to top 10 table

Best Nail Polish for Home Pedicures Reviewed

last updated Mar 11, 2019

Do you know the color that has long been known as a sign of wealth? Red! Yes, red used to be known as one of the wealthiest color choices among aristocrats in ancient history. Now, red is known as one of the most common choices for everything from kitchen decor to fashion accessories. With that said, if you want a classic and beautiful red color choice for nail polish, why pay hundreds for a professional pedicure done when you can have the same effect from the comfort of your own home?

In a Hurry? The test winner after 19 hrs of research

icon
ILNP Juliette Holographic
93.4/100 our score
Materials
94
Durability
96
Color
95
Value
90
Brand
92
ILNP Juliette Holographic
Why is it better?

High-Quality Formula

Professional Looking

Long-Lasting

Multiple Metallic Options

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
ILNP Juliette Holographic
Test Winner: ILNP Juliette Holographic
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
16
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
1200
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
19
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
20
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Materials Durability Color Value Brand By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.4
Materials
94 %
Durability
96 %
Color
95 %
Value
90 %
Brand
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.07.19)
Amazon Link
$10.00
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.6
Materials
94 %
Durability
93 %
Color
94 %
Value
92 %
Brand
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.07.19)
Amazon Link
$9.49
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89
Materials
90 %
Durability
93 %
Color
85 %
Value
88 %
Brand
89 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.07.19)
Amazon Link
$7.74
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.2
Materials
87 %
Durability
90 %
Color
89 %
Value
85 %
Brand
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.07.19)
Amazon Link
$10.50
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88
Materials
90 %
Durability
84 %
Color
85 %
Value
90 %
Brand
91 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.07.19)
Amazon Link
$9.00
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85
Materials
85 %
Durability
83 %
Color
84 %
Value
83 %
Brand
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.07.19)
Amazon Link
$10.00
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.6
Materials
84 %
Durability
87 %
Color
85 %
Value
83 %
Brand
84 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.07.19)
Amazon Link
$9.99
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
83.2
Materials
83 %
Durability
85 %
Color
84 %
Value
82 %
Brand
82 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.07.19)
Amazon Link
$13.95
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81.4
Materials
80 %
Durability
82 %
Color
79 %
Value
85 %
Brand
81 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.07.19)
Amazon Link
$8.62
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80
Materials
79 %
Durability
78 %
Color
81 %
Value
82 %
Brand
80 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.07.19)
Amazon Link
$10.00
In Depth Review Top 10
  • ILNP Juliette Holographic ILNP Juliette Holographic
  • Color Club Halo Hues Color Club Halo Hues
  • China Glaze Street Regal China Glaze Street Regal
  • OPI Nail Lacquer OPI Nail Lacquer
  • Essie Seaglass Shimmers Essie Seaglass Shimmers
  • Zoya PixieDust Zoya PixieDust
  • Kleancolor Metallic Finish Kleancolor Metallic Finish
  • Shany Pastel Collection Shany Pastel Collection
  • Orly Nail Lacquer Orly Nail Lacquer
  • Shade Shifter Multichrome Shade Shifter Multichrome
Table of contents
  • Criteria Used for Evaluation
  • Other Factors to Consider
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Sources

10 Best Nail Polishes

1. ILNP Juliette Holographic

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.4
ILNP Juliette Holographic
Amazon Link
Materials
94
Durability
96
Color
95
Value
90
Brand
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$10.00
Pros:

High-Quality Formula

Professional Looking

Long-Lasting

Multiple Metallic Options

Cons:

Does Not Dry Fast

In the middle of the pack today, we have a product that actually is quickly rising to the top of the charts. The INLP Juliette Holographic is favorited by many consumers because of its glamorous look – but also it’s professional quality. For the price tag, you really can’t get closer to the real thing!

Read more

When it comes to these products, it’s essential that consumers assess the quality of the formula. This product was designed to mimic what a consumer would find at a traditional pedicure location. So, for those of you who are in need of a metallic at-home pedicure – this brand and shade can most certainly do the trick.

