to top 10 table

Best Non-Skid & Slip Resistant Shoes Reviewed

last updated Apr 04, 2019

Let’s start at the beginning: what are slip-resistant shoes? Well, the name says it all. They are shoes that are mainly made for standing up for long hours (normally work shifts in hospitals, restaurants, kitchens, factories, etc.) that help prevent you from slipping on surfaces; whether wet or dry. Slip-resistant is not slip-proof; there is no shoe that exists that can stop you from falling on a wet surface. With the right amount of water, oil, or whatever liquid, combined with the right surface and other factors, nothing can guarantee that you won’t fall or slip.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 101 hrs of research

icon
Merrell Jungle Moc
94.8/100 our score
Durability
95
Fit
92
Ground Feel
96
Outsole
93
Traction
98
Merrell Jungle Moc
Why is it better?

Contoured Footbed

Great Arch Support

Exceptionally Durable

Easy On & Off

Knobby Bottom

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Merrell Jungle Moc
Test Winner: Merrell Jungle Moc
Researched Sources
19
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
1378
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
101
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
20
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
Avatar
By Mackenzie Jervis:

Our most recent update took a fresh look at our slip-resistant shoes. We have replaced two of the shoes in our list with more recent, high-rated shoes so that we consistently bring you the very best slip-resistant shoes on today’s market. We also reviewed our criteria and frequently asked questions sections to ensure the information there is the most recent, accurate and complete information you need to help you choose the best shoe for your needs.

Sorting Options
Durability Fit Ground Feel Outsole Traction By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.8
Durability
95%
Fit
92%
Ground Feel
96%
Outsole
93%
Traction
98%
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.04.19)
$79.49
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.4
Durability
97%
Fit
94%
Ground Feel
92%
Outsole
93%
Traction
91%
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.04.19)
$64.99
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.4
Durability
90%
Fit
89%
Ground Feel
91%
Outsole
92%
Traction
90%
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.04.19)
$50.37
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.6
Durability
90%
Fit
89%
Ground Feel
88%
Outsole
91%
Traction
90%
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.04.19)
$59.95
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.4
Durability
87%
Fit
88%
Ground Feel
86%
Outsole
90%
Traction
86%
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.04.19)
$52.99
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86
Durability
86%
Fit
87%
Ground Feel
85%
Outsole
88%
Traction
84%
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.04.19)
$44.95
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82.8
Durability
82%
Fit
83%
Ground Feel
86%
Outsole
82%
Traction
81%
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.04.19)
$40.99
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80.8
Durability
80%
Fit
82%
Ground Feel
81%
Outsole
80%
Traction
81%
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.04.19)
$67.95
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
78.6
Durability
80%
Fit
77%
Ground Feel
79%
Outsole
76%
Traction
81%
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.04.19)
$43.99
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
74.6
Durability
74%
Fit
76%
Ground Feel
73%
Outsole
71%
Traction
79%
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.04.19)
$39.98
In Depth Review Top 10
  • Merrell Jungle Moc
  • Skechers McAllen
  • Skechers Sure Track Trickel
  • Dr. Scholls Harrington
  • Skechers Cottonwood
  • Fila Memory Flux
  • Reebok Work N Cushion 3.0
  • Nunn Bush Bleeker
  • Crocs Neria Pro II
  • Skechers Felton Relaxed-Fit
Table of contents
  • Criteria Used for Evaluation
  • Other Factors to Consider
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Sources

10 Best Slip Resistant Shoes

1. Merrell Jungle Moc

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.8
Merrell Jungle Moc
Durability
95
Fit
92
Ground Feel
96
Outsole
93
Traction
98
best offer for today
$79.49
Pros:

Contoured Footbed

Great Arch Support

Exceptionally Durable

Easy On & Off

Knobby Bottom

Cons:

Sizing Issues

Squeaky

Merrell has grown from being a great boot company to an amazing shoe company that is now known for shoes that give you comfort, durability, design, and versatility. With the Jungle Moc, you will get advanced technology combined with the high performance and lasting design needed in slip-resistant shoes. We live in a world of ever-changing terrains, transition easily from indoor to outdoor activities, showing the versatility of Merrell’s Jungle Moc.

