to top 10 table

Best Ombre Shoes & Heels Reviewed for a Blended Look

last updated Jul 16, 2019

While it does sound like a Spanish word (and it is, with a different meaning), when it comes to the popular coloring technique, the word ombre comes from French, and it means ‘faded’. It represents a gradual blending of one color into another, whether it is the same hue but different saturation, or different shades, or maybe two completely unrelated colors.

This is why we have organized this list of top ten ombre shoes. If you are as taken by this fading method as we are, then you have undoubtedly looked for ways to include it in your outfits. It is a most fascinating world of color change indeed, and we hope that in the end, you will walk away with at least one brand new pair of ombre shoes!

This is the best product on our list that is currently in stock:

icon
Converse Chuck Taylor
91.2/100 our score
Color
96
Style
94
Versatility
89
Value
89
Comfort
88
Converse Chuck Taylor
Why is it better?

Breathable Canvas Upper

Lunarlon Sock Liner

Padded Tongue

Shock Absorbing

Iconic Silhouette

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Converse Chuck Taylor
Test Winner: Converse Chuck Taylor
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
5
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
3252
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
6
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
10
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Color Style Versatility Value Comfort By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.4
Color
98 %
Style
89 %
Versatility
90 %
Value
90 %
Comfort
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.11.19)
Amazon Link
$97.61
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.2
Color
96 %
Style
94 %
Versatility
89 %
Value
89 %
Comfort
88 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.11.19)
Amazon Link
$54.95
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.8
Color
94 %
Style
82 %
Versatility
88 %
Value
92 %
Comfort
98 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.11.19)
Amazon Link
$79.99
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.6
Color
85 %
Style
85 %
Versatility
85 %
Value
90 %
Comfort
98 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.11.19)
Amazon Link
$38.95
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.2
Color
90 %
Style
85 %
Versatility
83 %
Value
85 %
Comfort
93 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.11.19)
Amazon Link
$41.99
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.6
Color
90 %
Style
82 %
Versatility
80 %
Value
89 %
Comfort
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.11.19)
Amazon Link
$140.00
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.4
Color
92 %
Style
95 %
Versatility
80 %
Value
90 %
Comfort
65 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.11.19)
Amazon Link
$59.98
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84
Color
93 %
Style
95 %
Versatility
75 %
Value
80 %
Comfort
77 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.11.19)
Amazon Link
$69.99
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
83
Color
80 %
Style
83 %
Versatility
80 %
Value
84 %
Comfort
88 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.11.19)
Amazon Link
$30.99
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
78
Color
90 %
Style
97 %
Versatility
60 %
Value
88 %
Comfort
55 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.11.19)
Amazon Link
$76.95

Top 10 Picks

1. Rockport Salima

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.4
Rockport Salima
Amazon Link
Color
98
Style
89
Versatility
90
Value
90
Comfort
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$97.61
Pros:

Lightweight Comfort System

Full-Length Stability Plate

Low Chunky Heel

Luxurious Leather Upper

Cushioned Footbed

Cons:

Narrow Fit

Pricey

The Rockport Salima is a sensible, practical ombre shoe which is perfect for the workplace. What sets this ombre shoe apart from others of its type is the fact that it comes with Rockport trademark technology named Total Motion. This includes a lightweight comfort system, premium materials such as smooth leather for the upper, a full-length stability plate, as well as an extra padded footbed.

The special stability plate that stretches from the toe area all the way back offers extra stability, making your footsteps more secure, while at the same time it provides flexibility in the front, as the Salima moves along with your foot. This is then paired with the lightweight support system we mentioned earlier comes under the name of truTECH. This ombre shoe provides shock-absorption at the back, preventing the pounding effect at the heel which can lead to pain and medical problems, but it also offers rebound at the forefoot, for superior comfort.
 
Really, the Salima is one of a kind ombre shoe, and you have to try it to believe its comfort!

2. Converse Chuck Taylor

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.2
Converse Chuck Taylor
Amazon Link
Color
96
Style
94
Versatility
89
Value
89
Comfort
88
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$54.95
Pros:

Breathable Canvas Upper

Lunarlon Sock Liner

Padded Tongue

Shock Absorbing

Iconic Silhouette

Cons:

Narrow Fit

Stains Easily

The Chuck Taylor comes with a special molded Lunarlon sock liner, a gusseted tongue, and the original rubber toe area and toe guard. There is also a lace-up system at the front, with metal eyelets for added durability in this ombre shoe. While the Converse Chuck Taylor has an upper made from thin, breathable canvas material, its tongue is extra padded for a snug fit. Your foot won’t slide around inside the ombre shoe, and you will feel comfortable and secure.