Picking out a durable and long-lasting varnish can be challenging. The truth is, you really get what you pay for. So, by investing in this specific product, consumers are getting a long-lasting color that will not wear and tear, or stain the color of your toenails, which both tend to be common problems with other brands.

When looking at the price per single bottle, this brand is the second most expensive product that we are going to share with you today. However, it’s also the second most valuable as it maintains the professional quality that typical beauty boutiques have. So, if you are serious about having an at-home pedicure, you need a serious and long-lasting formula. Let this brand be one of your considerations.

2. Color Club Halo Hues

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.6
Color Club Halo Hues
Amazon Link
Materials
94
Durability
93
Color
94
Value
92
Brand
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$9.49
Pros:

Vegan

No Harmful Chemicals

Rich Color & Shades

Glamorous

Cons:

Expensive

As we get towards the end of the list, we could not forget to talk about the Color Club Holographic Hues. When it comes to at-home pedicures, this brand has become a choice not only among consumers but even celebrities, according to the company. With that being said, people from around the world are wanting to get their toes dipped in this holographic color to sparkle in the light

Read more

Like the previous product on the list, this is another unique formula that focuses on holographic hues, hence the name. This style and color are very popular today and an option that many people are selecting when getting their feet done. Rather than pay a ton of money – you can now do an at-home pedicure with this brand's professional quality product.

If you are like us, we care about nature and really the process behind out a product is created. This brand’s polishes are vegan, which means none of them are tested on animals. Additionally, there are no harmful chemicals like formaldehyde, which is typically found in other brands' varnishes. With that being said, if you care about the nature around you – this product support you!

When it comes to higher-quality designer brands in this industry, it’s expected that they bottle will be slightly more expensive. However, by paying this price, you are investing in a quality formula that will outlast almost any other formula that we shared with you today. While there may not be a wide spectrum of colors – there are a few different ones that can add the glitter you are looking for.

3. China Glaze Street Regal

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89
China Glaze Street Regal
Amazon Link
Materials
90
Durability
93
Color
85
Value
88
Brand
89
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$7.74
Pros:

53 Color Choices

Long-Lasting

Non-Chipping

No Thinner Is Needed

Cons:

Colors Are Off

As the next product on our list, we would like to introduce the China Glaze. This specific product is a great consideration for consumers that are on a budget for their next at-home pedicure but also want to have the choice of some great and unique color options. Let’s look at some features that may just motivate you to try this product out.

Read more

When you purchase any makeup, you want to make sure that it lasts a while, right? Well, this brand has designed their formula so that their polish stays on, without getting ruined. Consumers tout how well the color sticks and stays.

There is nothing more important than making sure you purchase the right color for your pedicure. I mean, how many times have you been to get a pedicure and they did not have your favorite colors? Well this brand, you will have over 53 colors to select from, which is incredibly vast.

What really is going to sell this product to many of our readers today is the impressive and cheap price tag. This bottle is one of the most cost-friendly products on our list today – yet still maintains the quality to compete with the very best on the market. So, if you happen to find the color that you are looking for, are you going to try this brand out?

4. OPI Nail Lacquer

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.2
OPI Nail Lacquer
Amazon Link
Materials
87
Durability
90
Color
89
Value
85
Brand
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$10.50
Pros:

Industry Leader

Over 200+ Colors

Very Easy To Remove

Lasts Up To 11 Days

Cons:

Liquid May Be Thick

In this particular industry, there is no better company than OPI. Whether this is your first time doing an at-home pedicure or not, this brand is a great option for the consumer that is looking for an extensive color choice and a quality product that can last for almost 2 weeks. So, with that being said, let’s take a look at what makes this brand number one.

Read more

For one, this brand has arguably one of the largest collections of colors for consumers to pick from. In fact, in shades alone, there are over 200+ different color shades and styles, which is quite overwhelming! However, no matter the color or theme you are going for, this brand most certainly has a matching shade.