Read more

Running around all day can lead to seriously sore feet. The Jungle Moc offers two cushioning systems that ensure your feet will feel great, even after the longest days. First, it starts with an EVA compression molded foot frame. This foot frame gives you cushioning that makes your shoes feel like they are hugging your feet, even after extra long hours. Next, they have the heel equipped with Merrell Air Cushioning. This adds comfort, and support to your feet and gives you added stability while absorbing shock.

Wet shoes can cause all type of trouble whether on the inside of the shoe or the outside. The slip resistance of the Jungle Moc has you covered on the outside and M Select Fresh on the inside. Paired with breathable mesh lining and organic odor control these slip-resistant shoes will keep your feet dry with less odor.

2. Skechers McAllen

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.4
Skechers McAllen
Durability
97
Fit
94
Ground Feel
92
Outsole
93
Traction
91
best offer for today
$64.99
Pros:

Breathable Mesh Fabric

Stylish

Cushioning Support

Memory Foam 

Cons:

Poor Arch Support

I couldn’t let the chance go by and leave the Skechers for Work-Flex Advantage Slip Resistant McAllen to come on later in our top 10. If you want a pair of slip-resistant shoes, that are durable, comfortable, breathable AND good-looking with its sporty design, then stay here! These shoes have everything that you’re looking for. Check it out!

Read more

With its smooth and durable synthetic upper, with diamond-patterned mesh fabric to add breathability, and with its dual-side elastic fabric pieces for easy on and off, this upper unit is sure to please you. In addition to all this, the wearer even has the luck to have a padded collar for added comfort.

It’s rarer to find a pair of slip-resistant shoe that is so polyvalent. Because of their water-resistant feature, you can wear these outdoors during light rains, and because of their sporty look, you can slip these on with a pair of jeans for a day out with friends and family. The mesh fabric brings that shoe out of its competitors with their real and faux leather.

3. Skechers Sure Track Trickel

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.4
Skechers Sure Track Trickel
Durability
90
Fit
89
Ground Feel
91
Outsole
92
Traction
90
best offer for today
$50.37
Pros:

EVA Midsoles

FlexSole Shock-Absorbing Midsole

Smooth Leather Upper

Casual Comfort

Lace-Up Shoes

Cons:

Shoes Wear Out Quickly

If you’re looking for a pair of black shoes that can follow you anywhere and everywhere, then you’re at the right place. The Skechers for Work Sure Track Trickel Slip Resistant shoes is perfect for work, for casual wear, for travel, and for workouts.

Read more

This makes the shoe. Why? Because its flexibility means that you won’t be fighting the shoe, and you’ll remain comfortable all day long. These Skechers offer you a natural stance if you have to stand at the same place for hours, and they also give you a barefoot-like experience when walking. Seriously, what more do you need?

You need to be comfortable to work properly. If your feet hurt all day long, your attention will be down there and not on your tasks. Skechers offers the wearer a removable memory foam insole, just in case you’re not the memory foam person. And because of its padded collar and tongue, this means that the general comfort goes from your ankles to your toes.

4. Dr. Scholls Harrington

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.6
Dr. Scholls Harrington
Durability
90
Fit
89
Ground Feel
88
Outsole
91
Traction
90
best offer for today
$59.95
Pros:

Holds Up to Water & Grease

No Break In Period

Moisture Wicking Liner

Like Walking on a Cloud

Very Affordable

Cons:

Not for High Arches

Using the science of movement Dr. Scholl’s is trusted for superior comfort, support, technology, and keeping hard-working feet happy. The Lock Step Outsole protects you from slips and falls. They also continuously beat the industry standard for comfort across many different fields.

Read more

The memory foam cool fit insole won’t disappear with extended wear. We have all owned those slip-resistant shoes that started our day off right but left something to be desired at the end, due to the infamous disappearing cushion. When your feet are pounding a hard surface you need an insole that can keep its shape and support level. Dr. Scholl’s Harrington Li’s insert is sure to stand up to those long, pounding days, giving you all-day comfort.

Dirty work environments can lead to many challenges and oil residue can be one of them. Designed to specifically help protect against slipping on oil these slip-resistant shoes will remove worry when walking across slick floors. Not all slip resistance is appropriate for oily situations and Dr. Scholl’s won’t let you down.
 
