveness Midsole Outsole Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.2
Materials
95 %
Effectiveness
95 %
Midsole
95 %
Outsole
95 %
Value
96 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (26.07.21)
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.8
Materials
94 %
Effectiveness
93 %
Midsole
94 %
Outsole
94 %
Value
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (26.07.21)
Amazon Link
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.4
Materials
92 %
Effectiveness
93 %
Midsole
93 %
Outsole
92 %
Value
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (26.07.21)
Amazon Link
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.6
Materials
92 %
Effectiveness
92 %
Midsole
91 %
Outsole
92 %
Value
91 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (26.07.21)
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.8
Materials
90 %
Effectiveness
90 %
Midsole
89 %
Outsole
90 %
Value
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (26.07.21)
Amazon Link
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.4
Materials
88 %
Effectiveness
89 %
Midsole
89 %
Outsole
88 %
Value
88 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (26.07.21)

Top 6 Punk Rock Boots

1. Dr. Martens 1460

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.2
Dr. Martens 1460 8 Eye Boot
Dr. Martens 1460 8 Eye Boot
Dr. Martens 1460 8 Eye Boot
Amazon Link
Materials
95
Effectiveness
95
Midsole
95
Outsole
95
Value
96
best offer for today
more shops
Pros:

Quality outsole

AirWair sole

Easy to clean

Cons:

Bulky

Unique sizes

When it comes to the pinnacle of the punk boot shoe market – it’s without question that the Dr. Martens 1460 Combat Boots takes the title and the throne. These punk rock boots are made from leather, offering consumers the most fashionable and stylish design. If you are looking for a heavy-duty boot, this is the choice for you.

Great Design
The thing with these punk shoes is that they're just such a great design. First, the entire boot is made from high-quality leather material. It features an 8-lacing system, offering consumers a more snug and comfortable fit. Additionally, the outsole is made from PVC materials, which is durable, high-quality, and can resist wear and tear.

AirWair Sole
The biggest selling feature is an innovation called AirWair. This is built into the sole of the shoe, giving the consumer the most comfortable and controlled experience in the industry.

Cost and Value
This item is the single most expensive product on our list today. However, at the same time, it’s the single most valuable choice that you can make.

2. Shenn

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.8
Shenn Women's Round Toe Mid Calf Punk Military Combat Boots
Shenn Women's Round Toe Mid Calf Punk Military Combat Boots
Shenn Women's Round Toe Mid Calf Punk Military Combat Boots
Amazon Link
Materials
94
Effectiveness
93
Midsole
94
Outsole
94
Value
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Skid-free

TPR outsole

Leather

Cons:

Unique sizing

Low quality interior

This option boasts a unique and high-quality design, a crazy-powerful outsole, and three different colors that might have you wanting more than just one pair.

Strong Outsole
If you look at the picture of this boot, one of the most noticeable aspects is the thick rubber material found at the bottom of the shoe or the outsole. The outsole is made from rubber- not only is it skid-resistant, but it also has some nice shock-absorbing features.

Great Design
One of the biggest selling features is the overall appeal and design. You can pick from three different colors, all of which are made from split leather materials, have a quality lacing system, and include studs towards the top of the boot.

Cost and Value
This punk boot is one of the cheapest on our list today.

3. Top Moda Pack-72

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.4
Top Moda Pack-72 punk combat boots
Top Moda Pack-72 punk combat boots
Amazon Link
Materials
92
Effectiveness
93
Midsole
93
Outsole
92
Value
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Two choices

Stylish and fashionable

Comfortable by nature

True punk boot

Cons:

Size is off

Stiff

This option is stylish, fashionable, and it’s fun to wear. For those of you who are looking for a traditional punk boot, this is the right pick for you!

Fashionable and Stylish
The biggest selling point of this punk shoe is the design. It models the traditional punk boot. It features the two straps on the back of the boot, a stylish zipper on the front, and the mid-calf length design.

Comfortable
When purchasing a punk combat boot, it’s important to make sure that it’s going to be comfortable. This option is designed with some good features which can be found in the outsole and the insole of the shoe.

Cost and Value
Very budget friendly!