When you purchase any product from this brand, it’s evident that quality and precision goes into the formulation of each bottle. Additionally, when you also consider that this company is the expert in the market – do you need any other convincing?

When it comes to comparing this product to the others on today’s list, we can say that this one is easily the most expensive single bottle of nail polish. I mean, you are purchasing a bottle of OPI – which is the leading company in the world! So, it would make sense that it would be a bit costly. Now, don’t get deterred. Take the time to really look at its value and its quality and you will see that it really is worth the investment.

5. Essie Seaglass Shimmers

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88
Essie Seaglass Shimmers
Amazon Link
Materials
90
Durability
84
Color
85
Value
90
Brand
91
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$9.00
Pros:

Free of Chemicals

Very Trendy

Great For Pedicures

Inexpensive

Well-Known Brand

Cons:

May Be Subject To Chipping

Essie is a rising brand as many people around the world are wanting to try some of the tame and subtle colors that this company offers. Additionally, each product is designed with consumers and the environment in mind, making it a worthy purchase.

Read more

Today, there are many people who want to be offered an assortment of colors. You may see bright and flashy colors, or glittery and glamorous. This brand seeks to highlight the subtly of beauty with their assortment of relaxed colors. So, if you are looking for more of a classy pedicure and a subtle color, this brand has you covered.

What we really like about this brand is their dedication to ensure that each person is safe. In this industry, many companies still create formulas with harmful chemicals that are just not safe. This brand avoids using DBP, formaldehyde, and even Toluene. So, you can rest assured that you are safe and the paint will stay for longer than a couple of hours.

For the last product on our list, we want to say that this product is one of the lower priced single products for consumers to pick from. In truth, this is a reason why many people interested in at-home pedicures may like this item as it’s not costly, and it’s valuable and safe to wear. With an assortment of trendy colors, you can’t go wrong with a brand like this!

6. Zoya PixieDust

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85
Zoya PixieDust
Amazon Link
Materials
85
Durability
83
Color
84
Value
83
Brand
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$10.00
Pros:

4-Pack Sets

Free of Chemicals

Popular Brand

Different Colors

Cons:

Colors Are Too Similar

Formula Is Bubbly

One of the absolute coolest products that we have to share with you today is the Zoya Magical PixieDust. Here, consumers will have the option to pick from five different color shades and each is designed with health and safety in mind. Say goodbye to chemicals and hello Zoya!

Read more

When it comes to this market, what we noticed is that there are many different brands that use harmful chemicals in their formulas. This manufacturer is considered free from all of the most harmful chemicals, including formaldehyde, dibutyl, and even lead!

Let’s talk about a great deal – this is sold in a gift set of four bottles. This means that it comes with four different shades of a color pallet, which can prove to be quite beneficial. Now, do keep in mind, there are four different color sets to pick from. There is a darker color pallet with colors in the black and purple spectrum – and then much lighter colors in the white and pink spectrum.

So, let’s talk about cost and value. This item is actually quite fairly priced, and many consumers will be quite surprised by how affordable this deal is. It’s safe to say that the best part about this item is that this brand is considered “professional quality”, which means many beauty salons may actually even use this same exact product.

7. Kleancolor Metallic Finish

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.6
Kleancolor Metallic Finish
Amazon Link
Materials
84
Durability
87
Color
85
Value
83
Brand
84
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$9.99
Pros:

Vibrant Colors

1-4 Sets

Smooth In Application

Long-Lasting

Cons:

Bottle May Have Air Bubbles

We know that consumers want to have a wide selection of colors to pick from when doing an at-home pedicure – so you have options to look at. Well, Kleancolor made the process much easier for you by offering a wide selection of colors, all in a nice set. Before you do your next pedicure, check out these product features.

Read more

So, what really captured our attention with this product was their approach towards offering consumers value. Here, you can choose from a 1-set, 2-set, 3-set, or a 4-set, all of which range in quantity and color, which gives consumers the option to pick how many bottles they might need.

After the entire pedicure experience is complete, it should be anticipated that the color on your toes will last for at least a week. By using this manufacturer's color set, consumers have praised and boasted about getting a week or even more!