As mentioned, this ombre shoe features Lunarlon, which is actually a technology by Nike, which now owns Converse. It represents a special cushioning system which has the purpose of absorbing shock. This means that as you walk in the Chuck Taylor, the impact of your heel strike is evenly spread over the shoe, and your steps are softer and stabilized thanks to this innovative technology.
 
We honestly didn’t doubt for a second that the iconic Converse Chuck Taylor had a design which fits the topic of this guide of ombre shoes. These legendary sneakers can be found in literally thousands of different color options and prints, and the ombre shoe options are just as appealing as any other. Truly, there is hardly a sneaker as effortlessly cool as the Converse Chuck Taylor!

3. Skechers Flex Appeal 2.0

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.8
Skechers Flex Appeal 2.0
Amazon Link
Color
94
Style
82
Versatility
88
Value
92
Comfort
98
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$79.99
Pros:

Soft Jersey Knit Upper

Air Cooled Memory Foam Insole

Shock-Absorbing Technology

Sweat-Proof

Rubber Outsole

Cons:

Not for Narrow Feet

Thin Memory Foam Layer

Embrace your sporty chic style with the Skechers Flex Appeal 2.0. This is an athletic sneaker which isn’t made for any hard-hitting sport but is, in fact, a comfortable, amazingly practical everyday option for an ombre shoe. It has a flexible jersey knit upper with a black to grey fade and cute stitching detail all over. Not only is this an attractive ombre shoe, but thanks to the Flex 2.0 lightweight midsole, it should enable you to stay on your feet for longer. Flex 2.0 is a special technology for midsoles which is extremely lightweight and still enables the shoe to absorb shock instantly. This feature keeps the foot fatigue away and you can easily spend an entire day running errands without feeling even a hint of discomfort!
 

The outsole of the Flex Appeal 2.0 is made from flexible rubber which provides excellent traction, and the inside is cushioned thanks to the Air Cooled Memory Foam insole. As it is suggested by its very name, the Air Cooled Memory Foam of the Flex Appeal 2.0 not only provides cushioning and support, but it also helps promote proper air flow through the ombre shoe. This keeps your feet dry and cool and avoids any nasty odors which might result from sweating.

4. Puma Ignite

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.6
Puma Ignite
Amazon Link
Color
85
Style
85
Versatility
85
Value
90
Comfort
98
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$38.95
Pros:

Impact-Dispersing Cushioning

Cellasto Heel Pad

EverTrack Abrasion-Resistant Outsole

High Rebound

For Everyday Casual Running

Cons:

Snug Fit

Not for Wide Feet

As opposed to several lifestyle ombre shoe options on this list, the Puma Ignite is anything but an amateur sneaker. This beauty is built for running, and every single feature on it is there to help you improve your performance. We are talking about impact-dispersing cushioning, a PU foam midsole, an EverTrack outsole, as well as a special Cellasto foam heel pad.
 

Cellasto is a special polymer material which has excellent static and dynamic behavior. It boasts a high-level of compressibility and lateral expansion, meaning that while you run the pad squishes with the impact, softening it, and then springs right back up to do it again. Like running on clouds in this ombre shoe!
 
A highlight of this ombre shoe comes in the form of its outsole. One of the main features of the EverTrack outsole on the Puma Ignite is that it is highly abrasion-resistant. It doesn’t matter if you are running on soft trails or rough asphalt, your sneakers will keep you safe and protected, and at the same time, last longer than most other models, and all in ombre style.

5. Skechers Air Element

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.2
Skechers Air Element
Amazon Link
Color
90
Style
85
Versatility
83
Value
85
Comfort
93
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$41.99
Pros:

Padded Collar

Air Technology Midsole

Cooling Insole

Memory Foam

Shock Absorption

Cons:

Runs Small

We know Skechers keeps their line of active footwear cushioned and comfortable, and the Air Element now adds in that ombre shoe option for some fashionable sneaker models. Created from 100% textile materials, it’s lightweight and breathable, helping to reduce foot fatigue during extended wear or walking. As part of their line of footwear with Air technology, it has several features to help you be supported and cool as well, even when the ombre coloring heats up the temperatures!