A quality pair of slip-resistant shoes with superior comfort and a durable design does not have to break the bank. The Dr. Scholl’s Harrington's are proof of this. Get everything you have been looking for and more for a cost that really will surprise you.

5. Skechers Cottonwood

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.4
Skechers Cottonwood
Durability
87
Fit
88
Ground Feel
86
Outsole
90
Traction
86
best offer for today
$52.99
Pros:

Nappa Leather Upper

Slightly Polished Finish

Lace Up Style

Slip-Resistant

Oil & Chemical Resistant

Relaxed Fit

Shock Absorbing

Cons:

Shoes May Crease

Skechers for Work is a line of shoes made specifically to be comfortable for a variety of jobs all day. In the case of the Cottonwood, the shoe is designed to be both comfortable and slip-resistant. It’s Oxford design is very professional looking and the shoe features a number of comfort features which will make you want to take that extra shift. No, really. Another 8 hours? That’s nothing for you!

Read more

The insole in the Cottonwood is made of memory foam which will form to your foot and provide cushion all day long. However, it is also removable if you would prefer to wear your own custom insole or orthotic.

The shoe features a classic Oxford look with stylish stitching accents, a rounded, plain toe, and front, side and heel leather overlays that allow the shoe to work in a casual environment or one that is more formal. Work the wedding or the bar with equal, comfortable ease.

6. Fila Memory Flux

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86
Fila Memory Flux
Durability
86
Fit
87
Ground Feel
85
Outsole
88
Traction
84
best offer for today
$44.95
Pros:

Built-In Pull Tab

Flexible Leather

Stain & Scuff-Resistant

Padded Collar & Tongue

Cons:

Heavier Feel

Let’s all agree on something: we all want a pair of shoes that can play the part well. And that's what the Fila Memory Flux does. They might not be the most stylish shoes, but with their mixed material of nylon and synthetic, you'll have a durable shoe to last you a long time. With the superior traction of the solid rubber outsole, you'll be solid on your feet on any surface.

Read more

That’s the number one priority when buying a pair of shoes for work, where you have to stand up for hours a day. Don’t you hate it when you wake up the next morning and your soles hurt so much you can barely stand up? Well, this pair of shoes has a padded collar and tongue, added to the comfortability features of the Fila Memory Flux that are renowned for that. The memory foam sockliner and midsole add additional comfort to help you get through a long shift.

The other thing you want to look out for when buying a slip-resistant shoe is its material. I hate having to buy two to three pairs of shoes per year because they get used up too fast. Fila thought of it, of us. The upper of the shoe is made of a mixture of nylon and synthetic leather, so the clean-up at the end of the day is easy. The interior of the shoe is a natural cotton blend, which means that not only do you get all-day support, but it also means that it’s a tough build.

7. Reebok Work N Cushion 3.0

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82.8
Reebok Work N Cushion 3.0
Durability
82
Fit
83
Ground Feel
86
Outsole
82
Traction
81
best offer for today
$40.99
Pros:

Flex Grooves

Low Price

All-Purpose Sneakers

Beveled Heel

Cons:

Upper Doesn’t Have Air Holes

When you’re on your feet all day, you need support and comfortability. With its leather design, flex grooves and oil+slip resistant outsoles, these shoes work as hard as you do. But they haven’t been thought for just stand-up work. What’s fun about these shoes is that you can wear them during your workouts or to complete a casual outfit. Their black color helps them blend with anything you wear. These qualities are all reasons why Reebok Work N Cushion Walking Shoes are #3 on this list.

Read more

Slip-resistant shoes are made with special outsoles that help you remain stable on less-than-ideal surfaces. In addition to this, Reebok added flex grooves to assist with the flexibility of the shoe for day-long comfort. A flex groove is a piece of nylon fabric placed between the outsole and midsole to add stability and stiffness without adding bulk weight. This helps you get a more natural, barefoot stride.

Some people might complain about faux leather, but there are qualities to buying a synthetic material shoe. Faux leather is usually more durable than real leather (but you have to maintain them properly). It tends to be more water-resistant (NOT waterproof – this isn’t the same thing) than real leather, and it’s designed to hold up against harsh weather and general working conditions. Obviously, because it’s synthetic leather, the shoes are cheaper than those made with real leather. And, if your environmentally friendly like I am, then you’re helping a few animals out there!