4. Dr. Martens Pascal

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.6
Dr. Martens Pascal punk rock boot
Dr. Martens Pascal punk rock boot
Dr. Martens Pascal punk rock boot
Amazon Link
Materials
92
Effectiveness
92
Midsole
91
Outsole
92
Value
91
best offer for today
more shops
Pros:

color options

Leather

Name brand

Cons:

Pricey

Wait – another Dr. Martens’ boot? That’s right - this option has some unique innovations and features that might just capture your attention.

So Many Designs!
The brand created over 30 different color variations of this punk boot, giving consumers full customization. So, whether you want pink, red, black, white, or multi-color, there is the color for you!

Quality Soles
You can expect quality in the soles of the shoe. The outsole is made of high-quality rubber that is both resistant to abrasions and slipping. Additionally, the upper and midsole are sewn together, rather than glued.

Cost and Value
This is certainly a pricey option BUT, it's worth every penny.

5. Volatile

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.8
Volatile Boot Camp punk combat boots
Volatile Boot Camp punk combat boots
Volatile Boot Camp punk combat boots
Amazon Link
Materials
90
Effectiveness
90
Midsole
89
Outsole
90
Value
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Vegan leather

Stylish

Lycra materials

Heavy-duty

Cons:

Boxy

Glued not sewn

This option is arguably one of the most stylish – and most popular models we found! Its knee-high design and heavy-duty appearance make it a must have.

Lycra Lining
The interior part of this boot is lined with Lycra material. This not only makes the boot incredibly stretchy and flexible – it’s great for moisture-wicking and breathability.

Heavy-Duty
We value products that are durable and that can withstand wear and tear. This model has a heavy-lug outsole, includes a padded interior footbed and insole, and made from durable exterior materials.

Cost and Value
What really sets this boot aside is how it’s designed, the unique Lycra interior, and its durable outsole. And all of this for a super affordable price.

6. Diesel Tatradium Basket

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.4
Diesel Men's Tatradium Basket Butch Zip Boot
Diesel Men's Tatradium Basket Butch Zip Boot
Diesel Men's Tatradium Basket Butch Zip Boot
Amazon Link
Materials
88
Effectiveness
89
Midsole
89
Outsole
88
Value
88
best offer for today
more shops
Pros:

Includes leather upper

Durable outsole

Cushioned and padded

Two designs

Cons:

Color may vary from what you see in the pics

This model boasts similar qualities as the Dr. Martens; however, this one has some unique features that you might not be expecting.

Cushioned
We all know that boots may not always be the most comfortable footwear – especially when the brand provides no cushioning or padding. Now, this punk shoe brand is quite iconic, and they understand how to design footwear. The footbed is made from cushioned and padded materials, offering consumers a comfortable walking experience.

Rubber Outsole
The outsole is made from durable rubber materials. This ensures that you're in-control and stable while walking.

Cost and Value
This item is really an investment for consumers that are seeking the absolute best of the best. If you are willing to spend the money – this shoe will not disappoint.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Materials

One of the best ways to assess any shoe is based on the materials that a shoemaker uses. In the industry, there are so many different materials that a company can use, it’s quite crazy! For example, manufacturers can use any of the following materials:

Leather
Suede
Polyester
Rubber
Plastic
Wood
Fabric
Textile
Canvas

That’s just naming a few of the most common materials! As we evaluated each product, we carefully looked at the different materials that the manufacturer used and highlighted those that were made from the best materials, like leather.

The reason being, leather boots are typically the highest-quality as they are the most comfortable, durable, stable, and best for fitting.

If you are ever wanting to learn about the quality of the materials of a product, always look at the consumer reviews. Since this is a pertinent aspect, most people are discussing their thoughts on this standard.

Effectiveness

Have you ever purchased a pair of shoes before, hoping that you could wear it everywhere? I mean, chances are, we are all guilty. Sometimes, the design of the shoe is just too good – outvaluing the actual importance of the shoe: the functionality and usability. When it comes to Punk Boots, we knew that many of the products that are marketed today suit better as holiday consume accessories rather than everyday wear.

Our goal with the criteria and standards was to separate these products and only focus on those that were designed to handle everyday walking. To do this, we carefully analyzed and research each boot based on how usable it really was.

Could someone walk around nature with this product?
Could someone walk around from class to class with these?
Could the product withstand daily walking?