Air Cooled Memory Foam insole helps keep your feet dry, and the air cushion midsole gives amazing support and cushion to each and every step, visible along the entirety of the shoe. Air technology in the midsole also helps reduce any impact during wear, absorbing shock as you go. It’s ideal for walking, running, or just being out and about in town during the day. Padded collar and tongue help add some more cushion and prevents blistering.

The coloring on this ombre shoe fades from light at the soles, to darker as you move upward. And, it’s available in several color combinations and fades, so you can find one that resonates with your style and fashion sense. Lace up closure allows for an adjustable fit, so you get the perfect feel. Grippy tread pattern at the base will have you sturdy and stable. So, what are you waiting for? Get out in these ombre shoes for a quick spin around the block!

6. PUMA Sophia Webster Cage

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.6
PUMA Sophia Webster Cage
Amazon Link
Color
90
Style
82
Versatility
80
Value
89
Comfort
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$140.00
Pros:

Unique 'Cage' Design

Sculpted Heel Cap

Lightweight Knit Uppers

Breathable

Shock Absorption

Cons:

'Cage' Can Catch Easy

This is definitely unique spin on an ombre shoe from PUMA, where not only will the color grab your attention, the intricate cage design in the uppers will as well. Inspired by Sophia Webster, the British designer, an entire collection has been introduced into the footwear line for PUMA using her elements and style. And, while you can certainly call this a dressier sneaker, it still features all the PUMA brand technology to give you a cushioned and comfortable ride.

At the base of this ombre shoe is a rubber sole, giving a cushioned padded step to your walking or running. PUMA logo lies at the arch on the sole, and grip can be found with textured grooves along the sole. A sculpted heel cap helps keep you in place and adds some style to the lines of the ombre shoe. Knit uppers keep it lightweight and breathable, making it perfect for those hot summer workouts or walks.

The most appealing part of the Sophia Webster Cage, is of course, it’s cage design along the uppers. On either side of the ombre shoe is an intricate fabric rope cage, woven to look like butterfly wings. And, if you look at the shoe from the top, the neon lace up ties the ‘wings’ together, just like a butterfly. It’s great ombre coloring can be seen from the toe through the upper cages, giving it a seriously beautiful look. This is one ombre shoe that will turn heads at the gym for sure!

7. Jessica Simpson Martella

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.4
Jessica Simpson Martella
Amazon Link
Color
92
Style
95
Versatility
80
Value
90
Comfort
65
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$59.98
Pros:

Polished Gleaming Upper

Half-d’Orsay Design

Memory Foam Midsole

Platform Heel

Sexy and Seductive

Cons:

Tight Toe Box

Cuts Into Skin

With the Jessica Simpson Martella, the faded coloring technique has been done a little differently - this isn’t one color gradually turning into another, this is a leopard print fading into a solid color! The Martella is a peep-toe pump, half d’Orsay in design, with a whopping five inches in heel, though with a 1.25-inch platform in the front. Still an eye-popping ombre shoe!

The upper of this ombre shoe is polished and gleaming, synthetic, and for added comfort, there is a memory foam insole. Jessica Simpson is famous for her designs which don’t force you to compromise between style and comfort. The memory foam midsole of the Martella provides you with necessary cushioning and softens your steps, helping you stay on your feet for extended periods of time.

8. Steve Madden Zoey

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84
Steve Madden Zoey
Amazon Link
Color
93
Style
95
Versatility
75
Value
80
Comfort
77
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$69.99
Pros:

Stiletto Heel

Lightly Padded Footbed

Pointed Toe

Cons:

Traction

Not For Extended Wear

Steve Madden is no stranger to fashionable, sometimes quite creative footwear designs. Using some of the most intriguing elements in their fashion footwear, the Zoey is an ombre shoe option that certainly packs a punch for a pump. With a few different kinds of ombre color options, you can find one to dress up a pair of jeans, or compliment business attire. It’s an attention grabber that will have you turning heads!

Uppers of the Zoey are a patent leather finish, making this ombre shoe a shiny, yet durable option for wear. However, it’s not for the faint of heart with a 4-inch heel! Stiletto heel will lengthen legs and accentuate calves, making it great to ombre shoe option with pencil skirts or shift dresses for business hours. Synthetic sole helps add some traction, but we wouldn’t advise wearing stilettos on uneven surfaces!