8. Nunn Bush Bleeker

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80.8
Nunn Bush Bleeker
Durability
80
Fit
82
Ground Feel
81
Outsole
80
Traction
81
best offer for today
$67.95
Pros:

Non-Slip Sole

Bicycle Toe

Versatile Style

Genuine Leather Upper

Dual Density Midsole

Elastic Goring

Cons:

Not Water-Resistant

A very professional looking loafer, this shoe will also work for casual occasions. It is slip-resistant, as all shoes on this list are, and will work well if you work in a kitchen, bar or other location where the floors and surfaces may be slick. This shoe is not designed though for heavy use on constantly slick surfaces. The shoe is very shock absorbent as well, with a midsole that will leave you comfortable all day.

Read more

The Bleeker features a dual density midsole that will provide excellent shock absorption and cushioning, leaving you very comfortable over long hours at work or play. There is also a gel-cushioned footbed for additional comfort.

This loafer features twin-gore elastic for a great fit in a slip-on shoe. The elastic goring at the sides ensure easy on and easy off use while keeping your foot securely inside while walking. These shoes are priced at the lower end of the range relative to the list, which represents excellent value. You get a very comfortable shoe that will keep you on your feet, is easy to use, versatile and can go from casual to dressy with ease.

9. Crocs Neria Pro II

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
78.6
Crocs Neria Pro II
Durability
80
Fit
77
Ground Feel
79
Outsole
76
Traction
81
best offer for today
$43.99
Pros:

Contoured Footbed

Slip-Resistant Sole

Non-Marking Outsoles

Moisture-Wicking Liner

Cons:

Runs Narrow

You work hard, and your feet work a-hell-of-a-lot too, so you want to have as much support and comfort on your feet as possible. New Balance worked hard to be able to give you a shoe that would work as hard as you do. No matter the shoe you buy, that’s the first thing to consider. Crocs offers you a relaxed fit shoe that has extra room in the back to make it easy for you to pull on and off. The contoured footbed with an additional moisture-wicking liner helps to keep your feet comfortable and dry.

Read more

The slip-resistant tread is CE Certified which means you know you're getting a shoe that will meet, or exceed, the standards of your workplace. You won't have to worry about slipping around while on the job and you can make sure you and your coworkers are safe in any environment.

The molded, contoured footbed has a moisture-wicking liner to help keep your feet dry and sweat-free. With their relaxed fit, your foot has extra wiggle room to keep your feet from feeling pinched. You'll love how your feet feel in the Crocs Neria Pro II.

10. Skechers Felton Relaxed-Fit

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
74.6
Skechers Felton Relaxed-Fit
Durability
74
Fit
76
Ground Feel
73
Outsole
71
Traction
79
best offer for today
$39.98
Pros:

Memory Foam Insole

Shock Absorbing Midsole

Electrical Hazard Safe Design

Relaxed Fit

Cons:

Noisy

Skechers for Work Felton Slip Resistant Relaxed-Fit Work shoe has everything you need when you’re looking for working shoes. With its padded collar and tongue, memory foam insoles, supportive shock absorbing midsole and Skechers’ famous Electrical Hazard Safe design (you know, just in case), these shoes will keep you comfortable all day long.

Read more

Don’t you dislike it when you have to start over with comfort every morning because the insole takes too much time taking the form of your feet? Well, believe it or not, these slip-resistant Skechers offer your comfortability and support with their memory foam insoles.
 
Skechers thought of you and your hard-working feet and decided to add a little something special to please you. If a memory foam pillow is the best for your head, then why not offer a memory foam insole for your feet?

Skechers is known for its special Relaxed Fit featured design that provides the foot with a roomier and comfortable fit. The last thing you want when working on your feet all day is having a pair of shoes that are too tight; the day would never end. This is why this feature is so important for these shoes. Not only do they provide you with extra comfortability with the special insoles, but they add even more support with this fit.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Durability

To assess each of the products on our list for durability, we not only read through thousands of customer reviews on our recommended products, but we also looked for some of the hallmarks of quality construction. From brand name reputation to their initial smell out of the box, there are a few ways of identifying a well-built, made-to-last product.