As far as cost is concerned, this is probably one of the best deals that consumers will see today. This brand offers their nail polishes in sets, all of which are priced quite fairly when you consider the number of different shades that you are getting.

8. Shany Pastel Collection

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
83.2
Shany Pastel Collection
Amazon Link
Materials
83
Durability
85
Color
84
Value
82
Brand
82
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$13.95
Pros:

Full 24-Piece Set

Non-Cracking Or Non-Chipping

Great Color Choices

Quick Dry Technology

Cons:

May Require A Few Coats

Not Long-Lasting

On our list today, there are a few specific products that we are excited to share with you today – and Shany Cosmetics 24 Piece Set is one of them. When it comes to doing an at-home pedicure, this set comes with everything you will need to ensure that your toes are properly painted – and last a while.

Read more

The biggest selling feature here is that it's actually considered a full set. It comes with over 24 different color choices, all which are higher quality and non-chipping so that they last longer than others. Many consumers have suggested that some colors may require multiple coats; however, it should last up to 5 days.

Have you ever gotten your nails done and had to wait a long time for them to dry? It can be a total inconvenience – especially if you have places to be. So, this brand sought to alleviate this problem by making all their varnishes quick-dry. So, by the time you are done cleaning up the pedicure equipment, your toes should be dry!

What really amazed us about this product was the actual cost for the entire set. If you consider that there are 24 bottles for the total cost, each bottle is incredibly cheap! Now, what is nice about this is that the formula in each bottle does maintain high-quality so it’s actually a great deal.

9. Orly Nail Lacquer

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81.4
Orly Nail Lacquer
Amazon Link
Materials
80
Durability
82
Color
79
Value
85
Brand
81
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$8.62
Pros:

12 In A Set

14-Day Return Policy

Different Sets

Great Price Tag

Cons:

Not The Best Quality

This is not the first time that we have talked about the Orly brand – they are everywhere! While this brand may not offer the absolute best quality formula, their polishes are beautiful in color and can be the perfect coating for a special night. Let’s look at some highlights of this specific product.

Read more

The Orly lacquer features a neon green color that leaves sparkles and glow across the entire nailbed. The applicator ensures a smooth, perfect finish and the formula of the product means complete coverage with no streaks! And forget about fading: Orly has added UV inhibitors to prevent this annoying phenomenon from occurring. Finally, it features natural pearl for durability and shine. At under $10 and with three neon color choices, you can’t go wrong with Orly.

10. Shade Shifter Multichrome

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80
Shade Shifter Multichrome
Amazon Link
Materials
79
Durability
78
Color
81
Value
82
Brand
80
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$10.00
Pros:

Color-Shifting Look

Easy Application Brush

No Harsh Chemicals

Glossy Look

Beautiful Design

Professional Color Quality

Cons:

Needs Multiple Coats

The Shade Shifter Multichrome is easily one of the trendiest items on today’s list. Reason being, consumers are flocking to this because of the brand’s unique color and holographic appeal. So, without further ado, let’s check out two different product features.

Read more

Okay, the first thing that really captured our attention was how the company made their products. As many previous consumers can agree, they have a professional formula that results in a professional looking color once painted on, which then lasts for at least a week.

If you are looking for something different than your standard nail polish for an at-home pedicure, this is the brand for you. Each of their 7 different color options are all incredibly vibrant, glamorous, and stunning to look at.

The difference between this item and many other’s on our list is that this is not sold in a set. Here, consumers have to purchase one bottle, which is notably smaller than a regular bottle. With that being said, it is actually much cheaper than other single-bottled nail polishes, while also offering arguably a better formula.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Materials

When it comes to quality, we can say that the more it costs, the better it is. This is normally a saying that is quite true when it comes to certain products and genres of consumer products. The reason being is that the overall quality of the product will determine the way it sticks to the nail, how it dries, and how long it lasts. For example, a cheaper product may dry rather quickly and dry with cracks, whereas a smooth one may dry slower but with an even and smooth feeling.