Ombre coloring fades from darker at the toe to lighter as you move toward the heel of the pump. Pointed black toes grace the front of this ombre shoe, giving it that structured look we love that commands attention. A lightly padded insole helps to add some comfort to the stiletto during wear, but do note this pair of ombre shoes may be best worn to events where you’ll be sitting a good bit of time!

9. Crocs Swiftwater

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
83
Crocs Swiftwater
Amazon Link
Color
80
Style
83
Versatility
80
Value
84
Comfort
88
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$30.99
Pros:

Croslite Technology

Breathable

Lightweight

Traction

Cons:

Run Wide

Whether or not you’ve owned a pair of classic or other style crocs, you likely don’t have them yet in an ombre shoe model from the brand! The Crocs Swiftwater Seasonal sandal is a strappy designed option, perfect for summer heat, and gentle strolls along the boardwalk or by the pool. As with many Crocs brand shoes, it’s pack of comfort and cushion to keep you going throughout the day, but now with a great ombre shoe coloring!

Croslite outsole is non-marking so you can be confident you won’t scuff any floors or surfaces with your shoes. As with other Crocs shoes, it has the Croslite footbed, which is renowned for its simple construction and materials which maximizes comfort and cushioning. It’s ideal for summertime activities outside or around water, as the uppers of the Swiftwater ombre shoe are waterproof.

A couple different choices of coloring are available for this ombre shoe, ranging from oranges to greens or more depending where you shop. Lighter coloring extends from the strappy toe band, and gradually fades darker back toward the heel. Slide style makes these ombre shoes easy to slip on into and out from, and a tractions footbed provides additional grip for wet conditions when wearing. It’s a perfect option for summer footwear!

10. Pleaser Adore

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
78
Pleaser Adore
Amazon Link
Color
90
Style
97
Versatility
60
Value
88
Comfort
55
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$76.95
Pros:

Transparent Upper

Adjustable Ankle Strap

Platform Heel

Glitter Effect

Bold and Sexy

Cons:

Foot Fog

Difficult to Walk In

Right off the bat - this ombre shoe is not for the weak of heart. That much is evident by the eight-inch high heel the Pleaser Adore comes with. However, it also features a four-inch platform in the front, which helps with making the height somewhat more stable in this ombre shoe.
 

The Adore is a peep-toe pump with an upper made completely out of transparent synthetic materials, as well as an ankle strap with a buckle closure at the side. What is most striking on this ombre shoe is the height, definitely, but also the subtle glittering ombre effect from the silver at the front of the sole to the black in the back.
 
The beauty of a clear, transparent upper is that it goes with absolutely everything. Whether you’re gearing up for an alternative night or to charge the dance floor in your favorite club, you won’t have any trouble finding an outfit which matches this stunningly high pump.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Color

You may think that the ombre technique is recent, that it has been around for barely 20 years, but in fact, it is a rather well-known method of coloring. In the early 19th century, a special block – called a ‘rainbow’ block – was used to paint textiles with this faded design. This technique was also prevalent in embroidery, by dying the threads in graded colors beforehand.

However, in recent decades, ombre has moved from fabrics and fashion – though it still remains popular on the runways – and onto hair and nail art, as well as makeup and even baking products. Probably the one most responsible for reviving this coloring method is Britney Spears, who first dyed her hair from dark at the roots to lighter blonde at the tips back in 2000.

When looking at ombre shoes, the most important factor we looked at was color and ensuring each product really highlighted the uniqueness that can come from this look. Each item was rated based on how well the ombre was done, how noticeable the color change is, and the variety in options available.

Style

Our ombre shoe list is quite diverse when it comes to different ombre shoe styles. We have heels, but also sneakers, both lifestyle and more sports-oriented, and boots. Which one – or which ones – you will choose is based entirely on what you intend to do with your ombre shoes.

Are you looking for a stylish and yet casual sneaker to wear with your fashion-forward everyday outfits? Do you need a new pair of sneakers for jogging? A nice, sensible pump for the workplace? Or maybe a staggeringly high stiletto which will help you be the center of attention at a party?

While rating based on style is tricky, we did so by focusing on how attractive the ombre shoe looks on foot. More updated and modern styles rated higher than products that were a bit outdated or plain, and we also took into consideration the silhouette of each shoe.