The Details
A zipper that doesn’t zip or snaps? Poor threading technique? A smelly, chemical residue on the shoe when you open the box? All these details were looked for an evaluated when assigning a score for durability.

Materials
Certain materials last longer than others, even if that comes at the expense of a higher score in the “comfort” criterion. Materials that are synthetic, thicker and firmer tend to score higher on durability.

Product Purpose
A shoe made for running and high-impact sports will not likely last as long as a good pair of general activity shoes, and that’s okay. Being aware of the shoe’s purpose is critical for you as a reader and for us as a reviewer. Although shoes that will last longer score higher on this criterion, you might also see high scores to shoes with a more limited durability, if that product was specifically designed for certain purposes that involve high-impact and high-stress motions. We take into account the type of shoes you are trying to purchase when assigning scores to shoes in this criterion.

Brand Name
A product is a promise made, but a brand is a promise kept. A brand name is often a signal of quality and consistency in construction and durability from product to product. Although there are always exceptions to this rule, quite often brands that perform continue to perform. Brand names on our list tend to score higher in the durability score.

The final word on durability is that a higher score on this metric means the product will last longer than its competitors, given similar shoe purpose, type, age, and usage. Again, it never hurts to read some customer reviews before hitting the “buy” button.

Fit

Finding a perfectly-fitting pair of shoes can be like finding the holy grail; there are so many brands, styles, models and makes of shoes that it seems like it’s next to impossible, especially when you are shopping online! Fear not, as we’ve ranked each product on our list for their fit and trueness-to-size to help guide you in finding the perfect match for you.

To come up with a score for fit of a shoe, we considered several factors, like the ones mentioned above, in addition to real customer reviews, to help boil down everything into one simple score. For example, Nike tends to make shoes that are true-to-size, meaning that you can buy a pair of 11s one year, and another pair of 11s next year in a different model and they will usually still fit (unless your feet have grown or shrunk). A brand like Nike will most likely have a high score when it comes to fit, but the other variables in play, such as make, model, and purpose, will also affect the overall score.

Consider that a running shoe, with its thicker midsole and synthetic sole, might fit differently than a flat shoe, with its thinner midsole and hypothetical leather sole. Each of these shoes, even if they are both from Nike, may have similar scores for trueness-to-size, but a size 11 in one might not be the same as an 11 in the other. What’s a reader to do in this case? You must also consider the purpose and type of shoe it is. Knowing what kind of shoe you are buying, and for what purpose, will help you make a better decision. A running shoe might run smaller than a flat because it has thicker materials, so read customer reviews as well to arrive at the best decision for fit, in addition to just our overall score.

Ground Feel

There are so many patterns in a tread that it is daunting trying to decide which will keep you sturdy and on your feet. You see squares, circles, hexagons, and more in all variety of patterns on the bottom of your shoe. We have looked into what will truly keep you upright, and this is what we have found.

The shapes are used to move oil and water away from the shoe, hence helping traction and avoiding slips or falls. Each shape that you see offers some amount of slip resistance, but like most things in life, they are not all created equal. You want to avoid a walling effect. Too many flat edges may trap the water or oil making you more prone to go feet overhead.

Triangles, Squares, and Hexagons
All three of these may cause the walling effect and should be taken into consideration when looking at slip-resistant shoes. While there may be excellent grip and traction, in excess water or grease the build-up may not keep you standing tall.

Circular and Oval
These shapes are exactly what you want for superior slip-resistant shoes. The circle or oval shape allows water to pass by without getting trapped and exacerbating slippery conditions. These shapes allow for immediate dispersion of water and oil.

Outsole

The sole of a shoe can be made out of a plethora of different materials. Some material is excellent for reducing the risk of a slip or a fall, while others are pretty much guaranteed to encourage skidding across the floor. Hence sole material being one of the key aspects of a slip-resistant shoe.

Great Material for Slip Resistant Soles

  • Rubber
  • Polyurethane
  • Neoprene
  • Nitrile
  • PVC
  • TPR (ThermoPlastic Rubber)
  • Stay Away From Soles Made Of

  • Felt
  • Leather
  • Wood
  • We naturally think of things like rubber when deciding what the best thing is to keep us from falling. However, there are a lot of technologies out there that makes us look into things like Polyurethane and PVC for the outsole of our slip resistant shoes. Avoiding some of the materials of yesteryear will be essential when trying not to slip. Keep in mind when shoe shopping, most slip-resistant shoes will have it labeled right on the box, making sure you know exactly what you are buying.