With that in mind, the quality of the product also determines how long it will last on your nails. In fact, there are some that are designed to be strong enough to last weeks on end. However, if you are an active individual and you do laundry, cook, and work with your hands often, you need one that can withstand the test of time so you don’t have to reapply every 72 hours.

Durability

As another one of the most important factors, we realized that durability may be the most important factor of all. The reason being is that it should be able to last weeks without it chipping, falling off, or fading. Other than that, we wanted to ensure that all of the products on this list were designed with materials that were non-toxic or hazardous.

Now, of course it does contain different chemicals. However, we wanted to make sure that they were safe for individuals to use. With that in mind, we also wanted to make sure that it would still function well for years to come and it would not clump or dry in the bottle.

Color

Other key criteria that we focused our attention on are the color variety. The reason being is that individuals have their own preferred taste so we wanted to widen the spectrum of available colors to wear. Another important aspect when it comes to colors is that we wanted to ensure that the brands that we shared had a wide variety.

Many individuals will tend to love a brand and stick with that color choice because of the quality, the application process, the brush, and the way and quality of the drying process. Therefore, we wanted to ensure a wide variety of colors to choose from.

Value

Cost and value are always one of the determining factors when it comes to many of our products. The reason being is that we want to share the best value products for the price. Other than that, we wanted to widen the spectrum of the different costs that an individual can expect.

The rule of thumb is that anything above $12-15 is known as a luxury nail polish. Now, another factor that affects the cost is the color, the consistency, and the specific brand. Which leads us to the last criteria.

Brand

As the last criteria that we took into consideration, we wanted to share a wide variety of brands for multiple different reasons. The brand reflects not only the value of the product but also the cost. If a brand is known for luxury, without a doubt the prices of their items are higher than an unknown brand.

Therefore, we wanted to share a wide variety of different brands for individuals to choose from. Whether you want an unknown brand or a brand known for their value and color quality, this list has a wide selection. We sometimes like to shine the spotlight on brands that deserve to get a bit of recognition!

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Materials
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Durability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Color
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
ico Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
ico Brand
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
Keep It Going Long

With extensive brands and new products available all the time, many quality name brands have options for gel polishes that will keep your color going for weeks. If it isn't something you want to try out, though, be sure to add a clear topcoat cover on top of the polished nails, to help protect them from cracks and peeling.

How To Dry Quickly

A variety of methods exists to try and speed up the drying time on a fresh coated set of nails. Some may sound odd, but give them a go as they do work! Try using Pam cooking spray if you need to get out the door in less than 5 minutes. Just spray, wait one minute, and wash off the excess spray from your hands. Other methods are using hairspray, ice baths, or hair dryers.

Other Factors to Consider

Bottom Line

Now that we have shared the top ten best nail polishes, what do you think? If you are seeking quality then these ones are for you. The hard part is not being able to collect them all.

So what are you waiting for? Go order your favorite one (or ones!) and start showing off those gorgeous nails!

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Since it is fragile, how is it packaged?

a:

This is the first question that individuals are most concerned about and we can see why. When it comes to the way it is packaged, most of the time the brand will package it properly with bubble wrap to ensure the best quality shipping and safety. In any case, most brands have a return policy if the product comes cracked or broken.

q: How long does it take for it to dry?

a:

This really is determined by the quality and the brand. Most of the time, nail polish takes about thirty minutes to fully dry. However, some people will add a sealer that dries it quicker and seals it so it doesn’t chip or crack easily. Another quick trick is to use a blow dryer. However, the extremely hot air may cause it to crack if it is a cheaper product.

q: Is it breathable?

a:

This is also an important question to consider. Breathability is an important factor if you do not want iti to feel too heavy. With that said, this is mostly a specialty feature of certain brands and it is not common. If you want a breathable varnish, you need to search for one - the most common ones are vegan and tend to cost $12 and up.

q: Is it gel polish?

a:

This question is determined primarily by the manufacturer. On this list we have shared a wide variety of both regular nail polishes and gel ones.