Heels tend to rate higher for style, and while some people may not prefer the look for a high shoe, more often this type of footwear is utilized for fashionable and more formal looks. Yes, they may be somewhat uncomfortable to wear – though it entirely depends on the design of the shoe – but heels are one of the most popular footwear types in the world. The reason for this is that they make us feel confident. They force us to keep our head held high, back straight, and to carry ourselves with a sense of dignity. It also helps that high soles visually elongate our legs, and help us look slimmer than we really are.

Versatility

Just because an ombre shoe looks great doesn't always mean it's versatile, so that is why we made sure to include versatility in our rating. The ability to wear a pair of ombre shoes on more than one occassion is important to the majority of people, and it helps ensure that you are getting your money's worth with your purchase.

Unless you are getting them for an insanely good deal, owning a pair of ombre shoes that you can only wear once is fairly pointless and just means your closet space is taken up by dust collectors. While versatility can mean different things to different people, we focused our rating based on how many occassions a pair could be worn to.

We also considered factors such as weatherproofing, if something was work appropriate, and if the color options would be able to blend in with a mix of different outfit colors and styles. All of this was mixed together to help create the overall versatility score.

Value

Given that we didn't focus on one specific type of footwear, only on the colors, it should be no surprise that the price ranges were just as diverse as the ombre shoes. From low end sneakers to high end heels, our list was all over the board in terms of dollar amounts.

Price alone doesn't dictate value, however, and we took into consideration not only the actual number, but what you were actually getting for that price. With that said, very expensive ombre shoes did score lower than more budget friendly options simply because it makes them available to the vast majority of people.

Comfort

Comfort is always an important factor when it comes to footwear, and it was something that sometimes gets neglected when talking about fashion. While ombre shoes is mainly a fashion-forward topic, comfort still needs to be a part of the conversation in order to find the most well-rounded shoe.

With both flat and heeled options on our list, there was a bit of a skew in terms of what rated more highly in this category. Flat ombre shoes are almost always going to be more comfortable than heels, so we had to look just beyond that factor. From material choices to sizing, we checked each pair to sort out which ones ran more narrow, which ones needed to be broken in, and which just rubbed in the wrong spots.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Color
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Style
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Versatility
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
ico Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
ico Comfort
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
Day to Night

While the term "ombre" can refer to any pigment gradient that goes from one color into another, it is most often used when talking about hues that blend from light to dark.

What's the Difference?

The term "balayage" can often be confused with "ombre", but these are two distinct coloring techniques. While an ombre is a gradient line, balayage involves using highlights for a more naturally swept look.

Other Factors to Consider

Bottom Line

Whether you’re a gym enthusiast or like to spend your time outside chasing after your children or your pets, or even if you are more into fashion-forward footwear – there is a two-colored ombre shoe option for you regardless of the occasion. What is important is that the design you land on suits your personal aesthetic and that it complements the outfits in your collection.
 
However, while the visual appeal certainly is one of the crucial things here, we can’t forget about all the other features which make a good shoe – its comfort levels, the quality of its materials, durability, and even its price. A great-looking design will only get you so far – if it’s lacking in any way, and you won’t be able to enjoy it for a long time, then what’s the point?

Frequently Asked Questions

q: What can I wear with my ombre shoes?

a:

Anything you like! The beauty of this type of coloring is that it includes two colors which you can incorporate into your everyday style. You can try to match both, or only one, or simply put together a neutral-colored outfit and have your ombre shoes stand out as a staple piece.

q: Can I dye my shoes on my own to make them ombre shoes?

a:

Yes, you can! However, before you even attempt this, make sure that you read up on the matter. Dyeing footwear can go wrong in many ways, and you run the risk of being left with shoes which don’t look good, or worse, which are no longer wearable. There are hundreds of tutorials online on how to properly make ombre shoes at home, so study them all carefully! Perhaps go with a cheap pair first, a throwaway that you can use for practice before you reach for the real deal.

q: What should I wear for an office environment?

a:

Heels are a great option to elevate your office look, to add femininity and refinement to your outfit, but you must bear in mind the aforementioned dress code. Stick to low heights, nothing above three inches, and to closed-toe designs.
Neutral colors are preferable, such as black, grey, nude, and any variation of those. Dark blue and brown are also acceptable. Avoid too many embellishments, too saturated colors, eye-catching prints, and anything that sparkles. You may find a few options in our ombre list above that are well suited to your business needs!

Sources