    Traction

    The shape associated with slip-resistant shoes plays a major role. However, the space and depth of tread are equally important. Shapes that are too close together can inhibit the movement of water to the outer edge of the shoe. When this happens, water can be trapped. Leaving a layer of water or grease between the bottom of your shoe and the floor. The same goes for tread depth; if there is not enough space between the bottom of the tread and the sole of the shoe, water will not be able to disperse as it needs to and can leave you vulnerable to slips and falls.

    What should you be looking for to get the most out of your slip-resistant shoes? The space between the treads themselves should be around two millimeters. This space allows water, oil, and grease to move easily through the tunnels of the shoe. Not only will it move the slippery element quickly it will disperse it evenly so, but you also won’t have slippery patches on the sole of your shoe. The depth of your tread should be at least three millimeters, giving enough space for water or other slippery substances to pass through while providing enough depth to keep the grip against the floor.

    It is important to note, as you wear your shoes the tread will decline. Different feet cause different pressure points on a shoe and can cause uneven wearing of the tread. In dealing with slip-resistant shoes, it is crucial to make sure all of your treads is performing at its best. If you wear the heel tread down, the front of your foot may stick, causing a fall. Likewise, wearing at the front or the sides may cause uneven balance and an increased probability of slips and falls.

    Expert Interviews & Opinions

    Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
    Sort criterias acording to:
    Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
    Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
    #1
    Durability
    Rate This Criteria as Most Important
    #2
    Fit
    Rate This Criteria as Most Important
    #3
    Ground Feel
    Rate This Criteria as Most Important
    #4
    Outsole
    Rate This Criteria as Most Important
    #5
    Traction
    Rate This Criteria as Most Important
    Traction Is Key

    Many different careers require that you can rely on your footwear to avoid slips and falls, especially in professions such as nursing. Shoes that have a textured, lugged, or pliable kind of rubber usually work best as they grip the surface better than some synthetics.

    Flexible Soles For Comfort

    Along with the support features found in your footwear to keep you going long hours, a more supple sole that is flexible will also keep foot fatigue down during the day or night. This allows movements in walking and running to occur more naturally, and cut down on the energy you spend to move about.

    Other Factors to Consider

    Water Resistance

    While not a completely necessary feature when talking about non-skid shoes in particular, there is a big reason why I included this in my qualifications. Work shoes are practically daily shoes. We wear them until the "wheels fall off", so to speak. Cleaning is a hassle, and after a long day of work, the last thing you wanna do is break out the warm wet cloth.

    What can you do to avoid having to maintain your shoes weekly? Make them super easy to clean by providing water and stain resistance, that's how! Bear with me. If we are wearing a shoe every day, it is going to get dirty. To avoid some of the inevitable slime and grime, these materials are pretty much exclusively stain and non-skid. No more fussing over not having the time to get oil off your shoe for fear it will leave a mark. This really simplifies the whole work shoe situation for everyone.

    Bottom Line

    To finish, I don’t know how much I have to push on the importance of comfort, support, and durability for slip-resistant shoes. Your shoes have to work as hard as you do during those shifts, and you have to feel like you’re almost walking on clouds, even after 13 hours standing on your feet. Because, let’s all face it, who wants and likes blisters or sore feet? No one. Except for the Blister Monster. This list provides you with all kinds of designs, but we have kept these three qualities our priority. The next step is to tell us what you think about the pair you bought!

    Support

    If you're constantly in motion, you're going to need support. Just as important as staying upright physically, is staying upright in posture. Footwear that provides adequate support and balance improves posture and prevents back pain. This is crucial for those of us running around on sales floor, or in the back of house.

    Working in restaurants, warehouses, and retail, I can tell you from first hand experience that a shoe that doesn't properly provide for your ball of foot, arch, and heel can end up making the experience downright painful. Many of our picks have specific pressure points on the shoe to accomodate for the usual discomfort.

    Slight heels and reinforced midsoles offer a great feel on your arch. The Keen hugs your foot like a hiking boot. This steady feet ensures your foot stays in the correct position, so the shoe can offer its best performance.