By answering questions from the like above, we were able to narrow down our list even more.

Midsole

Whenever it comes to picking out a pair of shoes or boots, one of the most important aspects that we need to look at is something called the midsole. Typically, consumers do pay close attention to the midsole; however, they don’t know the terminology that shoe gurus often use.

The midsole is considered the middle part of the interior of the shoe. This region is known to provide the support, cushioning, padding, and comfort that consumers are looking for when trying on a shoe.

Now, in standard shoes, companies use different padding, like EVA foam, thanks to its durable yet comforting properties. When it comes to Punk Boots, we noticed that not many brands in the industry focused on the midsole of their product. With that, we were slightly concerned that certain boots would not be comfortable, or valid enough at the point, for our list. We studied each boot, look at the midsole and insole region, and even looked at consumer reviews to see what previous consumers have said regarding the comfort of the product.

After researching and really skimming through the market, we found the best items, all which come with a comfortable midsole (and insole) so that consumers can enjoy their new product without fear of their feet hurting after an hour of wearing them.

Outsole

Ah, the outsole. This is part of the footwear that holds it all together! As the name might imply, this is the sole of the shoe that can be found on the outside of the shoe. If you didn’t guess it already, it’s actually the bottom part any footwear and they are typically made or constructed from:

Natural Rubber
Carbon Rubber
Polyvinyl Chloride
Polyurethane

The reason behind this is that rubber and PVC are great for durability, but they are also great for wear and tear. With that being said, given that this market is all about boots, we knew going in that these brands most certainly invested some time and money into the development of this region.

What we found was that most outsoles on this list included some form of patented properties, including unique lugs, traction features, waterproof properties, and so much more. When picking out any product, these are important facets to take into consideration!

Value

The last criterion that we looked at when picking out each product for today’s buying guide was the cost and value relationship. At the core, this principle is the ideology of looking at the price tag of a product and measuring whether or not it’s a good price, given the amount of value that the product offers.

Now, to figure this out, there are a few different things that we, as consumers, need to do. This does take a few extra minutes; however, it can pay off in the long run! The reason being, through understanding this relationship, you can avoid making a bad purchase!

Here’s how it works:

✓ Look at a wide variety of different products that you are looking for. For example, punk boots.
✓ Find the highest priced and lowest priced product to create an average for the industry.
✓ Assess a wide variety of products and look at the value that they offer.
✓ Look at the price tag and evaluate whether or not the value that the product offers is worth the price, considering the average price point from step 2.
✓ If the product is priced higher than the value, it’s not worth considering.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Materials
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Effectiveness
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Midsole
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
ico Outsole
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
ico Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
Punk Fashion

Over the years, the style of punk has evolved, from tight black jeans leather jackets, boots and a white T onto more colorful and expressive combinations. Bold patterns like plaid, or cherries, along with fishnets or baggy jeans paired with boots is another option. It's up to your unique punk style how you want to tailor your look.

Get Inspired!

Most of punk style and fashion came from thrift stores across the areas, where you can mix and match clothing to get a unique look without breaking the bank. From everyday items like jeans or t-shirts, to cocktail dresses used once, and tossed up for sale. Get inspired, and hit the local shop near you to see if you can score a few items for your punk look.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Are punk boots naturally waterproof?

a:

No. No shoe wear is ever naturally waterproof unless it’s mentioned by the manufacturer.

q: How do you know if the punk rock boot is made of real leather?

a:

Great question! Today, so many brands market their products as leather; however, as we all know, there are varying degrees and styles of leather. If you are curious to know if anything is ever leather, read the tags and labels that come with the product. If you do not see the mentioning of the word “leather”, chances are, it’s synthetic.

q: Can you use punk boots for regular hiking?

a:

The truth is these shoes have a nice, durable outsole, which is typically great for hiking. Do note though – these products are naturally heavy and lack ventilation, which is often found in most hiking shoes.

q: How can I ensure I get the right size?

a:

To purchase the right size, you need to take a few measures. For one, since there is no such thing as “true to size” as every single brand makes their shoe differently. So, it’s important to read the sizing chart from each brand.

Additionally, don’t assume that the size on their chart is the optimal choice. Take the extra time to read the product reviews and see what past consumers have said regarding their experience.