    Use

    Say it with me, "not all non-skid shoes are kitchen shoes!" While Emeril Legasse's Canal is the ultimate in kitchen tech, shoe lovers like us know that kitchens are not the only workplace environment that require safety measures in your footwear. Most of these can be worn in a restaurant regardles of whether you cook, serve, or manage, but we also have some not so typical options as well.

    The MOZO brand sneaker is great for a standard office worker who has to venture out into a warehouse to oversee the floor. It looks like a designer sneaker akin to Cole Haan, but feels like leisure wear.

    Our tactical boot suggestion from Condos is used by law enforcement and military, but civilians, electricians, and security guards can utilize their grounded construction and safety toe as well. Whether you are in your dream career or just a "right now" job, there are different features and price points that work best for you.

    Frequently Asked Questions

    q: Is there a difference between slip resistant and slip-proof shoes?
    a:

    While shoe technology has come a long way, finding a shoe that is slip proof is impossible. Slip-resistant shoes have the ability to provide you with superior grip, traction, and a good design will move water and oil away from the shoe. These are all things that will help you stay on your feet. Many shoe companies claim to have a “slip proof” shoe but this is just a marketing tactic. There is not a proven way to guarantee you won’t slip. If dealing with ice, you need something to bite into it. On the other hand, a slippery liquid requires movement of the liquid to ensure your shoe stays in contact with the surface. We are on too many different terrains and shoe manufacturers do their best to resist the slip, in some situations, they won’t be able to be avoided even if wearing a “slip proof” shoe.

    q: Is there a standard that shoes have to meet to be considered slip resistant?
    a:

    Whether knowing it or not, this is a difficult question to answer. The Occupational Health and Safety Administration (OSHA) governs many things when it comes to working however, they do not have a set standard as to what qualifies as a slip-resistant shoe. Many shoe manufacturers have their own standards for slip-resistant shoes and they are not all created equal. You may see logos like “Kitchen Approved” or “Trusted by Cooks”, this can all be very deceiving.

    Water and oil on tile floors are two of the most common things to cause slips and many shoe companies are now following the SATRA TM63 and TM144 standards when making slip resistant shoes. The SATRA testing has become an industry standard. Testing different surfaces and conditions this machine testing helps to ensure that slip resistance isn’t just something manufacturers are putting on their packages to gain sales.

    q: My sneakers have a rubber sole, can’t I just wear them and say they are slip resistant?
    a:

    Ultimately, that decision is up to you, however, we strongly advise against it. If slip-resistant shoes are required for your job, there is a very good reason why, safety. Most street shoes are not made to keep you from slipping. The tread pattern and depth is not specified for water, oil, or grease that you may come in contact with at work. In addition, the structure and build of your daily sneakers are not made to stand up to the type of conditions you may face in your work environment. For your safety and the ability to continue working, do yourself a favor, invest in a top rated pair of slip-resistant shoes.

    q: Will my slip resistant shoes keep me from falling in the woods?
    a:

    It depends on the type of slip resistant shoes you buy. There are pairs specifically made for kitchen use, to help with slips due to greasy wet conditions. You are not likely to encounter this on a walk down your favorite path. Typically, in this situation, you are going to want to wear a hiking shoe or boot that is built to deal with wet leaves and slippery moss. There are some shoes that can handle both, make sure to read the details of what the shoes are slip resistant against. This also goes for icy places. In addition to being slippery, ice is hard and needs something that can bite into it to ensure your feet aren’t sliding around. However, you wouldn’t want to be wearing that type of shoe to your job in a kitchen.

    q: How do I clean the bottom of my slip-resistant shoes? There are so many nubs!
    a:

    It always surprises me how often this question shows up! Cleaning your nubby soles is easier than you expect. First, you want to use a soft cloth or toothbrush, for exceptionally deep tread, and remove any loose debris. Next, if cleaning grease or other oily residues, use a small amount of a mild detergent with grease cutting capability and clean any sticking residual. Rinse your shoes and give them plenty of time to dry. It is important to note, you don’t want to use any cleaning agents on the bottom of your slip-resistant shoes, other than mild grease-cutting soaps, as they may increase the chance of slipping or even worse, falling.

    Sources